the summit of Signal Hill to the Dunedin City boundary near Cleghorn Street; thence westerly along that boundary and the existing boundary of Otago Electoral District, New Zealand Gazette, 20 June 1977, page 1701, to the boundary of Tuapeka County; thence north-westerly along that boundary to the existing Otago electoral boundary at the Old Man Range; thence generally westerly, northerly, and easterly along that boundary to the mean high water mark of the sea near Cape Wanbrow; thence southerly along that water mark to Black Jacks Point.

#### DUNEDIN NORTH

Population: 33 265 Classification Urban or Predominantly Urban Commences at the mean high water mark of the sea near the intersection of Portsmouth Drive and Orari Street and proceeding along Orari Street, Andersons Bay Road, Princess Street, Maitland Street, High Street, William Street, Serpentine Avenue, Canongate Street, Arthur Street, Russell Street, Queens Drive, Ross Street, and its extension to Kaikorai Road; thence easterly along that road and westerly along the existing boundary of Dunedin North Electoral District, New Zealand Gazette, 20 June 1977, page 1701, to the Clutha electoral boundary; thence easterly along that boundary and Otago electoral boundary to Black Jacks Point; thence along the mean high water mark of the sea to Orari Street.

#### St. KILDA

Population: 32 761 Classification Urban or Predominantly Urban Commences at the mean high water mark of the sea near Tunnel Beach being the existing boundary of St Kilda electoral District, New Zealand Gazette, 20 June 1977, page 1701, follows northwards along that boundary to Middleton Road, along Middleton Road, Mulford Street, and the accessway linking the said street, along Mulford Street again, to the Main South Road; thence easterly along that road, Kaikorai Valley Road, Short Street, Caversham Valley Road, Goodall Street, Main South Railway, and South Road to the Dunedin North electoral boundary; thence easterly along that boundary to the mean high water mark of the sea; thence around the Otago Peninsula following that water mark to the existing boundary near Tunnel Beach.

## **DUNEDIN WEST**

Population: 32 700 Classification Urban or Predominantly Urban Commences at the mouth of Kaikorai Stream and proceeding north-westerly along the boundary of Kaikorai Ward to the boundary and the northern boundary of the Borough of Mosgiel; thence south-westerly along that boundary and the northern boundary of Sections 27 and 26, Block VIII, Dunedin and East Taieri Survey District to a point in line with the middle of Riccarton Road; thence northerly along that road and the boundary of the Borough of Mosgiel to Gordon Road; thence north-westerly along Gordon Road; and the boundary of Kaikorai Ward to the Taieri River; thence up that river to the Otago electoral boundary and easterly along that boundary to the Dunedin North electoral boundary; thence southerly along that boundary and the St. Kilda electoral boundary to the mean high water mark of the sea; thence westerly along that water mark to the mouth of the Kaikorai Stream.

## CLUTHA

Population: 31 736 Classification Rural or Predominantly Rural Commences at the mouth of the Mataura River and proceeding up that river, excluding the Boroughs of Mataura and Gore to the boundary of Lake County; thence north-easterly along that boundary in the direction of the Nevis River to meet the boundary of Otago Electoral District; thence easterly along that boundary and southerly along the boundary of Dunedin West Electoral District to the mean high water mark of the sea; thence south-westerly along that water mark to the Mataura River.

# Awarua

Population: 33 149 Classification Rural or Predominantly Rural Commences at the mouth of the Mataura River and proceeding westerly along the mean high water mark of the sea and northerly and easterly along the existing boundary of the electoral district, New Zealand Gazette, 20 June 1977, page 1701, to the boundary of Clutha Electorate, however a small area immediately to the west of Mataura has been transferred from Wallace Electoral District to Awarua; thence southerly along the Clutha electoral boundary to the mouth of the Mataura River; Stewart Island is included and Invercargill Electoral District is excluded.

#### Invercargill

Population: 32 505 Classification Urban or Predominantly Urban Boundaries are in accordance with those published in *New Zealand Gazette*, 20 June 1977, page 1701.

#### WALLACE

Population: 32 016 Classification Rural or Predominantly Rural Commencing at Awarua or Big Bay and follows the boundaries of Otago, Clutha, and Awarua Electoral Districts to the mean high water mark of the sea; thence westerly and northerly along that water mark to Awarua or Big Bay.

## Proposed Boundaries of the Maori Electoral Districts in New Zealand

The Representation Commission appointed in pursuance of section 15 of the Electoral Act 1956 hereby publishes, in accordance with the provisions of section 23 of the said Act the proposed boundaries of the four Maori electoral districts in New Zealand, and, further gives notice that written objections, to the same, will be received by the undersigned, the Chairman of the Commission, at the office of the Surveyor-General, Department of Lands and Survey, Private Bag, Wellington, not later than Friday, the 10th day of December 1982 for consideration by the aforesaid Commission. If objectors wish to appear before the Commission they must say so in their written objections.

Maps of the proposed districts may be seen at the office of any city or borough council, district or county council, district community council, or town board; or the office of the Chief Surveyor at Auckland, Hamilton, Gisborne, Napier, New Plymouth, Wellington, Blenheim, Nelson, Hokitika, Christchurch, Dunedin, and Invercargill or the office of the Chief Electoral Officer at Lower Hutt, all electorate offices and district courts.

Counties, districts, wards (ridings), cities, boroughs, district communities, and town districts where mentioned in this notice shall unless otherwise stated, be existing on 24 March 1981.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of October 1982.

B. H. BLACKWOOD, Chairman of the Representation Commission.

## **SCHEDULE**

## NORTHERN MAORI—POPULATION 35 489

Comprises all the existing electorate as described in New Zealand Gazette, 11 March 1954, p. 372, together with Otahuhu Borough and those portions of Papatoetoe City and Manukau City bounded to the west by the North Island Main Trunk Railway, to the southeast by Papatoetoe City and by Preston Road and to the north by Otara Creek and Tamaki River.

# EASTERN MAORI—POPULATION 34 719

Comprises all the existing electorate as described in New Zealand Gazette, 11 March 1954, p. 372, together with Taupo, Hauraki Plains, and Piako Counties, the eastern portion of Taumarunui County following the North Island Main Trunk Railway, the Taringamotu River and across the Hauhungaroa Ranges to Pukeora, the eastern portion of Taumarunui Borough comprising Mananui and the northern portion of Rangitikei County following the North Island Main Trunk Railway, from Kawhatau to Waiouru.

Where the existing electoral boundary cuts through Cook and Wairau Counties it has been adjusted to follow the county boundary.

# WESTERN MAORI—POPULATION 35 389

Commences at Manukau Harbour and follows the Northern and Eastern Maori Electoral Districts to the Ruahine Range; thence southerly along that range and the eastern and southern boundaries of Oroua, Kairanga, and Manawatu Counties to the sea, thence along the mean high water mark of the sea back to Manukau Harbour including Chatham and Waiheke Islands.

# SOUTHERN MAORI—POPULATION 34 824

Comprises South Island and Stewart Island and those portions of the North Island that are not included in the Northern, Eastern, and Western Maori Electoral Districts.