Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Major James Stuart Wilson, 13 February 1981.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Major Frederick Albert Loyala Schultze, 8 July 1981. Major Adrian Colin Ward, 18 September 1981.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Major James Murray Scott, B.D.S., F.R.A.C.D.S., M.D.S., 23 September 1981.

Captain Alan Robert Park, B.D.S., DIP.ORTH., R.C.S. (ENG.),

1 November 1981.
Captain Brian William Small, B.D.S., M.SC., 25 September

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Lieutenant Colonel Lois Jones, A.R.R.C., DIP.N., 3 May 1981. N.Z. Women's Royal Army Crops

Lieutenant Jennifer Ruth Jasonsmith, 31 December 1980.

Retired List

The following Lieutenant Colonels have been granted the rank of Honorary Colonel in recognition of their significant contribution to the New Zealand Army:

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

G. A. Lindell, D.S.O., O.B.E., E.D.

A. R. Currie, D.S.O., O.B.E. R. C. Pemberton, M.C. and BAR.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

R. I. Blair, o.B.E., E.D.

J. Harvey, M.B.E. J. D. Rose, E.D.

A. Ross, M.C., E.D., M.A.

D. L. Wood, O.B.E., M.C., E.D., LL.M. C. N. Armstrong, M.C., E.D.

R. F. Smith, O.B.E., E.D. A. H. Balzer, E.D. Sir Richard Harrison, M.P., E.D.

P. W. Robertshaw, O.B.E., M.C., E.D.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

C. A. Blazey, o.B.E., E.D.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

J. Harvey, MB.E.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

F. D. McWha, M.B.E.

N. L. W. Uniacke, O.B.E.

Royal N.Z. Army Education Corps

S. H. Johnson, E.D.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of December 1981.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to permanent commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 17 October 1979 and with effect from 24 April 1981:

N88033 Peter Murray Connell, B.SC. R87898 Stuart Andrew Mackenzie, B.SC. S87899 Terence Ralph Paddy, B.SC. D88185 Bruce Allan Prestidge, B.SC. R88036 Ian Charles Walls, B.SC.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions on standard engagements in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 15 January 1981 and effect from 24 April 1981:

X89491 Ian David Macgregor. U89649 Nicholas Thomas. V89650 David Alexander Whitaker.

T86083 Sergeant Malcolm Grant McCathie is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 September 1980. Flight Lieutenant B. Carruthers, B.SC., to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 1 December 1981, and temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 10 January 1982.

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant L. T. Matthews to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 10 November 1981.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) C. M. Rippey, B.SC., to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 6 December 1981.

Flying Officer E. G. Morgan to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 13 July 1981 and effect from 1 August 1981.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 November 1981:

I. R. McClelland.

D. J. Watson.

Pilot Officer M. J. Fitzpatrick to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 15 October 1981.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. B. MacLean is extended to 11 January 1991.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointments

Officer Cadet H88672 Michael George Pobog-Jaworowski is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 16 October 1980 and effect from 15 November 1980.

G82553 Flight Sergeant Richard Kelly Fountaine is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 9 September 1978 and effect from 9 September 1980.

Promotions

Flying Officer P. S. Mata'afa-Hansen, B.SC., to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 6 July 1981, and Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 8 October 1981. Pilot Officer K. B. Smith, N.Z.C.E., to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 10 September 1981.

Extensions of Commission

The commissions of the following Flight Lieutenants are extended to the dates shown:

J. R. A. Gordon, N.Z.C.E., 6 April 1990. G. D. Stanton, N.Z.C.E., 8 January 1988.

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Murray Paul Smith is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 25 November 1983, with effect from 26 November 1981.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

T81092 Flight Sergeant Barry James Balsom is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 9 September 1978 and effect from 9

September 1980.
Flying Officer M. E. Cox to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 15 June 1981.

Promotions

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer R. J. McDowall, B.COM., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 27 February 1981, and effect from 13 October 1981.

Supply Division

Squadron Leader P. E. Outtrim, B.A., to be acting Wing

Commander with effect from 21 September 1981, and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 3 October 1981. Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) M. J. Elliott to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 October 1981.

Special Duties Division

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

S. R. Quinn, 10 September 1981.

K. H. Antrobus, 3 October 1981. B. M. Clark, M.A. (HONS.), 5 November 1981.

Transfer to Retired List

Supply Division

Wing Commander William Henry O'Byrne, B.E.M., is transferred to the Retired List 'A', with effect from 3 October