P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

*New Zealand Gazette, 24 May 1979, No. 43, p. 1596 (M.O.T. 43/1/9/8)

Authorising the Hawke's Bay Harbour Board to Reclaim Crown Land at Ahuriri Lagoon

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 13th day of December 1982

Present:

THE RT. HON. R. D. MULDOON PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 175 (2) and subject to sections 176 to 182 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby authorises the Hawke's Bay Harbour Board to reclaim an area of 340 square metres, more or less, of Crown land at Ahuriri Lagoon, as shown more particularly coloured blue on plan M.D. 16144 (S.O. 8191), deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.O.T. 43/6/6/7)

10

The Horowhenua County Council Foreshore and Waters Control Order 1983

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 13th day of December 1982

Present:

THE RT. HON. R. D. MULDOON PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to sections 8A and 165 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Horowhenua County Council Foreshore and Waters Control Order
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of January
 - 2. Interpretation-In this order-

"The Act" means the Harbours Act 1950:
"The Council" means the Horowhenua County Council constituted under the Local Government Act 1974:

- "Foreshore" means such parts of the bed, shore, or banks of a tidal water as are covered and uncovered by the flow and ebb of the tide at ordinary spring tides.
- 3. Grant of Control—There is hereby granted to the Council for a period of 21 years from the 1st day of January 1983 and ending with the 31st day of December 2004.
 - (a) Control of the foreshore described in the First Schedule to this order.
 - (b) Control of the waters described in the Second Schedule to this order.

4. Conditions of Grant—The grant of control conferred by clause 3 of this order is subject to the following conditions—

(a) Suitably worded signs shall be erected at main public access

- ways to the foreshore and waters described in the Schedules to this order indicating that control of them has been granted to the Council pursuant to sections 8A and 165 of
- (b) All money received by the Council in the performance or exercise of the functions, duties, or powers conferred on it by this order in respect of the foreshore and waters to which this order applies, shall, after the deduction of any expenditure incurred by the Council in the performance or exercise of those functions, duties, or powers, be applied to the construction, repair or improvement of facilities in respect of that foreshore and waters, and not otherwise.
- 5. Powers of Council-Subject to section 8A of the Act, the Council may, in respect of the foreshore and waters to which this order applies
 - (a) By bylaw, do anything which a Harbour Board may do by bylaw under section 232 of the Act.

- (b) Appoint harbourmasters, and other officers, and define or limit their powers and duties.

6. Revocations—The following orders are hereby revoked—
(a) The Waimeha Domain Order 1968*, and
(b) The Waiterere Domain Board Foreshore Control Order 1977†.

*N.Z. Gazette, 1968, p. 744 †N.Z. Gazette, 1977, P. 171

FIRST SCHEDULE

ALL that area of foreshore commencing from a point on the southern bank at the mouth of the Manawatu River; thence generally southwards to a point on the northern bank at the mouth of the Waikanae River; as shown more particularly coloured red on plan M.D. 15969; excluding all that area of foreshore adjacent to Otaki Borough; as more particularly shown coloured green on plan M.D. 15969. The said plan M.D. 15969 is deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

SECOND SCHEDULE

ALL that area of water enclosed by a line commencing at a point at the waters edge on the southern bank at the mouth of the Manawatu River; thence in a westerly direction to a point 200 metres from the waters edge; thence generally in a southern direction and 200 metres seaward from the waters edge to a point being 200 metres westward of the northern bank at the mouth of the Waikanae River; thence eastward to a point at the waters edge; as shown more particularly coloured red on plan M.D. 15969; excluding all that area of water adjacent to Otaki Borough; as more particularly shown coloured green on plan M.D. 15969. The said plan M.D. 15969 is deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(M.O.T. 54/14/21)

10

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander Graham James Bosson is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 22 October 1984 with effect from 23 October 1982.

The appointment of Commander D. Rigby is extended to 18 November 1983.

Commander Warren William Devin is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 20 November 1984 with effect from 21 November 1982.

The appointment of Chaplain P. D. Bean, L.TH., is extended to 20 May 1987.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander P. W. Monk is extended to 17 August 1989.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) P. Y. Dennerly to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 October 1982.

Lieutenant T. R. McKeown, B.A., DIP.ED., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 16 November 1982.

Lieutenant O. J. Young to be Lieutenant Commander with seni-ority and effect from 22 November 1982.

Lieutenant (acting Lieutenant Commander) A. R. Dudley to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 4 October 1982. Lieutenant (acting Lieutenant Commander) C. L. Campbell to be

temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 4 October 1982. The appointment of Lieutenant S. G. Ebrey is extended to 1 June

1993.

Lieutenant A. W. Lowndes is placed on the Retired List with effect from 10 November 1982.

The seniority of Lieutenant K. E. Hutton, N.Z.C.E. (CIV), is ante-dated to 1 July 1981.

Nicholas Graham Flegg, B.S.C. (HONS.), is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 19 November 1975 and effect from 4 October 1982; terminating on 28 June 1993.

Sub Lieutenant L. D. Holmwood to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 January 1980 and effect from 24 September 1982.