Kanawa, Bracken, Fergusson, Freyberg), Hawkes Bay (McLean Ormond or Hawkes Bay Urban), Taranaki (Egmont), Wanganui (Wanganui Urban), Manwatu (Kairanga or Himitangi), Horowhenua (Tararua), Wairarapa (Wairarapa South), Nelson (Nelson Urban), Marlborough (Wairau), Ashburton (Fitzgerald), Otago (Otago Lakeland).

Also considers the Local Government Commission Chairman should have voting rights.

Objection No. 177 Secretary, Wellington Central Branch, N.Z. Social Credit Party.

Similar to Objection No. 176.

ISLAND BAY

Objection No. 85 R. and E. Coote of Wellington.

Objecting to the inclusion of Norna Crescent in Island Bay electorate.

Objection No. 153 E. M. Wilson and 235 petitioners.

Object to the arbitrary splitting of Kelburn into two electorates.

The criteria set by section 16 (f) of the Electoral Act have not been fulfilled and community of interest makes the strongest case to retain Kelburn in Wellington Central.

Objection No. 176 President, Island Bay Branch, N.Z. Social Credit Party.

Suggest the names of all four Wellington electorates should be abandoned as follows—Island Bay (Wellington South), Miramar (Wellington East), Wellington Central (Wellington North), Ohariu (Wellington West, Wellington Environs, or Wellington Suburbs). Proposes that Houghton Bay should be included in Island Bay, Mt. Victoria should be included in Miramar and Island Bay and Highbury should be returned to Wellington Central.

Objection No. 179 Secretary, Greater Kelburn Progressive Association.

Similar to objection No. 153 in that Highbury should be retained in Wellington Central.

ST ALBANS

Objection No. 63 M. K. and J. F. Roberston.

Consider the Richmond area north of Medway Street should be included in Christchurch Central. In their view the "community interest" criteria have not been observed.

Objection No. 89 J. Russell of Christchurch.

Similar to Objection No. 63. Woodchester Avenue and the suburb of Richmond should remain in Christchurch Central.

PAPANUI

Objection No.127 J. M. and E. M. Spurr.

Object to the transfer of Kainga from Rangiora to Papanui. The community of interest factor is with Rangiora Borough.

Objection No. 195 C. G. Hayward, NZLP Rangiora Electorate.

Due to community of interest factors Kainga, Stewards Gully and Brooklands should be retained in Rangiora. Also that area of Parklands to the south and west of Mairehau Road should be included in Avon.

Objection No. 109 Alan McRobie of Christchurch.

- (i) Makes several observations as to how electorates should be formed, in particular changes should be kept to a minimum, i.e., Timaru and Ashburton. This is not the case for Avon and other Christchurch electorates where changes are unnecessarily disruptive. Research shows electors place great emphasis on continuity of representation and existing electorates should be maintained within population limitations.
- (ii) Papanui should be called Christchurch North, Saint Kilda and Saint Albans should revert to Saint Kilda and Saint Albans and for consistency West Auckland should be Auckland West.

(iii) Boundary of Yaldhurst should follow Peer Street along its new extensions.

(iv) Near Avondale Bridge the boundary of Avon should follow the Avon River.

FENDALTON

Objection No. 16 Town Clerk, Riccarton Borough.

Council objects to the name of the electorate, would be more appropriate to be called Riccarton.

CHRISTCHURCH CENTRAL

Objection No. 10 Secretary Christchurch East Branch N.Z. Labour Party.

Suggests the boundary of Christchurch Central revert to its former position along Dudley Creek and Avon River from Averill Street through to Kerrs Reach. The river forms an effective barrier and the community of interest is split along this boundary.

Objection No. 51 N. E. Champion of Christchurch.

Similar to Objection No. 10 in that Dallington should be included in St Albans.

Objection No. 54 Secretary St Albans Residents Association.

Similar to Objection No. 10 in that Dallington and Avonside should be returned to St Albans and Christchurch Central, the area to the north of Breezes Road and east of the Avon River, and an area south of Mairehau Road including Median, Bolero, Karlawe, Curzon and Daytona Streets be included in Avon.

Avon

Objection No. 139 Secretary, Chisnallwood Social Club, Representing 80 members.

Similar to Objection No. 109 in that the boundary should follow the Avon River, Bowe Avenue and Travis Road.

SYDENHAM

Objection No. 5 Canterbury Regional Council N.Z. Social Credit Political League.

Suggests that Spreydon, Barrington or Christchurch South would be more appropriate names and that three areas:

- (i) Cashmere Stream / Bridgemere Lane / Homecroft Courts
 — approximately 50 people involved.
- (ii) Nos. 112-160 Sparks Road—Approximately 50 people involved.
- (iii) Nos. 233-337 Hendersons Road—Approximately 80-100 people involved,

be included within this electorate on the basis of community of interest.

Objection No. 45 Secretary, Bromley Branch N.Z. Labour Party.

The area bounded by Moorehouse Avenue, Ferry Road, Ensors Road and the Railway Line is more identified with Christchurch Central than Sydenham. The division created by the railway line causes a split of community of interest and the branch objects to the alteration.

Objection No. 128 J. Phillips of Linwood.

Similar to Objection No. 45.

SELWYN

Objection No. 22 J. J. Walker of Sockburn.

Protests at the continued inclusion in Selwyn of an area bounded by Hanson's Lane, Blenheim Road and Main South Road. On the basis of community of interest this area should be included in Yaldhurst.

ASHBURTON

Objection No. 103 M. J. Guile of Fairlie and 147 petitioners.

Suggesting that part of McKenzie County east of the Two Thumb Range, i.e., Ashwick Flat and Allandale should be included in Timaru.

OTAGO

Objection No. 8 County Clerk, Lake County Council.

Proposals disregard the nature of the rural Otago District by linking Port Chalmers, Ravensbourne etc., with Queenstown. Considers the existing electoral boundaries meet the requirements of strong regional identity.

Objection No. 25 Secretary, Port Chalmers Waterfront Workers Industrial Union of Workers.

Considers it vital that the borough should retain its links with Dunedin. There is a close association both economically and historically with the city, and it is essential to be united. Objection No. 30 Town Clerk, Borough of Queenstown.

Similar to Objection No. 8 in that community of interest and communication factors have not been taken into account and that the existing boundary should be retained.

Objection No. 39 J. M. & A. W. Johnson of Dunedin.

As West Harbour is a suburb of Dunedin the area is more easily serviced from the centre of the city rather than Queenstown.

Objection No. 48 D. R. Williamson of Port Chalmers and 5 petitioners.

Similar to Objection No. 45.

Objection No. 73 J. L. Mark of Sawyers Bay, Dunedin and 13 petitioners.

Similar to Objection No. 25.

Objection No. 74 K. B. Perry of Sawyers Bay and 2 others.

Similar to Objection No. 25.

Objection No. 75 G. I. Walker of Sawyers Bay and 9 petitioners. Similar to Objection No. 25.

Objection No. 77 I. C. Douglas of Port Chalmers and 5 petitioners. Similar to Objection No. 25.