The following are appointed to commissions on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from

the date shown and effect from 22 June 1981: Catherine Judith Richards, 22 August 1978.

Catherine Judith Richards, 22 August 1978.
Colin Arthur Paine, 21 December 1979.
Colette Marie Hartley is appointed to a commission on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 7 January 1978 and effect from 7 September 1981.
Dianl Sarah Swap is appointed to a commission on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 9 December 1980 and effect from 9 September 1981.
Bernard Tamate Lacy Walden is appointed to a commission on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 7 November 1981 and effect from 7 January 1982.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

22nd (D) Battery, RNZA

2nd Lieutenant I. J. Dickie: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 11 March 1982, No. 26, page 710, for "16th Field Regiment, RNZA," substitute "22nd (D) Battery, RNZA.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

2nd Field Squadron, RNZE

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. B. Chapman to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 22 December 1981.

5th Support Squadron, RNZE

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) G. B. Manning to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 18 February 1982.

1st Task Force Region Signals Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Beverly Diane Conn is appointed to a commission on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 March 1982.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Honorary Colonel

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR

Lieutenant Colonel D. H. Blyth, B.Sc., Retired List, is appointed Honorary Colonel, 2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR, for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1982, vice Lieutenant Colonel B. H. Palmer, M.B.E., E.D., Retired List.

Major P. V. Coster, E.D., to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel, with effect from 11 April 1982.

Captain John Andrew Henderson is transferred from the

Captain John Andrew Henderson is transferred from the Retired List in his present rank, with seniority from 8 December 1977 and effect from 8 December 1981.

2nd Lieutenant D. J. Malone to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 20 February 1982.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Captain Peter Stephen Sullivan is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 18 September 1978 and effect from 22 December 1981.

2nd Lieutenant K. D. Broome to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 20 February 1982.

Taturoanui Graham Crocombe is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 March 1982.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

Lieutenant Martin Brian Barber is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 19 January

5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 15 November 1981:

Moetapapa Rimiriu Ruka Broughton.

Howard Charles Nolan.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR

Honorary Colonel

Lieutenant Colonel J. C. Andrew, O.B.E., E.D., Retired List, is reappointed Honorary Colonel, 7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), for a period of 2 years with effect from 1 April 1982.

Captain (temp. Major) S. G. Dearing, M.D.S., to be Major, with seniority and effect from 1 January 1982.

The following Lieutenants (temp. Captain) to be Captain. with seniority and effect from the date shown:

H. M. Jury, 2 July 1981.
B. J. Tinsley, 14 February 1982.
The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 15 November 1981:

Geoffrey Bede Henry Fahey.

Stuart James Gibson.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

John Melville Broadfoot, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.N.Z.C.G.P., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Captain and posted to 5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR, with seniority from 2 February 1974 and effect from 14 December 1981; to be temp. Major with effect from 14 December 1981.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

4th Supply Company, RNZAOC

2nd Lieutenant Michael Wayne Edwards resigns his commission, with effect from 16 November 1981.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

2nd Lieutenant William Lindon Hall, B.D.S., of the Otago

University Medical Unit, RNZAMC, resigns his commission, with effect from 25 January 1982.

2nd Lieutenant N. S. Cole, B.Sc., B.D.S., of the Otago University Medical Unit, RNZAMC, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 11 December 1978 and effect from 7 February 1982.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT Honorary Chaplain

Chaplain Class III Mervyn Lee Dine, Retired List (Metho-Chaplain Class III Mervyn Lee Dine, Retired List (Methodist) is appointed Honorary Chaplain Class II, Senior Chaplain (Methodist) of Chaplains' Dominion Advisory Council, with effect from 18 March 1982, vice Reverend R. F. Clement (Methodist).

Chaplain Class IV A. G. Neil (Anglican) to be Chaplain Class III, with seniority and effect from 1 September 1981.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

GENERAL LIST

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Captain P. S. Sullivan is transferred to the Territorial Force, with effect from 22 December 1981.

RETIRED LIST

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Captain and Quartermaster L. R. Robinson is transferred to the Regular Force, with effect from 16 November 1981.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Captain J. A. Henderson is transferred to the Territorial

Force, with effect from 8 December 1981.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of June 1982.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Justices of the Peace Appointed

Pursuant to section 3 (1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand:

Armour Clarence Andrew, Maunganui Bluff Road, Aranga, Dargaville.

Armstrong, Mrs Irene Dorothy Ada, 11 Dolan Place, New

Lynn, Auckland 7.

Ashley, Mrs Jill, 8 Aotea Crescent, Gore.

Badley, Donald Frederick, 63 Tirimoana Road, Te Atatu South, Auckland 8.

Beattie, Ian Stanley, 19 Ann Street, Hamilton. Benefield, John David, Hams Road, R.D. 3, Ohaupo. Bestic, Mrs Gladys Mary, 18 Holden Avenue, Holdens Bay, Rotorua.

Rood, Kenneth Handley John, Paterangi-Pirongia Road, No. 6 R.D., Te Awamutu.

Boon, Mrs Angela Joan, 25A Rogan Street, New Plymouth.

Bridgman, Mark Howard Allan, 100 Herewaka Street,

Bright, Barrie Read, Valley Road, Paraparaumu. Brown, Douglas John, Flat 3, 24 Turama Road, Royal Oak, Auckland.

Bryant, Leslie Ernest John, 63 Fawcett Street, South Dunedin.