the Aotea Regional Council of the Maori Women's Welfare League;

- (i) One member appointed by the Wanganui District Trades Council:
- (j) One member appointed by the Combined State Unions, Wanganui Regional Committee;
- (k) One member appointed jointly by the Wanganui Community Education Service Inc. and the Wanganui and District Community Arts Council;
- (l) One member who shall be the principal of the Wanganui Regional Community College and who shall be a permanent appointment to the Council;
- (m) One member who shall represent the staff of the Wanganui Regional Community College and who shall be elected by the full-time tutors and the full-time ancillary staff employed by the Council and who shall be a full-time staff member employed by the Council;
- (n) (i) One member who shall be a student of the Wanganui Regional Community College and who shall be elected by students of the college;
- (ii) The member elected pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office for a term of 1 year from the 1st day of April until the 31st day of March in the subsequent year, but if on that date the election of a successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that election is notified;
- (o) One member elected by the governing bodies of the secondary schools listed in the Schedule to this notice;
- (p) Not more than 3 members co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it thinks fit, of whom 1 member may be coopted to represent the interests of local youth and welfare organisations not otherwise represented, and 1 member may be co-opted to represent the interests of local professional groups not otherwise represented.
- 5. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and the provisions of clause 4 (1) and (n) (ii) of this notice, the members of the Wanganui Regional Community College Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years, but may from time to time be reappointed or reelected.
- (2) Any member co-opted by the Council shall be appointed for such term of office not exceeding 3 years as the Council thinks fit and may from time to time be reappointed.
- (3) Except in the case of a casual vacancy, or as otherwise provided in this notice, every member shall hold office until the 31st day of July in the third year after that member's appointment or election, and if on the 31st day of July the appointment or election of the successor has not been notified to the Council that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment or election is so notified.
 - (4) If any member:
 - (a Dies or resigns office by giving written notice addressed to the Council or to the Chairman or the Secretary thereof; or
 - (b) Is absent without leave from the meetings of the Council for 3 consecutive months; or
 - (c) While holding office becomes ineligible to remain a member by reason of disability, insolvency, neglect of duty or misconduct:

the casual vacancy so created shall be filled as soon as practicable thereafter by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected. The member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom that person replaces.

6. The powers of the Council shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof.

SCHEDULE

THE secondary schools referred to in paragraph (o) of clause 4 of this notice shall be the following:

Patea High School.
Rangitikei College.
Ruapehu College.
Saint Augustine's College, Wanganui.
Sacred Heart College, Wanganui.
Taihape College.
Turakina Maori Girls' College.
Wanganui Boys' College.
Wanganui Collegiate School.
Wanganui Girls' College.
Wanganui High School.
Waverley High School.
The Wellington Diocesan School for Girls (Nga Tawa).

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of August 1983.

M. L. WELLINGTON, Minister of Education.

The South Canterbury Community College Notice 1983

PURSUANT to section 69 of the Education Act 1964, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

NOTICE

- 1. (1) This notice may be cited as the South Canterbury Community College Notice 1983.
- (2) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- 2. In this notice, unless the context otherwise requires, "South Canterbury region" means that part of the South Island of New Zealand within the counties of McKenzie, Strathallan, Waimate, Waitaki, the boroughs of Geraldine, Temuka, Waimate, and the city of Timaru.
- 3. There shall be a Board of Governors to be known as the South Canterbury Community College Council which shall control the South Canterbury Community College.
- 4. The South Canterbury Community College Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) One member appointed by the Timaru City Council;
 - (b) One member appointed jointly by the Geraldine Borough Council, the Temuka Borough Council, the McKenzie County Council and the Strathallan County Council;
 - (c) One member appointed jointly by the Waimate Borough Council, the Waimate County Council and the Waitaki County Council;
 - (d) One member elected by the governing bodies of the secondary schools listed in the First Schedule to this notice;
 - (e) One member, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand, South Canterbury Province Inc;
 - (f) Two members, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, elected by the industrial, commercial and professional associations listed in the Second Schedule to this notice;
 - (g) Two members, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, appointed jointly by the Combined State Unions, Timaru Regional Committee and the Timaru District Trades Council;
 - (h) One member, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, appointed by the National Council of Women (South Canterbury Branch);
 - (i) One member, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, appointed by the Arowhenua Maori Committee to represent the interests of multi-cultural groups in the South Canterbury region;
 - (j) One member, who shall be resident in the South Canterbury region, appointed jointly by the South Canterbury Combined Arts Council and the Association for Continuing and Community Education, South Canterbury Branch;
 - (k) One member who shall be the principal of the South Canterbury Community College and who shall be a permanent appointment to the Council;
 - (I) One member, who shall be employed by the Council, elected by the full-time staff employed by the Council, and by those part-time tutors employed by the Council on a 0.5 pro rata basis or those who undertake at least 400 class contact hours per year, and by those allied staff who are employed for at least 20 hours per week by the Council, to represent the staff of the South Canterbury Community College;
 - (m) (i) One member, who shall be a student of the South Canterbury Community College, elected by students of the College;
 - (ii) The member elected pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office for a term of 1 year from the 1st day of April until the 31st day of March in the subsequent year, but if on that date the election of a successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that election is notified;
 - (n) Not more than 3 members co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it thinks fit.
- 5. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and the provisions of clause 4 (k) and (m) (ii) of this notice, the members of the South Canterbury Community College Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years, but may from time to time be reappointed or re-elected.