Lieutenant Commander R. J. Martin, V.R.D., M.A., to be acting Commander with effect from 31 January 1983 and temp. Commander with effect from 8 February 1983.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander A. G. Clarke, B.SC.,

is extended to 16 January 1986.

Lieutenant Commander R. K. Longley, N.Z.C.E.(MECH.), to be Commander with seniority and effect from 7 January 1983.

Lieutenant Commander D. Reid to be temp. Commander with effect from 13 December 1982 and his appointment is extended to 5 May 1989.

Lieutenant Commander K. J. Robertson to be acting Commander with effect from 12 January 1983 and temp. Commander with effect from 14 January 1983.

Lieutenant Commander Roger Deane Foley is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 20 December 1986, with effect from 21 December 1982.

Lieutenant M. D. Rashleigh to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 3 January 1983.

Lieutenant D. R. Johnston, N.Z.C.E.(ELECT.), to be acting Lieutenant Commander with effect from 13 December 1982, temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 20 December 1982, and Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 6 January 1983.

Lieutenant C. Quincey, M.B.E., to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 31 January 1983.

Lieutenant G. Clough to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 28 October 1982.

Lieutenant David Leith Sherriff, B.E.(ELECT.), is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 4 January 1987, with effect from 5 January 1983.

Lieutenant Nicholas Graham Flegg, B.S.C.(HONS.); the notice published in the *Gazette*, 20 January 1983, No. 1, page 3, is cancelled and the following substituted: "Nicholas Graham Flegg, B.S.C.(HONS.), is reappointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant with seniority from 19 November 1975 and effect from 4 October 1982."

Lieutenant G. R. Buchan to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 28 October 1982.

Lieutenant Stephen John Herd is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 17 December 1986, with effect from 18 December 1982

Lieutenant G. R. Millar, N.Z.C.E.(PROD.), to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 28 October 1982.

Lieutenant K. G. Black, N.Z.C.E.(MECH.), to be acting Lieutenant Commander with effect from 13 December 1982 and temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 20 December 1982.

Sub Lieutenant M. Jacobs, B.E.(MECH.), N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Lieutenant with effect from 1 January 1983.

Sub Lieutenant A. J. Parr, B.A., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1983.

Sub Lieutenant W. J. Tucker, B.E.(MECH.), to be temp. Lieutenant

with effect from 1 January 1983.

The seniority of Sub Lieutenant P. G. Batcheler, B.A., is postdated to 1 July 1982.

Sub Lieutenant P. Sherborne to be temp. Lieutenant with effect from 1 January 1983.

The appointments of the following Sub Lieutenants (on prob.), are confirmed:

A. R. Edwards.
N. W. Fitzgerald, B.MUS.
Sub Lieutenant Simon William Nighy is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 3 January 1987, with effect from 4 January 1983.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) A. C. Winstanley, B.SC(TECH.), is confirmed, and extended to 13 January 1987.

The following Ensigns to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1983:

R. G. Blundell.

L. D. L. Carter. S. K. Hill.

O. R. Hobbs. R. J. Kerr.

S. D. Lowther.
A. J. O. Martin.
D. J. R. McDougall.
B. J. Tunu.

A. G. A. Watts.

Midshipman (acting Ensign) D. T. Adams to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1979, and Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1981 and effect from 18 December 1982.

Midshipman (acting Ensign) N. I. Holdgate to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1980, and Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from 18 December 1982.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983:

M. S. Christison. K. D. F. Hogan.

The following Midshipmen (acting Ensign) to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1981, acting Sub Lieutenant with effect from 18 December 1982, and Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1983:

J. E. Ross.

I. A. Wood.

Midshipman T. G. Murphy to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983.

Midshipman S. S. Barrett to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from 14 December 1982.

The appointment of Midshipman Jamie Clark is terminated with effect from 18 December 1982.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983:

D. F. Conway. N. A. Cook. A. A. Fenton.

The appointment of Midshipman Malcolm David Frew is terminated with effect from 14 December 1982.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983:

M. J. Gibson. T. R. Glass. A. P. Hayes. P. D. Heron.

The appointment of Midshipman Anthony Dominic Kidd is terminated with effect from 7 December 1982.

Midshipman P. A. King to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from 14 December 1982.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983:

E. L. C. Neumayr. B. F. Neville.

The appointment of Midshipman Nigel Joseph William Sheeran is terminated with effect from 18 December 1982.

The following Midshipmen to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from the date shown:

H. G. Sharp, 14 December 1982.M. J. Smillie, 7 January 1983.J. A. Swift, 14 December 1982.

Midshipman L. D. Turrell to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1983.

The following are appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Midshipman, with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 6 January 1983, terminating on 5 January 2003:

David John Chessum. Geoffrey Michael Everson. Matthew John Harward. Peter William Kempster. Dean Philip Kirton. Gregory Russell MacDonald. Euan Douglas McLeish. Philip James Muldoon.

Nicholas Timothy Simon Quinn.
Donald Robert Smith.
Paul Andrew Taylor.
Patrick Francis Teagle.
Adrian Michael Walker. John Roland Woodall. Robert William Yeoman.

The following are appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Midshipman, with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 6 January 1983; terminating on the date shown:

F24017 Christopher Cain, APPMF(T), 3 January 2002. T23546 Derek Thomas Monaghan, APPRF, 6 January 2000. H24157 Andrew Graham Nuttall, OSA, 9 February 2002. T24167 Timothy Rory Rynd, OSA, 9 February 2002.

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL RESERVE

Kenneth Paul Searell is appointed to the RNZNR in the rank of Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 1 January 1979 and effect from 27 November 1982; terminating on 26 November 1997.

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander G. J. Hales, v.R.D., is extended to 4 April 1987.

The appointment of Lieutenant (on prob.), S. K. Wootton is confirmed.

Michael Arthur Barnett is appointed to the RNZNVR in the rank of Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 1 January 1981 and effect from 1 January 1983; terminating on 31 December 2002.

Garth James Smith Cooper, M.B., CH.B., is appointed to the Inactive List of the RNZNVR in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant