The South-East Otago Reserves Foreshore and Waters Control Order 1983

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 26th day of September 1983

Present

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to sections 8A and 165 of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the South-East Otago Reserves Foreshore and Waters Control Order 1983.

(2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of October 1983.

2. Interpretation-In this order-

- "The Act" means the Harbours Act 1950: "The Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Crown Lands, Dunedin.
- "Foreshore" means such parts of the bed, shore, or banks of a tidal water as are covered and uncovered by the flow and ebb of the tide at ordinary spring tides.
- **3. Grant of Control**—There is hereby granted to the Commissioner for a period of 21 years from the 1st day of October 1983 and ending with the 30th day of September 2004.
- (a) Control of the foreshore described in the First Schedule to this order.
- (b) Control of the waters described in the Second Schedule of this order.

4. Powers of Commissioner-Subject to section 8A of the Act, the Commissioner may, in repsect of the foreshore and waters to which this order applies-

(a) By bylaw, do anything which a Harbour Board may do by bylaw under section 232 of the Act.

(b) Appoint harbourmasters, and other officers, and define or limit their powers and duties.

5. Revocations—The following orders are hereby revoked—

(a) The South-East Otago Scenic Board Foreshore Control Order 1974*

(b) Amending the South-East Otago Scenic Board Foreshore Con-trol Order 1974^{+*}.

*New Zealand Gazette 1974, p. 1154 †New Zealand Gazette 1980, p. 3753

FIRST SCHEDULE

ALL that area of foreshore commencing at the northernmost cor-ner of Section 10, Block V, Glenomaru Survey District, in Clutha County, Otago Land District and proceeding generally south-easterly and south-westerly to a point in line with the northernmost boundary of Section 23, Block V, Glenomaru Survey District.

All that area of foreshore commencing at a point in line with the northern boundary of part Section 4, Block V, Glenomaru Survey District, in Clutha County, Otago Land District and proceeding generally southerly and south-westerly to the mouth of the Catlins River, Clutha County, Otago Land District.

All that area of foreshore commencing at a point in line with the southern boundary of part Section 6, Block I, Woodland Survey District, in Clutha County, Otago Land District and proceeding generally south-westerly to the mouth of Longbeach Creek in Clutha County, Otago Land District.

SECOND SCHEDULE

ALL that area of water fronting the foreshore herein before described in the First Schedule, and all outlying islands, reefs, stacks and islets, to a distance of 200 metres measured from the mean high water mark.

The above areas described in the First and Second Schedules are as more particularly shown on plan MD 16174, deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.O.T. 54/14/17)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officient of the New Zentre defense. officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

BRIGADIERS' LIST

Brigadier A. C. Hamilton, O.B.E., A.D.C., is re-engaged until 28 December 1986.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Scott Bradley Read lapses with effect from 13 August 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain G. D. Harris to be temp. Major with effect from 29 August 1983

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster B. J. Knowles to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 30 July 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Captain and Quartermaster William Mowatt is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 29 August 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Licutenant Colonel Edward Breton Bestic is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 23 August 1983.

Captain (*temp.* Major) P. J. Fry to be Major with seniority from 14 August 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

Captain (*acting* Major) R. B. Whitehead to be temp. Major with effect from 1 September 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster K. W. Connor to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 30 July 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster R. L. Sturley to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 30 July 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF TRANSPORT

Lieutenant Colonel Anthony William Ancell is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 2 September 1983.

Captain (temp. Major) D. A. Armstrong is re-engaged until 4 November 1984.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster J. H. Smith to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 30 July 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) John Allan Dixon is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain with effect from 3 September 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) and Quartermaster F. I. Levien to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 14 August 1983 and effect from 25 August 1983.

Lieutenant R. J. Easton, B.C.A., to be temp. Captain with effect from 1 August 1983.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL

ENGINEERS Lieutenant S. J. Howard is re-engaged until 16 April 1993.

Supernumarary List

The engagement of Captain and Quartermaster L. V. Kermeen is extended to 11 November 1985.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain Class III Franco Bruce Ralph, B.A. (Presbyterian) is posted to the Retired List with effect from 22 September 1983.

ROYAL N.Z. MILITARY POLICE

Captain Neal Eric Garnett is transferred from the Special Service List, Territorial Force, on a fixed term engagement in his present rank, with seniority and effect from 1 September 1983.