The Whakatane District Council Foreshore and Seabed Control Order 1983

#### DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 18th day of July 1983

#### Present:

THE RIGHT HON. D. MACINTYRE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 165 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Whakatane District Council Foreshore and Seabed Control Order 1983.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of August 1983.
  - 2. Interpretation—In this order—

"The Act" means the Harbours Act 1950:

"The Council" means the Whakatane District Council consti-

tuted under the Local Government Act 1974:
"Foreshore" means such parts of the bed, shore, or banks of
a tidal water as are covered and uncovered by the flow
and ebb of the tide at ordinary spring tides.

- 3. Grant of Control—There is hereby granted to the Council for a period of 21 years from the 1st day of August 1983 and ending with the 31st day of July 2004, control of the foreshore and seabed described in the Schedule to this order.
- 4. Conditions of Grant—The grant of control conferred by clause 3 of this order is subject to the following conditions—
  - (a) Suitably worded signs shall be erected at main public access ways to the foreshore and seabed described in the Schedule
  - ways to the foreshore and scaped described in the Schedule to this order indicating that control of them has been granted to the Council pursuant to section 165 of the Act.

    (b) All money received by the Council in the performance or exercise of the functions, duties, or powers conferred on it by this order in respect of the foreshore and seabed to which this order applies, shall, after the deduction of any expediture incurred by the Council in the performance or exercise of the foreshore duties are preformance or exercise. cise of those functions, duties, or powers, be applied to the construction, repair, or improvement of facilities in respect of that foreshore and seabed and not otherwise.
  - 5. Revocations—The following Orders are hereby revoked:
  - (a) The Whakatane Harbour Foreshore Control Order 1967.\* (b) Order in Council of 6 March 1972 granting control of part of the foreshore to the Ohope Domain Board.†
- \*New Zealand Gazette 1967, p. 515 †New Zealand Gazette, 1972, p. 621

#### **SCHEDULE**

ALL that foreshore within and adjacent to the District of Whakatane, including the foreshore within the limits of Whakatane Harbour and the foreshore and seabed of Ohiwa Harbour within the District of Whakatane. The areas so described are shown blue on plan M.D. 16109, deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(M.O.T. 43/18/3)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

## REGULAR FORCE

#### APPOINTMENTS TO COMMISSION

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

N38445 Warrant Officer Class I Michael Anthony Oliver, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, 7 June 1983.
L213473 Warrant Officer Class I Gary Lionel Burnett, Royal N.Z.

Corps of Signals, 20 June 1983.

GRADUATES—OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with seniority and effect from 11 June 1983:

T761915 Craig Raymond Andrews, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

L51852 Phillip John Collett, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport. B51314 Carl Simon Corbett, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment. Q762809 Paul James Curry, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

#### THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Captain and Quartermaster W. G. W. Williams to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 3 May 1983.

Lieutenant P. W. Howard to be temp. Captain with effect from

11 May 1983.

#### ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Lieutenant Colonel (temp. Colonel) T. D. Macfarlane to be Colonel with seniority and effect from 1 June 1983 and is transferred to the Colonels' List.

#### ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major Geofrey Raymond Jackett is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 2 June 1983.

Captain (acting Major) G. M. Hart to be temp. Major with effect from 13 June 1983.

The following Lieutenants to be temp. Captain with effect from the date shown:

B. A. Smith, 6 May 1983. K. J. Burnett, 14 May 1983. P. K. Keller, 17 May 1983.

#### ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Brigadier B. T. McMahon, C.B.E., Q.P.H., M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., D.T.M. and H., R.C.P. (LOND.) and R.C.S. (ENG.), DIP.VEN. (U.L'POOL.), M.C.C.M. (N.Z.), M.R.N.Z.C.G.P., is re-engaged until 1 December 1983.

Captain (temp. Major) D. A. Roseveare is re-engaged until 5 November 1993.

#### ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Lieutenant Nigel Angus Guildford is transferred from the Territorial Force on a Special List Commission in his present rank, with seniority and effect from 15 June 1983.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL Engineers

Major Kevyn David Mount, N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 29 April 1983.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster T. Hokianga to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 June 1983.

## ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Lieutenant and Quartermaster K. M. Flanagan to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 9 February 1983.

#### ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Captain M. E. McDowall is re-engaged until 22 June 1985. Lieutenant C. A. Paine to be temp, Captain with effect from 1 April 1983.

# TERRITORIAL FORCE

#### **BRIGADIERS' LIST**

Brigadier Anthony Thomas Mortiboy, M.B.E., E.D., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 31 May 1983.

OYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

10

Captain M. J. Carpenter, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Major with effect from 26 April 1983.

## ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

Lieutenant S. C. Taylor, LL.B., to be Captain with seniority and effect from 14 April 1983.

#### ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

4th (Main H.Q.) Signals Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. B. Adams to be Captain with seniority from 17 June 1982 and effect from 6 May 1983.

### ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

The following officers of the 1st N.Z. S.A.S. Squadron, NZSAS, to be Lieutenant with seniority from the date shown and effect from 7 June 1983 and are transferred to the Special Service List, The N.Z. Special Air Service until 6 December 1983 with effect from 7 June 1983:

2nd Lieutenant C. M. Wareham, 31 March 1983. 2nd Lieutenant J. B. Mawson, 31 May 1983.