Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) L. C. Spriggens, B.E. (MECH.), to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 21 August 1982.

Lieutenant D. T. Scown to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 29 June 1982.

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant J. R. Monigatti, MR. CHR. P.SC. is extended to 13 February 1999.

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant J. R. Monigatti, M.B., CH.B., B.SC., is extended to 13 February 1998.

Lieutenant A. R. Dudley to be acting Lieutenant Commander with effect from 14 August 1982.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) Geoffery Miles Turner is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 1 September 1984, with effect from 2 September 1982.

Lieutenant C. L. Campbell to be acting Lieutenant Commander with effect from 14 August 1982.

Lieutenant B. M. Gordon to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 29 July 1982

The appointment of Lieutenant R. W. Pettis is extended to 24 August 1994.

to 24 August 1994.
Lieutenant D. J. Smith, N.Z.C.E.(HV AND AC), to be temp.
Lieutenant Commander with effect from 1 August 1982, and
his appointment is extended to 16 April 1993.
The appointments of the following Lieutenants are extended

to the date shown:

B. N. Nash, 11 January 1994.

J. C. Kennedy, B.SC. (HONS), 8 January 1998.

Y. L. Jansen, 25 June 1985.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) N. E. Handey, B.E. (ELECT.), to be Lieutenant with seniority from 1 August 1981

and effect from 8 May 1982.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) D. P. Pickerill, N.Z.C.E. (MECH.), to be Lieutenant with seniority from 16 October 1981 and effect from 22 June 1982.

The following Sub Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

W. P. Physicalae and Cold. 1 August 1982

seniority and effect from the date shown:

W. R. E. Burroughs, B.COM., 1 August 1982.

W. G. Craig, B.A., 1 August 1982.

C. J. Hoey, 1 August 1982.

K. J. Keat, 16 September 1982.

(Temp. Lieutenant) E. C. F. Riordan, 16 July 1982.

B. R. Wallen, B.SC., 1 August 1982.

The appointments of the following Midshipmen are terminated from the date shown:

Christopher George Freeman, 30 June 1982.

Vincent John Southee, 26 August 1982.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEEP

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Commander Roland Keith Wadham, v.R.D., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 5 December 1981.

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant Commander W. S. J. Tongue, M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., M.R.C.O.G., is extended to 30 May

1984. Lieutenant Christopher John Rolfe, LL.B., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 25 June 1982.

Lieutenant K. S. Caldwell to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 15 January 1982.

The appointment of Ensign (acting Sub Lieutenant) Ian Stanley Kingston is terminated with effect from 31 December

1981.

Ensign (acting Sub Lieutenant) L. G. K. Schmitt to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 18 September 1981'.

The following Ensigns to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

B. G. Smith, 1 May 1982. L. W. Curry, 1 June 1982.

The appointment of Ensign Barry Richard Moody is terminated with effect from 14 August 1982.

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of October 1982.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to

Sir Laurie Justice Francis

to be High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia under and for the purposes of the Foreign Affairs Act 1943, to hold the said office as on and from the 3rd day of August 1982 and ending with the 2nd day of August 1985.

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of October 1982. WARREN COOPER, Minister of Foreign Affairs. Appointment of Honorary Community Officers Under the Community Development Act 1962

Pursuant to section 5 (1) of the Maori Community Development Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the Schedule hereto to serve as honorary community officers for a term of 3 years.

## **SCHEDULE**

Name			Area
Manu Pokai Niwa (Mrs)	******		Gisborne.
Eleanor Tana White (Mrs)		*****	Gisborne.
Faith Whakapono Pohoiwi	•••••		Gisborne.
Maureen Verna Henare		******	Matamata.
Dated at Wellington this 8th	day of	October	1982.

BEN COUCH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

Appointing Members and Their Deputies to the Engineering Associates Registration Board

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Engineering Associates Act 1961, the Minister of Works and Development hereby appoints:

Keith Martin Way of Otaki, retired, as member, and Edward Gordon Gettins of Lower Hutt, retired, as Mr Way's deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Institute of Engineering Technicians (Incorporated); and

Owen Reginald Adams Burgess of Wellington, chief

draughtsman, as member, and
Ian Bruce McKenzie of Wellington, senior design draughtsman, as Mr Burgess' deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Institute of Draughtsmen (Incorporated); and

Walter Osborne Askew of Christchurch, company director,

as member, and

Norman John Cooper of Wellington, engineer, as Mr Askew's deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Institute of Refrigeration and Airconditioning Engineers (Incorporated); and

John Vernon Edgar of Wellington, marketing director, as

member, and

Graeme Warren Kelly of Wellington, tutor, as Mr Edgar's deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Institute of Mechanical Engineers (Incorporated); and Errol William Neal of Wellington, retired, as member,

and

Keith Richard Smith of Wellington, computer systems engineer, as Mr Neal's deputy, on the nomination of the New Zealand Institute of Electronics (Incorporated)

to be members and deputy members of the Engineering Associates Registration Board, for a period of 2 years from the 9th day of November 1982.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of October 1982.

A. P. D. FRIEDLANDER, Minister of Works and Development.

(P.W. 28/417)

Reappointment of Members to the Hop Marketing Committee (No. 2907, Ag. 1/53/2/13)

Pursuant to regulation 2 (b) of the Hop Marketing Regulations 1939, I hereby reappoint-

Maurice Sidney Cole, hop farmer of Wakefield, Owen Henry Drummond, hop farmer of Motueka, Bruce James Eggers, hop farmer of Upper Moutere, Joseph Thomas Hill, hop farmer of Richmond; and Thomas Elger Inglis, hop farmer of Motueka,

to be members of the Hop Marketing Committee for a term of 1 year from 12 September 1982.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of September 1982.

D. MACINTYRE, Minister of Agriculture.

Officer Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

PURSUANT to section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957, as amended by the Oaths and Declarations Amendment Act 1972, I have authorised the officer in the service of the Crown named in the Schedule below to take and receive statutory declarations under the said Act.