Objection No. 155 Dominion Secretary, N.Z. Social Credit Political League.

On community of interest grounds. Waitara and Clifton form part of Taranaki and that King Country should include Taumarunui Borough and County and also Waimarino Waitotara and Wanganui. Taupo should be restored to a "Tongariro" electorate and Wairoa linked to Gisborne.

Objection No. 167 District Clerk, Waitomo District Council.

Objects to the loss of Taumarunui and the addition of Waitara, Inglewood and Stratford. The proposed boundaries break up the traditionally recognised King Country region. Suggests Raetihi could be added to Tongariro.

## Taranaki

Objection No. 62 Town Clerk, Manaia Town Council.

Council objects to the separation of Manaia from Hawera in view of the shared community of interest and suggests that Eltham should be included in Taranaki.

Objection No. 100 County Manager, Waimate West County Council.

Object to the county being placed into two electorates and suggest that all of Waimate West should be placed in Waitotara.

### WAITOTARA

Objection No. 1 Registrar of Electors at Marton.

Objects to the inclusion of the Borough of Marton in Waitotara Electorate when its historical association is with Rangitikei. Suggests any adjustment to Rangitikei should be made on the eastern or southern boundary.

Objection No. 26 R. and C. Stirling of Marton.

Similar to Objection No. 1. Requests Marton be returned to the existing Rangitikei Electorate.

Objection No. 87 B. C. Beetham, M.P. for Rangitikei.

Objects to the loss of Marton from Rangitikei. Similar to Objection No. 1.

Objection No. 120 A van Raat of Wanganui.

Objects on the basis that Bastia Hill is a separate and compact residential suburb that is dependent on the City for all services. More reasonable to select an area for attachment to Waitotara that has an existing relationship.

*Objection No. 124* R. K. Phillips of Wanganui and 547 petitioners. Similar to Objection No. 120.

Objection No. 135 President, Marton Branch, N.Z. Social Credit Political League Inc.

Objecting to the transfer of Marton from Rangitikei for reasons of community of interest.

Objection No. 138 Mayor, Marton Borough Council.

Similar to Objection No. 1. Objects to the transfer of Marton. *Objection No. 198* Town Clerk, Wanganui City Council.

Considers the removal of Bastia Hill and Durie Hill considerably exceeds the requirement to reduce the population of Wanganui to the tolerances provided by the Electoral Act.

## RANGITIKEI

Objection No. 11 County Clerk, Manawatu County Council.

Objects to the placement of that portion of the county previously in Manawatu Electorate, in Rangitikei.

Objection No. 20 Secretary, Rangioroua Branch of Federated Farmers at Foxton.

Similar to Objection No. 11. The 197 members object to being included in Rangitikei as the area of Oroua Downs, Taikorea, Glen Oroua, and Rangiotu have little affinity with the area to the north of No. 3 State Highway.

Objection No. 66 Secretary, Rongotea Community Council.

Similar to Objection No. 11. There are strong business, social and sporting connections with Palmerston North and they wish to remain in Manawatu Electorate.

Objection No. 94 Secretary, Sanson Community Council.

Similar to Objection No. 11. As the natural affinity is with Palmerston North and the Manawatu the existing boundaries should not be changed.

# Manawatu

Objection No. 42 County Clerk, Horowhenua County Council. Objects to the loss of Shannon Community from Horowhenua

due to affinity of interest and regional involvement. Objection No. 91 Horowhenua Rural District Council.

Similar to Objection No. 42.

Objection No. 105 Secretary, Horowhenua United Council. Advising that Shannon and Tokomaru should remain in Horowhenua Electorate.

Objection No. 164 R. G. Niusen of Shannon and 70 other petitioners.

Similar to Objection No. 42.

*Objection No. 201* County Clerk, Waitarere Community Council. Similar to Objection No. 42.

Objection No. 202 County Clerk, Horowhenua County Council.

Objects on behalf of the inhabitants of Tokomaru Ward. Similar to Objection No. 42.

#### PAHIATUA

Objection No. 2 Chief Surveyor at Napier.

Advises the present county and proposed electoral boundary intersects the Chambers, Ryder and Bruce properties near the Mangaonuku Stream. He suggests all these properties should be included in Hawkes Bay Electorate.

Objection No. 57 Secretary, North East Wairarapa Rural Action Committee.

Objects to the area covered by Tinui to the north, Whareama and Homewood to the south being split by an electoral boundary. Suggests the original Castlepoint Ward boundary would provide a better line.

Objection No. 108 Registrar of Electors, Masterton.

Suggesting the boundary of the electorate should follow the Ruamahanga River and follow across the country to Tauweru so as to include Upper Plain, Opaki, and Landsdowne in Wairarapa.

Objection No. 211 Clapham, Gaskin and Company of Masterton. Suggests an area at Kibblewhite Road should be included in Masterton.

#### KAPITI

Objection No. 150 D. Armitage of Porirua.

Suggests the proposed boundary is an absurdity and a more logical line would follow Niagara Street and its extension to the county boundary. It would also form a division for the suburbs of Waitangirua and Tairangi.

#### PORIRUA

Objection No. 80 Porirua Returning Officer.

Similar to Objection No. 113.

Advises the present boundary line is a more suitable definition of the Cannon's Creek area and considerable difficulties will arise in enrolling electors within the proposed boundaries. Also the area of Grenada North should be included in Porirua as the road access is through this electorate not Ohariu.

Objection No. 81 Te Awaiti, He Karere Ki Pari-Rua.

Similar to Objection No. 80 objecting to the new boundary through Waitangirua.

Objection No. 113 Chairperson, Cannons Creek Community Council.

Object to the division of Waitangirua in that the change is not required in terms of population numbers. The total population for Porirua is within the statutory tolerance and the existing boundary should be maintained.

Objection No. 121 Chairman, Tairangi Community Council.

# EASTERN HUTT

Objection No. 117 J. J. Terris, M.P. for Western Hutt and T. J. Young, M.P. for Eastern Hutt.

Suggesting an alternative for the adjustment of the Eastern and Western Hutt boundaries. The river should be retained as the boundary with Manor Park and Haywards transferred to Western Hutt.

# WELLINGTON CENTRAL

Objection No. 119 President, Oriental Bay Ratepayers and Residents Association.

The Association advises their district is split by the electoral boundary and that the line should either follow the town belt out to Point Jerningham or follow Moeller Street, Hawker Street, Roxburgh and Hood Streets to Oriental Parade. Require a sensible conclusion to keep their community intact.

Objection No. 175 B. H. Paton of Wellington.

Advocates the use of Regional names when appropriate for the electorates and raises objections to Waikato (Te Rapa), Tongariro (Tokoroa, Taumarunui, Tokaanu, Turangi or Wairakei), East Cape (Tokomaru, Whangaparaoa, Waimana or Waiapu), Waikaremoana (Ngarimu, Ballantrae, Batten, Bledisloe, Hilary, Rutherford, Te