Authorising the Marlborough Harbour Board to Reclaim Marlborough Harbour Board Endowment Land from Mahakipawa Arm, Pelorus Sound

#### RONALD DAVISON,

#### Administrator of the Government

#### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 4th day of July 1983

#### Present:

His Excellency the Administrator of the Government in Council

PURSUANT to sections 175 (3) and 265 and subject to sections 176 to 182 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council hereby authorises the Marlborough Harbour Board to reclaim 2 areas totalling 4050 square metres (1250 square metres and 2800 square metres), more or less of Marlborough Harbour Board endowment land from Mahakipawa Arm, Pelorus Sound, as shown on plan M.D. (C) 672 (S.O. 5582), deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(M.O.T. 43/5/6)

10

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

# ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

PROVOST MARSHAL

Commander D. Bell is appointed Provost Marshal of the Royal New Zealand Navy with effect from 17 December 1980, vice Commander (now Captain) S. F. Teagle.

Nicholas St. John Morley-Hall (RN Rtd.), is appointed to the RNZN on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 November 1968 and effect from 10 May 1983; terminating on 10 November 1985.

Christopher Michael Pile (RN Rtd.), is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 April 1982 and effect from 12 April 1983; terminating on 15 January 1988.

David Baggaley (RN Rtd.), is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 April 1982 and effect from 13 May 1983; terminating on 22 March 1991.

Peter Harold Bosworth, B.SC. (RN Rtd.), is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 April 1982 and effect from 17 May 1983; terminating on 23 August 1992.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) D. G. Pringle to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority from 12 August 1982 and effect from 28 April 1983.

Lieutenant J. M. Marriott to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 23 April 1983.

The appointment of Lieutenant Joanne Elizabeth Bretherton, B.SC., DIP.TCHG, is terminated at her own request with effect from 25 May 1983.

Lieutenant (acting Lieutenant Commander) G. C. Collier, M.B.E., relinquishes the acting rank of Lieutenant Commander with effect from 21 May 1983.

The seniority of Surgeon Lieutenant P. D. Galloway, M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., is antedated to 31 May 1977.

Lieutenant P. J. Young is appointed Assistant Provost Marshal to the Royal New Zealand Navy with effect from 20 May 1983.

The appointment of Lieutenant D. L. Liddicoat is extended to 4 January 1996.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) M. Jacobs, B.E.(MECH.), N.Z.C.E., to be Lieutenant with seniority from 1 September 1982 and effect from 20 May 1983.

Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) V. J. Dare, B.SC., to be Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 1 January 1978 and effect from 7 May

Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) L. J. Seerup, N.Z.C.E., to be Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 7 May 1983.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant Norman Walter Fitzgerald, B.MUS., is terminated with effect from 10 May 1983.

Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) J. P. Maxwell to be Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 7 May 1983.

Leigh George Morley, M.B.E., B.E.M., Y16720, WOSGI, is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Sub Lieutenant (*on prob.*), with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 23 May 1983; terminating on 23 December 1993.

The appointment of Ensign (on prob.) Mark Trevor Shipman lapses with effect from 15 March 1983.

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Commander T. J. E. Dyer, v.R.D., D.P.A., DIP.B.I.A., is transferred to the Inactive List of the RNZNVR with effect from 31 March 1983.

Lieutenant Commander Peter Ewart Carr-Smith, V.R.D., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 20 May 1983.

The appointment of Chaplain C. D. Blakie is extended to 4 March 1984.

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant (on prob.) S. P. McGuire, M.B. CH.B., is confirmed.

Colin Clive Wynn is appointed to the Inactive List of the RNZNVR in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 1 March 1983.

Ensign C. L. Caldwell, LL.B., to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 31 January 1983 and effect from 15 April 1983.

The appointment of Ensign (on prob.) (temp. Sub Lieutenant) Stuart John Fisher, B.A., lapses with effect from 14 May 1983.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of July 1983.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

22

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

### REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## Chief of Air Staff

Air Vice Marshal D. M. Crooks, O.B.E., with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 12 May 1983, No. 63, page 1483, for the date "16 April 1983" substitute "14 April 1983".

## Appointments

Squadron Leader S. D. White to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 3 June 1983 and *temp*. Wing Commander with effect from 24 June 1983.

Flight Lieutenant A. J. Beattie, B.SC., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 13 June 1983.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 22 April 1983:

S88888 John Gordon Benfell, 11 October 1982. G90189 Mark Edward Delany, 11 January 1983. S90406 Bruce Stevenson Gault, 11 January 1983. J90191 Warren Lloyd McCrae Harré, 11 January 1983. N90195 Craig Jonathan Wylie Tanner, 11 January 1983.

#### **Promotions**

Group Captain I. V. Mackay, A.F.C., to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 29 March 1983, and Air Commodore with seniority and effect from 31 March 1983.

Group Captain (temp. Air Commodore) J. J. Gordon, O.B.E., to be Air Commodore with seniority and effect from 20 May 1983.

Wing Commander M. E. A. Dillon to be Group Captain with seniority from 24 January 1983 and effect from 18 April 1983.

Squadron Leader P. J. Garnett, B.Com., to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 20 June 1983, and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 24 June 1983.

Flight Lieutenant S. J. Cotton to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 21 May 1983.

Flying Officer G, A. Todd to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 4 July 1983.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) D. M. Abbott, A.D.C., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 4 July 1983.

Flying Officer M. Wilson to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 4 July 1983.