Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 17th day of August 1983.

JONATHAN ELWORTHY, Minister of Forests.

[L.S.]

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

(F.S. 9/3/395, 6/3/24)

18

Reappointing a Director of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 15th day of August 1983

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. R. D. MULDOON PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

PURSUANT to the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 1964, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council hereby reappoints Sir Laurence Houghton Stevens, C.B.E., of Auckland, as a Director of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, to hold office during pleasure for a term of 3 years from the 1st day of October 1983.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain (temp. Major) M. J. R. Pearce to be Major with seniority from 20 June 1983 and effect from 24 June 1983.

Captain I. A. J. Marshall, B.SC.(MIL.), is re-engaged until 6 January 1992.

Captain Jonathan Charles Hacon, Royal Regiment of Artillery (Rtd), is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 9 February 1981 and effect from 9 February 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) W. J. Whiting, B.SOC.SC., to be Captain with seniority from 20 December 1981 and effect from 23 June 1983.

2nd Lieutenant M. J. Ogilvie to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 June 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) K. R. Brown to be Major with seniority from 20 June 1983 and effect from 24 June 1983.

2nd Lieutenant C. A. Moody to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 June 1983.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Captain Mark Gerard Thompson, B.SC., B.E.(HONS), N.Z.C.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 7 July 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. G. Ransley to be Captain with seniority from 12 June 1982 and effect from 23 June 1983.

2nd Lieutenant P. J. Amyes to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 June 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Captain (acting Major) C. W. Lilley to be temp. Major with effect from 20 June 1983.

The following Lieutenants (temp. Captain) to be Captain with seniority from the date shown and effect from 23 June 1983:

A. F. Birch, 30 July 1981.

J. O. Thomson, B.A.(MIL.), 13 December 1982.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) Harawira Tiri Gardiner, M.A.(LOND.), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 12 July 1983.

Captain Alastair Ronald Forrest MacKenzie is transferred from the Retired List in his present rank, with seniority from 16 February 1978 and effect from 16 February 1983.

Captain M. E. Wischnowsky to be temp. Major with effect from 11 July 1983.

Raymond Brian Whitehead is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 1 February 1979 and effect from 1 February 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. F. Cosgrove to be Captain with seniority from 12 June 1982 and effect from 23 June 1983, and is re-engaged until 11 January 1996.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster C. P. Lennon is re-engaged until 23 August 1987.

2nd Lieutenant J. Gibbons to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 June 1983.

2nd Lieutenant Gillies Kiwi Baker is transferred from the Territorial Force in his present rank, with seniority from 9 December 1982 and effect from 8 June 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF TRANSPORT

Major John Frederick Messinger Scruton, Royal Corps of Transport (Rtd), is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Major, with seniority and effect from 13 June 1983.

Captain (temp. Major) D. M. Campbell to be Major with seniority from 20 June 1983 and effect from 24 June 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. J. Bulmer to be Captain with seniority from 10 June 1983 and effect from 23 June 1983.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 June 1983:

M. Daldorf,

R. A. Steele.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Captain and Quartermaster J. B. Hutton to be temp. Major and Quartermaster with effect from 14 June 1983.

David Victor Le Page, M.B., B.S., is appointed to a commission on a special medical engagement in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 13 June 1980 and effect from 13 June 1983.

Lieutenant P. R. Haultain to be temp. Captain with effect from 18 July 1983.

Supernumerary List

Anthony St John, M.B., CH.B.(N.Z.), M.R.C.G.P., is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Major, with seniority from 14 February 1975 and effect from 14 February 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) G. P. Lindstrom to be Captain with seniority from 10 June 1983 and effect from 23 June 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) C. M. Gregory relinquishes the temporary rank of Captain with effect from 27 June 1983. Supernumerary List

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Brian Arthur Gush is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain, with effect from 12 July 1983.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain (temp. Major) J. K. Williams, B.SC., to be Major with seniority from 20 June 1983 and effect from 24 June 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster John Samuel Moyle, B.E.M., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain and Quartermaster, with effect from 25 July 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain Class III B. S. Cox, L.TH., (Anglican) is re-engaged until 20 April 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. MILITARY POLICE

Major D. A. Waygood is re-engaged until 1 June 1987.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Lieutenant Colonel Helen Judith Macann, R.R.C., DIP.N., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 15 July 1983.

Captain R. A. Bell is re-engaged until retiring age for rank.

Captain April Lilian Ewing is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in her present rank with effect from 1 July 1983.

Lieutenant N. K. Carter to be Captain with seniority and effect from 4 July 1983.