The Hawke's Bay Community College Notice 1982

PURSUANT to section 69 of the Education Act 1964, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

NOTICE

1. (1) This notice may be cited as the Hawke's Bay Community College Notice 1982.

(2) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.

- 2. There shall be a board of governors to be known as the Hawke's Bay Community College Council which shall control the Hawke's Bay Community College.
- 3. The Hawke's Bay Community College Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) One member elected by the Napier City Council, the Hastings City Council, and the Havelock North Borough Council;

(b) One member elected by the local authorities listed in the First Schedule to this notice;

(c) One member elected by the governing bodies of the secondary schools listed in the Second Schedule to

this notice:

(d) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay branch of the Wellington Regional Employers Association;
(e) Two members appointed by the Hawke's Bay Trades

Council:

(f) One member appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Hawke's Bay Provincial District) Inc.:

(g) One member elected by the associations listed in the Third Schedule to this notice;

(h) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Education Board;

(i) One member appointed by the Ikaroa District Maori Council;

(j) One member who shall be the Principal of the Hawke's Bay Community College;

(k) One member elected by the Waiapu Hospital Board, the

Cook Hospital Board, the Hawke's Bay Hospital Board and the Waipawa Hospital Board;

(1) One member who shall be either a full-time teacher employed by the Council or a part-time teacher employed by the Council to undertake at least 400 class contact hours per year and who shall be elected by the full-time teachers employed by the Council by the full-time teachers employed by the Council, by those part-time teachers employed by the Council to undertake at least 400 class contact hours per year,

by those part-time teachers employed by the Council to undertake at least 400 class contact hours per year, and by those ancillary staff who are employed for at least 20 hours per week by the Council, to represent the staff of the Hawke's Bay Community College.

(m) (i) One member who shall be a student of the Hawke's Bay Community College and who shall be appointed by the Hawke's Bay Community College Students' Association for a term of office of one year;

(ii) The member appointed pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office from the 1st day of February until the 31st day of January in the subsequent year, and if on that date the appointment of a successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment is notified;

(n) Not more than 4 members to be co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it thinks fit, of whom one member shall be co-opted to represent the interests of local educational, youth, and welfare organisations not otherwise represented, and one member shall be co-opted to represent the interests of local cultural organisations not otherwise represented. sented.

4. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and to the provisions of clause 3 (m) (i) of this notice every member of the Hawke's Bay Community College Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years but may, from time to time, be reappointed or re-elected.

(2) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in subclause (1) of this clause, the term of office of the following

members shall be determined as follows:

(a) The 3 members elected pursuant to clause 3 (a), (b) and (c) and one of the two members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (e) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of October 1982;
(b) The 2 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (d) and (f), the remaining member appointed pursuant to clause 3 (e) not being the member appointed pursuant to clause 3 (e) referred to in paragraph (a) of this subclause, and the member elected

pursuant to clause 3 (k) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of October 1983; and (c) The 2 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (h)

and (i) and the 2 members elected pursuant to clause 3 (g) and (l) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of October 1984.

Thereafter, except in the case of a casual vacancy or as otherwise provided in this notice, every member shall hold office until the 31st day of October in the third year after that member's election or appointment, and if on the 31st day of October the appointment or election of the successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment or election is so notified.

(3) If any member dies or resigns his office by writing under his hand addressed to the Council or the Chairman or the Secretary thereof, or is absent without leave from the meetings of the Council for 3 consecutive months, or while holding office becomes ineligible to remain a member by reason of disability, insolvency, neglect of duty, or misconduct, the casual vacancy so created shall be filled, as soon as practicable thereafter, by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected, and the member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom he replaces.

(4) Every co-opted member of the Council shall be appointed for such terms not exceeding 3 years as the Council thinks fit.

(5) The powers of the Council shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof

vacancy in the membership thereof.

5. The Hawke's Bay Community College Notice 1977*, as varied in 1981 by notice in the Gazette†, is hereby revoked.

FIRST SCHEDULE

THE local authorities referred to in clause 3 (b) of this notice shall be the following:

Hawke's Bay County Council. Waipawa Borough Council. Waipawa County Council. Waipukurau District Council. Wairoa Borough Council. Wairoa County Council.

SECOND SCHEDULE

THE secondary schools referred to in clause 3 (c) of this notice shall be the following:

Central Hawke's Bay College. Colenso High School.
Hastings Girls High School.
Hastings Boys High School.
Havelock North High School. Iona College Karamu High School. Lindisfarne College. Napier Boys High School. Napier Girls High School. Sacred Heart College, Napier. St John's College, Hastings.
St Joseph's Maori Girls College, Greenmeadows.
Taradale High School. Tamatea High School. Te Aute College. Wairoa College.

Woodford House.

THIRD SCHEDULE

THE associations referred to in clause 3 (g) of this notice shall be the following:

Hawke's Bay Branch, New Zealand Society of Accountants. The Hawke's Bay District Law Society.
The New Zealand Institute of Management, Hawke's Bay

Division (Inc.) Hawke's Bay Division, New Zealand Dental Association. Medical Association of New Zealand, Hawke's Bay Division. Hawke's Bay Branch, New Zealand Institute of Surveyors. The Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand

(Inc.). Hawke's Bay Branch of the Quantity Surveyors Institute

of New Zealand (Inc.).
New Zealand Institute of Architects, Hawke's Bay and Gisborne Branch.

Hawke's Bay Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand.

New Zealand Nurses Association (Inc.), Napier Branch and Hastings Branch.