#### Promotions

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant, with seni-ority and effect from the date shown:

ority and effect from the date shown:

A. C. Kenworthy, 1 August 1982.

P. R. Kirby, B.SC., 17 July 1982.

P. M. Connell, B.SC., 17 October 1982.

T. R. Paddy, B.SC., 17 October 1982.

B. A. Prestidge, B.SC., 17 October 1982.

I. C. Walls, B.SC., 17 October 1982.

Pilot Officer S. J. Marks to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 27 August 1982.

## Extensions of Commission

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the date shown:

Squadron Leader R. W. Singleton, 11 August 1991. Flight Lieutenant A. W. Deal, 8 December 1992.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of the following Squad-

ron Leaders are extended to the date shown: M. W. D. Robinson, 19 July 1985. H. J. Moffat, A.F.C., 26 June 1988. J. W. Hewson, A.F.C., 17 August 1988.

# Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Lindsay Raymond Upjohn is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 5 September 1986, with effect from 6 September 1982.

Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Donald Francis, B.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 30 September 1986, with effect from 1 October 1982.

# Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander (acting Group Captain) Russell Victor Smith is transferred to the Retired List 'A' in the rank of Group Captain, with effect from 26 August 1980.

#### **ENGINEER BRANCH**

#### Appointments

Appointments

The following Flight Lieutenants to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from the date shown:
G. E. A. Smith, 27 September 1982.
G. J. Sibbald, N.Z.C.E., 27 September 1982.
A. M. Gill, N.Z.C.E., 6 September 1982.
K80003 Warrant Officer William Keith Abbott, B.E.M., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 February 1981.
P88034 Officer Cadet Neil Lloyd Hygate is appointed to a permanent commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 17 October 1979 and effect from 10 October 1980.
L86858 Sergeant Ritchie Stephen is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 Sep-

in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 9 Sep-

tember 1980.
W81532 Flight Sergeant David Morris Neil is appointed to a ommission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 26 July 1980 and effect from 9 August 1982.

S88152 Corporal Greig Anthony Young is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from

C87908 Corporal Peter James Kirker is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 4 October 1982.

# Promotions

Flight Lieutenant J. P. Alexander to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 12 October 1982.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. S. Rush, N.Z.C.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 October 1982.

Flying Officer N. L. Hygate to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 17 October 1982.

### Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Stanley Knighton is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 October 1984, with effect from 8 October 1982

Flight Lieutenant Denis William Didham is transferred to the Reserve Air Force Officers until 30 September 1984, with effect from 1 October 1982.

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

## Appointments

Secretarial Division

P86133 Sergeant Max Gerard Yates is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 26 July 1982 and effect from 9 August 1982.

Alison Elizabeth Varty is appointed to a commission in the rank

of temp. Pilot Officer with effect from 26 July 1982.

Supply Division

Flying Officer C. M. Ross to be acting Flight Lieutenant with effect from 15 July 1982, and *temp*. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 18 September 1982.

Special Duties Division

D38114 Warrant Officer John Buchanan is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 February 1981.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank stated, with seniority from 26 July 1982 and effect from 9 August 1982:

Flying Officers: H42511 Sergeant Michael Francis Loughran. S83644 Sergeant Joseph Patrick Paltridge.

Pilot Officer:

N86814 Temporary Sergeant Kenneth Albert James Cunningham.

**Promotions** 

Secretarial Division

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

C. M. Dromgool, 1 August 1982. W. J. Miller, 10 September 1982.

### Extension of Commission

Secretarial Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant D. J. Wapp is extended to 6 January 1995.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

Secretarial Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader K. P. Austin are extended to 3 January 1989.

Supply Division
The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader T.
H. Crew are extended to 21 September 1983.

### Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Grant Scoones is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 October 1986, with effect from 9 October 1982.

Flight Lieutenant Judith Diana Shone is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 15 October 1986, with effect from 16 October 1982.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant Noel George Smith is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 16 September 1984, with effect from 17 September 1982.

# **EDUCATION BRANCH**

# Promotions

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 13 October 1982:
A. P. Anderson.
J. G. Pascoe.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader A. Pickersgill are extended to 12 January 1985.

Flight Lieutenant Alan Walmsley, B.SC. (HONS). DIP.A.PHYS., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 28 October 1986, with effect from 29 October 1982.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader John William Lodder Meredith is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 24 June 1982.

### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Lindsay Stewart Campbell, 22 April 1982. Flight Lieutenant Nigel Albert Davey, A.F.C., B.S.C., 15 July 1982. Flight Lieutenant Alfred George Frederick Harding, 21 July 1982. Pilot Officer Edwin Arthur Kirk, 14 July 1982.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of November 1982.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.