Objection No. 78 Town Clerk, Alexandra Borough Council. Similar to Objection No. 8.

President, Dunedin North Branch N.Z. Social Objection No. 88 Credit Party.

Similar to Objection No. 25.

Objection No. 125 J. L. Cairns of Ravensbourne and 56 petitioners.

Similar to Objection No. 25,

### **OTAGO AND ADJACENT ELECTORATES**

Objection No. 157 Dominion Secretary, N.Z. Social Credit Political League.

The following changes are suggested in the basis of the criteria relating to Section 16 (f) of the Electoral Act.

Dunedin West should not include Mosgiel and the northern boundary of Dunedin North adjusted accordingly. Waikaia Ward should be retained by Wallace and Tuapeka and Roxburgh returned to Otago. The problem is Mosgiel but this should not create further problems to five other electorates.

## ST KILDA

Objection No. 205 Town Clerk, Borough of Green Island.

Council has expressed concern that a small portion of the borough has been included in this electorate and suggest the local authority boundary should form the electoral boundary.

#### DUNEDIN WEST

Objection No. 3 B. P. MacDonnell M.P., for Dunedin Central.

Comments that Mornington would be more descriptive than the name Dunedin West and that the classification should be partially urban and partially rural.

Objection No. 21 A. S. Harris of Green Island.

Suggest that: (1) Burnside, (2) Taieri, (3) Flagstaff, (4) Green Island (in that order) would be a more appropriate name.

CLUTHA

Objection No. 9 County Clerk, Tuapeka County Council.

Objects to the inclusion of the county in a coastal electorate as it is more allied towards Cental Otago. The area is included in the Clutha-Central Otago United Council and any adjustment of boundary should be on the east coast area of Waihemo and Silver Peaks counties.

Objection No. 15 B. F. Coleman of Roxburgh.

Objects on the basis that the new boundary severs a traditional link between Roxburgh and the remainder of Central Otago. The area is linked geographically and does not relate in any way with Clutha or Port Chalmers. Seeks a reinstatement of the south-eastern boundary as shown on the 1971 map of proposed boundary changes

Objection No. 43 Town Clerk, Borough of Lawrence.

Objects on the basis that it is not in the best interests of Lawrence to be included in this electorate as the borough is allied to Central Otago.

Objection No. 83 Secretary Otago Electric Power Board.

Similar to objection No. 9. The distribution area extends to Raes Junction and East of Roxburgh and the Board believes these areas have a community of interest with the rest of Central Otago. Objection No. 84 D. Kirkpatrick of Roxburgh.

Similar to Objection No. 15.

Objection No. 86 C. J. McKenzie of Fortrose and Chairman, Tokanui Branch, N.Z. Federated Farmers.

Object to their inclusion in Clutha. The area is logically serviced from Invercargill and there is widespread public suport against the proposal.

Objection No. 92 A. G. Craig of Roxburgh and 2 others. Similar to Objection No. 15.

Objection No. 101 P. M. Ensor of Brighton and 274 petitioners. Objects to their inclusion in Clutha Electorate as Brighton has a natural affinity with Mosgiel, Green Island and Dunedin.

Objection No. 107 J. R. Waigth of Roxburgh.

The proposed division requires two members of Parliament to service the Alexandra-Roxburgh area. These towns have a community of interest whereas there is no affinity whatsoever with Balclutha, etc.

Objection No. 122 Provincial President, Southland Federated Farmers, Invercargill.

Object to the changes whereby Toetoes, Wyndham and Tokanui are now excluded from Awarua. An alternative would be to place Mataura in Clutha.

Objection No. 130 County Clerk, Maniatoto County Council. Similar to Objection No. 9.

Objection No. 131 Principal Officer, Clutha-Central Otago United Council.

Similar to Objection No. 9.

W. J. G. and K. A. Craig, M. S. S. Wetherall Objection No. 133 of Roxburgh.

Similar to Objection No. 9. The transfer of Roxburgh to Clutha is grossly illogical.

Objection No. 144 County Clerk, Southland County Council.

Council opposes the transfer of those areas to the east of the Mataura River from Awara. The present boundary closely follows the regional boundary and should be retained. There is a loss of community of interest and the river is to an acceptable boundary. Objection No. 145 Southland County Council on behalf of 1589

petitioners. Similar to Objection No. 144.

Objection No. 172 Town Clerk, Borough of Roxburgh.

Similar to Objection No. 9.

Objection No. 182 L. N. Davidson of Roxburgh. Similar to Objection No. 9.

Objection No. 203 Secretary Teviot Fruitgrowers Assoc. Similar to Objection No. 9.

# Objections to Proposed Boundaries of the Four Maori Electoral Districts of New Zealand

THE Representation Commission appointed in pursuance of section 15 of the Electoral Act 1956 hereby publishes, in accordance with the provisions of sections 18 and 23 of the said Act, a summary of objections to the proposed boundaries of the four Maori electoral districts of New Zealand lodged with the Commission. The objec-tions are available for public inspection at the offices of the Chief Electoral Officer, Levin House, 330 High Street, Lower Hutt, between the hours of 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. each day, excluding Saturdays and Sundays, from today until the 23rd day of December 1982, and thereafter from the 5th until the 14th day of January 1983.

The Commission further gives notice that written counter-objec-tiors to those objections or any of them will be received by the undersigned, the Chairman of the Commission, at the office of the Surveyor-General, Department of Lands and Survey, Private Bag, Wellington, not later than Friday the 14th day of January 1983 for consideration by the aforesaid Commission. If any counter-objec-tors with to proper before the Commission in generated their tors wish to appear before the Commission in support of their counter-objections they must say so in their written counter-objections.

A copy of this notice including the summary of objections may be seen at the offices of each Registrar of Electors throughout New Zealand and at each District Court.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of December 1982.

B. H. BLACKWOOD, Chairman of the Representation Commission.

**SCHEDULE** 

## NORTHERN MAORI

General Secretary, Mana Motuhake O Aotea-Objection No. 186 гоа

Strongly suggest that Waiheke Island be included in Northern Maori and the boundary around Papaptoetoe City should follow Puhinui Road.

### EASTERN MAORI

This boundary should follow No. 32 State Highway around the shore of Lake Taupo to Waihi and thence along the Taupo County boundary to Mount Tongariro.

Also suggested the names of the electorates be altered as follows:

Northern—Tai Tokerau Western—Tai Hauauru Eastern—Tai Rawhiti Southern—Te Waipounamu

Objection No. 188 Secretary, Maori Policy Committee, Social Credit Party

- (i) The party question the validity base of the population numbers for each electorate.
- (ii) Objection is also made to the lack of increase in the number of Maori electorates.

### WESTERN MAORI

H. Amohia of Taumarunui and Tribes Wanganui, Waikato, Maniapoto, and Tuwharetoa. **Objection** 152

Price 45c

BY AUTHORITY: P. D. HASSELBERG, GOVERNMENT PRINTER, WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND-1982