Gladys Mary, Mrs REID, of Te Aroha. For services to farming. John Bagrie Urwin ROY, J.P., of Clinton, South Otago. For ser-

vices to the community.

Sydney Ernest SCALES, of Dunedin. For services as a cartoonist.

Horace Raymond SKELTON, J.P., of Huapai. For services to the fruit growing industry and the community.

Tasman Alister SMITH, of Havelock North. For services to the

community.

Dudley Leonard STOREY, of Auckland. For services to rowing. Valerie Bessie, Mrs TARRANT, of Hawera. For services to the Women's Division of Federated Farmers.

Melvin Charles TAYLOR, of Wellington. Lieutenant Colonel,

Salvation Army. For services to the Salvation Army and the community.

William Henry WALKER, of Gore. For services to the com-

munity.

Herbert WILLIAMSON, of Wellington. Assistant Secretary (Local Government), Department of Internal Affairs.

Dr Raymond Victor James WINDSOR, of Herts. England. For humanitarian and medical services to the people of India.

Ronald Leslie WINTER, J.P., of Auckland. For services as a Justice of the People. tice of the Peace

#### M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Robert Albert ADAMS, of Patea. For services to the community. Miss Barbara BAXTER, of Wanganui. For services to sport. Charles Henry BIRD, of Wanganui. Superintendent, Wanganui **Prison**, 1978

Peter James BLAKE, of Auckland. For services to ocean yacht

racing.
Miss Muriel Goodwin BROWN, of Auckland. For services to

surf life-saving.

Wendy Lee, Mrs BROWN, of Wellsford. For services to athletics.

Dr William John Cowie CRISP, of Dargaville. For services to the community.

Clement Stanley CURRIE, J.P., of Taupo. For services to local

government and the community.

Miss Neroli Susan FAIRHALL, of Christchurch. For services to archery and the disabled.

Ivy Alma, Mrs FOUBISTER, of Auckland. For services to the Plunket Society and the community.

Russell Douglas FULLER, of Kaikohe. For services to local government and the community.

Miss Grace Ruth GAMBLE, of Auckland. For services to the community.

community.

Karen Ross Margret, Mrs GLASGOW, of Nelson. For services

to the community.

Thomas Leslie HARVEY, of Auckland. For services to the community

Arthur John Francis HEALY, of Christchurch, For services to

agriculture.

Michael Garnstone HITCHINGS, of Dunedin. For services to the New Zealand Historic Places Trust and the library profes-

Sylvester Thomas MAHONY, of Lower Hutt. For services to the

community.

George Brington MALCOLM, of Christchurch. Inspecting Landscape Architect, Ministry of Works and Development, Christchurch 1975–82.

Emarina, Mrs MANUEL, of Wairoa. For services to the Maori people.

Henry Gordon MARKHAM, of Raumati Beach. For services to

the advertising industry and the community.

Ray McCallum SALISBURY, of Upper Hutt. Assistant Director (Field Services), Animal Health Division, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, 1972–81.

William Joseph SHORT, J.P., of Pukekohe. For services to sport

and the community.

Frank SUMNER, of Wellington. Executive Catering Manager (Ballamy's) Tourist Hotel Corporation of New Zealand.

Digby Fergusson TAYLOR, of Auckland. For services to ocean

yacht racing.

Frederick James VILLIS, J.P., of Port Ohope. For services to the community.

# THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER

## Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

Vivian William BOYES, of Invercargill.
The Reverend Robert Frederick CLEMENT, of Auckland Ashton Graham KELLY, J.P., of Whangarei.
William PROCTOR, of Pukekohe.

## **Q.S.O.**

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

Arnold Dean BALDWIN, of Auckland.
William John Prideaux COOK, M.B.E., of Tawa. Assistant Secretary (Internation Finance Consultant), The Treasury).

John William GOW, J.P., of Whakatane. Harold Bernard HEWETT, of Lower Hutt. Principal Private Sec-

Harold Bernard HEWETT, of Lower Hutt. Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister, 1978—.

Thomas Martin KIMBLE, of Upper Hutt.
Charles Seymour LUNEY, of Christchurch.
Dr John Woodward MANDENO, of Te Kuiti. Superintendent, Te Kuiti Hospital.

Ronald Gordon MILLARD, of Lower Hutt. Chairman, Rural Banking and Finance Corporation, 1974—82.

Miss Helen May RYBURN, of Auckland.

Thomas Nestor WATSON, J.P., of Waitara.

# THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

## Q.S.M.

Q.S.M.

Miss Joan Helen ANDREW, of Wellington.
Merle Iola, Mrs APPS, of Tokoroa.
Miss Dorothy CARSON, of Oamaru.
Abigail Grace, Mrs DAY, of Auckland.
Diana Winifred, Mrs FOLEY, of Eastbourne.
Marjorie Axford, Mrs JONKERS, J.P., of Auckland.
Miss Joan Margaret LEES, of Nelson.
Lucy Elizabeth, Mrs LINDSAY, of Invercargill.
Ina Beatrice, Mrs LONDON, of Rotorua.
Thelma Joyce, Mrs MACDONALD, of Christchurch.
Beatrice Aileen, Mrs McINTYRE, of Wairoa.
Frank MacKINNON, of Wellington.
Beeban Annadale, Mrs McKNIGHT, J.P., of Rangitikei.
Marjorie Beatrice, Mrs MORGAN, of Napier.
John Morris Everness NEWMAN, of Arrowtown.
Marcia, Mrs PROCTER, of Shannon.
Miss (Niria) Yvonne RUST, of Whangarei.
Harold Stephen SIVYER, of Palmerston North.
Sydney Harold William TORKINGTON, of Auckland.
Miss Kristin ZAMBUCKA, of Hawaii, U.S.A.

#### THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR PUBLIC SERVICES

#### O.S.M.

Q.S.M.
Thomas Redmond BOURKE, J.P., of Eltham.
Leicester William Charles CHATFIELD, J.P., of Waitoa.
The Reverend Father John Patrick EGDEN, S.M., of Wellington.
Miss Lucy Tui Hampton FLOWER, of Auckland.
George GROOMBRIDGE, of Masterton.
Dorothy Turner, Mrs HORSFIELD, of Wellington. Lately, Sister-in-Charge, Audiology Department, Wellington Hospital.
KJeffrey MacGlashan INGLIS, of Motueka.
Grace Kerehi, Mrs MAXWELL, of Opotiki.
Evelyn Rose, Mrs MOODY, of Christchurch.
Joan, Mrs MOORE, of Auckland.
Howard Gordon McGOWAN, of Auckland.
Catherine Shirley Ellen, Mrs PAINE, of Dunedin.
Roka, Mrs PAORA, of Te Kaha, Bay of Plenty.
Miss Ruby Ellen PIERSON, of Nelson.
Florence May, Mrs SANDISON, of Kaitaia.
Donald William Noel SAUNDERS, of Tokoroa.
Laurence Ernest SMITH, J.P., of Christchurch.
Ralph James WILLOCKS, of Balclutha.

# THE QUEEN'S FIRE SERVICE MEDAL FOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE

# Q.F.S.M.

Louis Harvey JILLINGS, Lately, District Commander and Chief Fire Officer, Hastings Fire Brigade, New Zealand Fire Service. Trevor Garnett THOMSON, District Commander and Chief Fire Officer, Papatoetoe Volunteer Fire Brigade, New Zealand Fire

Mervin James TOPP, Chief Fire Officer, Picton Volunteer Fire

Brigade, New Zealand Fire Service.

Richard John GILLESPIE, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Cust Volunteer Fire Brigade, New Zealand Fire Service.

## POLICE LIST

## THE MOST EXCELLENT ORDER OF THE BRITISH **EMPIRE**

## O.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Officer of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order: Kenneth George SYKES, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, New Zealand Police.

# THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR PUBLIC SERVICES Q.S.M.

James Haldane BEATON, Detective Sergeant, New Zealand Police. Leo Francis DALY, Senior Constable, New Zealand Police.