Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

#### REGULAR FORCE

# BRIGADIERS' LIST

Brigadier John Lindsay Smith, C.B.E., B.A., Q.H.A.D.C., is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 7 March 1981.

Colonel Donal Richard Kenning, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 4 March 1981.

## ROYAL REGIMENT N.Z. ARTILLERY

#### Colonel Commandant

Brigadier E. J. Valintine, O.B.E., E.D., Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, Royal Regiment N.Z. Artillery, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Brigadier J. Burns, D.S.O., M.B.E.

Major M. A. Harvey to be acting Lieutenant Colonel, with effect from 25 March 1981, and temp. Lieutenant Colonel, with

effect from 3 April 1981.

Captain J. G. Rolfe, B.A., DIP.MIL.STUD. (ARTS), to be acting Major, with effect from 19 January 1981, and to be temp. Major, with effect from 10 March 1981.

Lieutenant J. B. Vryenhoek to be temp. Captain, with effect

from 23 March 1981.

# THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

## Colonel Commandant

Lieutenant Colonel K. Christie, M.B.E., E.D., B.E. (CIV. & ELECT.), Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Lieutenant Colonel R. C. Pemberton,

Lieutenant Colonel (acting Colonel) R. K. Rutherford, B.E.(CIV.), to be temp. Colonel, with effect from 6 March 1981.

#### ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

# Colonel Commandant

The appointment of Lieutenant Colonel J. W. Bateman, o.B.E., M.M., E.D., Retired List, as Colonel Commandant of R.N.Z. Sigs, is extended for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1981.

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster William Frederick Drewitt Croxson is posted to the Retired List, in the rank of Major and Quartermaster, with effect from 7 March 1981.

Lieutenant A. F. Birch to be temp. Captain, with effect from 9 March 1981.

# ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

## Honorary Colonel

Brigadier R. M. Gurr, O.B.E., Retired List, is appointed Honorary Colonel of 1 RNZIR and 2/1 RNZIR, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Brigadier D. J. Aitken, O.B.E. Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster C. G. O'Brien is transferred to the Supernumerary List, with effect from

17 March 1981.

Captain J. Fairhurst is re-engaged until 24 September 1991.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. A. Christiansen is re-engaged until 1 July 1993.

# ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF TRANSPORT

Captain D. R. Bradley is re-engaged until 23 July 1990. 2nd Lieutenant Mark Simon Hayston resigns his commission, with effect from 6 March 1981.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

The seniority of Captain J. A. Dunn, M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., is ante-dated to 16 July 1978.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. J. A. Smith is re-engaged until 5 July 1996.

# THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

# Colonel Commandant

The appointment of Lieutenant Colonel H. A. Holland, Retired List, as Colonel Commandant of the RNZEME is extended until 31 March 1982.

# ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

# Colonel Commandant

Brigadier M. C. Churton, O.B.E., E.D., M.D.S., F.R.A.C.D.S., is appointed Colonel Commandant, Royal N.Z. Dental Corps, for a period of 4 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Colonel A. D. Macalister, E.D., D.D.S., F.R.A.C.D.S.

The engagement of Captain H. J. Keall, B.D.S., is extended to 8 July 1983.

# N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

#### Colonel Commandant

Colonel R. C. Savage, Q.C., LL.B. (Retired List), is appointed Colonel Commandant, N.Z. Army Legal Service for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981.

#### ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Captain A. L. Ewing is re-engaged to 31 July 1982.

#### TERRITORIAL FORCE

# THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

7th Field Squadron, RNZE

2nd Lieutenant J. G. Ecroyd to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 February 1981.

# ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

1st Signal Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. A. Dickinson, to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 6 August 1980.

#### ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury, Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR

#### Honorary Colonel

Lieutenant Colonel B. H. Palmer, M.B.E., E.D., Reserve of Officers, General List, is re-appointed Honorary Colonel, 2nd Battalion (Canterbury, Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR, for a period of 1 year, with effect from 1 April 1981.

2nd Lieutenant Thomas Crowley Weston resigns his commission, with effect from 22 January 1981.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

# Honorary Colonel

Colonel W. A. French, M.B.E., E.D., Retired List, is appointed Honorary Colonel, 4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Lieutenant Colonel D. L. Wood, O.B.E., M.C., E.D.

Captain P. R. Parsons to be temp. Major, with effect from 1 March 1981.

Lieutenant Nicholas Philip Nelson Wright is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 11 February 1981.

Bernard Morton Carter is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 9 November 1980.

5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

# Honorary Colonel

Major J. Shaw, E.D., Retired List, is appointed Honorary Colonel 5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1981, vice Brigadier the Right Honourable D. S. Thomson, M.C.,

E.D., M.P.
2nd Lieutenant G. R. Hogan (on prob.) to be temp.
Lieutenant with effect from 20 February 1981.
The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Anne Christine Meates is terminated, with effect from 22 December 1980. 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

# Honorary Colonel

Major M. Conder, E.D., Retired List, is re-appointed Honorary Colonel 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR, for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1981.

Garry James Clayton is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with effect from 9 November 1980.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR

# Honorary Colonel

Lieutenant Colonel J. C. Andrew, O.B.E., E.D., Retired List, is re-appointed Honorary Colonel 7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay) for a period of 1 year with effect from 1 April 1981