ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR

Darryl Jan Atkinson, B.COMM., is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

2nd Lieutenant A. S. Rongen to be Lieutenant with seniority from 31 May 1983 and effect from 22 June 1983.

6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

Captain (temp. Major) D. A. Mateer, E.D., to be Major with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983.

Captain Alan Richard Nestor is transferred from the Retired List in his present rank, with seniority from 12 June 1977 and effect from 12 June 1983.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority from 31 May 1983 and effect from 7 July 1983:

G. J. Dickson.

M. B. Raethel.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983:

John Webster Thatcher.

Martin Zink.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR

Frederick William Hofman is appointed to a commission in the rank of Honorary Lieutenant as Director of Music, with effect from 1 July 1983.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983:

Kennedy Robert Millward. Matthew Brian Paulin.

Kevin James Riordan.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Captain S. E. Wilson, M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 11 July 1983.

1st Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Lieutenant R. G. Keddell, M.B. CH.B., to be temp. Captain with effect from 26 April 1983.

2nd Lieutenant M. M. J. Vanderpyl, M.B., CH.B., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 31 March 1983 and Captain with seniority and effect from 1 April 1983.

2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Captain (temp. Major) A. J. Thurston, M.B., CH.B., to be Major with seniority from 17 August 1982 and effect from 1 July 1983.

3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983:

Andrew Carson Dunn. Karen Lesley Webster, DIP.N.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Lieutenant Barbara Lea Sinclair, B.D.S., 2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in her present rank with effect from 14 July 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain Class IV (temp. Chaplain Class III) Stuart Cranfield Grant, B.A., LL.B., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Chaplain Class III, with effect from 1 April 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Marie Lucretia Johnson, B.SC., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 May 1983.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters N.Z. Land Forces

Captain (temp. Major) John Stevenson Hayes is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, Headquarters N.Z. Land Forces, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 1 July 1983.

Headquarters 2nd Task Force Region

Anthony Paul Philp-Wright is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1983.

Headquarters 3rd Task Force Region

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. T. Blaikie to be Captain with seniority from 14 November 1982 and effect from 5 July 1983.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the date shown:

Colonels' List

Colonel John O'Bryen Horsford, O.B.E., 28 July 1982.

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain Robert Barker, 5 January 1982.

Lieutenant Ellen Marie Barrett, 6 August 1982.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Captain and Quartermaster Peter Frederick Bowers, 27 July 1983.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Captain Roger Beale Simmons, 1 April 1982.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant Colonel Bryan Plunkett Wells, 26 May 1983

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Berwyn Butson, 2 October 1982. Lieutenant Colonel David Lance Ogilvy, 16 April 1982.

Lieutenant Colonel Barrie Davidson Sinclair, 24 June 1982.

Major Ante Tony Erstich, 22 April 1982 (T/F).

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Major Garry Theodore Palenski, 16 May 1983.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Major Kevin John Dreyer, 7 August 1983.

Captain Allan Charles Lash, 14 January 1982.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Captain Ronald William Strugnell, 4 July 1983.

Captain and Quartermaster Graham Frederick Charles Milligan, 16 June 1982.

Royal N.Z. Army Education Corps

Captain Patrick George Cattermole, B.A., 10 December 1981.

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Captain Judith Helen Parker, 26 March 1981.

RETIRED LIST

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Captain A. R. Nestor is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 12 June 1983.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of September 1983.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

200 on A4

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 3 May 1983 and effect from 12 August 1983:

H89270 Bruce Antony Craies. H90374 David Roger Horrell.

L90607 Johannes Jacobus Peter Teutscher.

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) F. H. Parker to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 19 March 1983 and effect from 21 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant B. N. Phillips to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 15 August 1983.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) A. J. Beattie, B.SC., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 8 July 1983.

Flying Officer M. D. Parkes to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 4 July 1983.