(on prob.), with seniority from 1 January 1981 and effect from 1 January 1983; terminating on 31 December 2002.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) A. W. Emerson, B.A., is confirmed in the rank of Sub Lieutenant.

The appointments of the following Ensigns (on prob.) are confirmed:

A. L. D. McLean. P. B. Arnold.

The appointments of the following Ensigns (on prob.), (temp. Sub Lieutenant) are confirmed in the rank of Ensign:

D. A. I. Brent, LL.B.

D. J. R. Gate.

The appointments of the following Ensigns (on prob.), are confirmed:

P. J. Gibson.

J. M. Sheppard. A. T. Smyth.

The following to be Ensign (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 1 January 1983, and are appointed to the RNZNVR until 31 December 2002:

Q104595 John Garth Warwick Adams, TASCR. N102766 Glen Hartley Burt, OSCR. Y102763 Kevin Henry Duckworth, OSEA. L100704 Gordon Forbes, ABSEA E106494 Margaret Anne Giles, ASCC(W). G106473 Steven Lloyd Gray, OSEA.

D100766 Desley Claire Hancock, TASSA(W).

C100673 Richard Bruce Hickman, ASCR. H104611 Robyn Jane Loversidge, TASCR(W)

B104628 David Craig Stewart, B.E.(ELECT.), OLEF. L102751 Jeanette Margaret Verner, ASSA(W). V106488 Wilhelm Andreas von Biel, OSEA.

V100713 Stephen Lyn Wackrow, ABSEA

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Lieutenant N. Flegg, B.SC.(HONS.), is reappointed to the Active List of the RNZN with effect from 4 October 1982.

The period of service of Midshipman Jens Douglas Petersen on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from 23 April 1981.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

The period of service of the following officers on the Emergency List of the RNZNVR is terminated with effect from 1 December 1982:

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander Deryck William Charters, M.B., CH.B., D.OBST., M.R.C.O.G., F.R.A.C.O.G.

Surgeon Lieutenant Eugene Sherry, M.B., CH.B.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of March 1983.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Group Captain J. J. Gordon, O.B.E., to be temp. Air Commodore with effect from 10 January 1983.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 3 December 1982:

D89013 Hamish John Kim, 15 October 1981

R89071 Rodney James Fortune, 15 January 1982. V89351 David Post, 15 July 1982. T89487 David Bratton Saggs, 15 July 1982.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 3 December 1982:

M90171 David Colin Houghton, B.E., 24 February 1982. C90300 Timothy Deidrick William Lang, 24 August 1982. N90172 Andrew Ravenswood McGuire, 24 August 1982. P90173 Paul Franklyn Anton Muysert, 24 August 1982. D90301 James Andrew Osborne, 24 August 1982. M774467 Mark Gerard Woodhouse, 24 August 1982.

Promotions

Wing Commander R. J. Klitscher, D.F.C., A.F.C., B.SC., to be Group Captain with seniority and effect from 5 January 1983.

Wing Commander D. W. Pawson, A.F.C., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 7 December 1982, temp. Group Captain with effect from 14 December 1982, and Group Captain with seniority and effect from 31 January 1983.

Flight Lieutenant W. E. Matthews to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 2 February 1983.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

S. J. Moore, 13 January 1983.
D. J. Creed, 5 February 1983.
P. J. Hedley, 5 February 1983.
S. A. Mackenzie, B.SC., 17 February 1983.
The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 15 January 1983:

J. M. Cummings. I. D. Macgregor.

N. Thomas.
D. A. Whitaker.

Pilot Officer P. G. Simpson to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 5 February 1983.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader M. D. Crang is extended to 16 February 1992.

The commissions of the following Flight Lieutenants are extended to the date shown:

W. R. Bell, 8 January 1993

R. A. Jannesen, 7 January 1994.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of the following Squadron Leaders are extended to the date shown:

H. H. Francis, 29 September 1990. G. M. Cochran, 17 December 1988. B. R. Anderson, 4 February 1986.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointment

Officer Cadet F89015 Robert Ian Fyfe is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 15 July 1981 and effect from 15 November 1982.

Promotions

Flying Officer R. J. Doggett to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 5 February 1983.

Pilot Officer G. P. Ramsbottom-Isherwood, N.Z.C.E., to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 3 February 1983.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader B. G. M. Palmer, M.B.E., are extended to 24 September 1987.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Trevor Norman de Stigter is transferred to the Retired List 'B' with effect from 24 December 1982.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Officer Cadet P89690 Susan Chadwick is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 15 November 1982.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant N. P. Bond to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 17 January 1983.

Flying Officer B. A. Urquhart to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1982.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant D. M. Frowen, B.A., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 14 February 1983.

Promotions

Supply Division

Flying Officer M. T. Houlihan to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 19 February 1983.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) P. J. Kiernan to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 19 February 1983.

Special Duties Division

The following Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from the date shown:

M. A. Lott, 30 January 1983.