#### ENGINEER BRANCH

#### Appointments

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 15 November 1982:

U89350 Sean Antony Gordonstone Bainbridge, 15 July 1982. X89077 Allen Arthur Svendsen, 15 October 1981.

E80711 Flight Sergeant Ian James Fraser is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 21 February 1981 and effect from 7 March 1983.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 21 February 1983:
D85793 Corporal Andrew Peter Margetts.
Q88150 Corporal Michael John Nicholls.

### **Promotions**

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. R. A. Gordon, N.Z.C.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant M. F. Neil to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 14 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) G. J. Sibbald, N.Z.C.E. to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 14 April 1983.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant I. P. Wightman, N.Z.C.E., is extended to 27 December 1993.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointments

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant D. J. Salter to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 16 December 1982.

F83173 Warrant Officer Allan Raymond Muntz is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 21 February 1983 and effect from 7 March 1983.

S89647 Officer Cadet Donna Leigh Baker is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 15 October 1982.

Q83941 Flight Sergeant Christopher William Anderson is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 21 February 1981 and effect from 7 March 1983.

Supply Division T89648 Officer Cadet Andrew Joseph Curnow is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect

from 15 October 1982.

N90149 Aircraftman Alison Donna Clemow is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 21 February 1983.

Special Duties Division

D80825 Warrant Officer Michael John Clark is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 21 February 1983 and effect from 7 March 1983.

M87089 Corporal Michael Hugh Magill is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 21 February 1983.

# **Promotions**

Supply Division

Squadron Leader W. M. Chappell to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 10 February 1983.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. M. Ellis to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 13 March 1983.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) B. A. Urquhart to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 29 March 1983.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader M. B. Knowles to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 4 April 1983, and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 8 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) J. B. Anderson to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 9 April 1983.

Flying Officer P. W. Baylis to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 29 March 1983.

The following temp. Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 29 March 1983:

J. E. Flook.

E. R. Macdonald.

# Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

# Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) J. M. Hawke, B.A., are extended to 30 March 1983.

# Transfer to Retired List

# Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Charles Vernor William Forbes is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 9 March 1983.

# Retirements

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Peter Thomas Cleary is retired with effect from 18 February 1983.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) John Martin Hawke, B.A., is retired in the rank of Wing Commander with effect from 31

#### **EDUCATION BRANCH**

#### Promotion

Pilot Officer J. E. Leslie, DIPTCHG., to be Flying Officer with seniority from 30 November 1980 and effect from 4 March 1983.

### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

### Extension of Commission

The commission of Wing Commander A. N. White, M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., is extended to 19 June 1986.

Flight Lieutenant L. R. Upjohn is transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve until 6 April 1987, with effect from 7 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant B. R. Clark is transferred to the Regular Air Force with effect from 18 January 1983.

The following officers are retired with effect from the date shown: Wing Commander Hugh Cyril William Stringer, M.B., CH.B., D.T.M. AND H.(EDIN.), F.R.C.P.(EDIN.), F.A.C.D., F.R.A.C.P., PH.D., 27 February 1983.

Wing Commander Bruce Nicholas Tunley, B.A., 21 February 1983. Squadron Leader Howard Stuart Roger Saunders, 30 April 1983. Squadron Leader Russell Hugh Woolcock, M.A.(HONS.), DIP.TCHG., 1 March 1983.

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Stuart Carson Jolly, M.B., CH.B., 7 June

Flight Lieutenant Barry Raymond Watts, 6 March 1983.

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Jeffery Mayer, 14 January 1983.

Flight Lieutenant Dorothy Lorraine Creighton, 11 April 1983.

Flight Lieutenant James Clarke Davey, M.AGR.SC., 2 April 1983. Flying Officer Lesley Ann Carroll, 9 February 1983.

Flying Officer Caspar Petris Aleydis van den Broek, B.E., 22 February 1983.

Pilot Officer Christopher Graham Golding, N.Z.C.S., 11 April 1983. Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of May 1983.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

PURSUANT to sections 27 (1) and 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

# **ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY**

# CHIEF OF DEFENCE STAFF

Vice Admiral Sir Neil Dudley Anderson, K.B.E., C.B., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 17 April 1983.

# CHIEF OF NAVAL STAFF

Rear Admiral Keith Michael Saull, C.B., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 17 April 1983.

Commodore C. J. Steward to be acting Rear Admiral with effect from 13 April 1983; Rear Admiral with seniority and effect from 16 April 1983 and is appointed Chief of Naval Staff for a period of 2½ years.

The appointment of Commodore Eric Robinson Ellison, C.B.E., is extended to 4 April 1983, and is placed on the Retired List with effect from 5 April 1983.

The appointment of Chaplain P. Cronin, O.B.E., is extended to 31 January 1984.

Captain L. J. Tempero to be acting Commodore with effect from 9 April 1983, and Commodore with seniority and effect from 11 April 1983.

Captain K. J. Lewis, O.B.E., to be acting Commodore with effect from 11 April 1983, and Commodore with seniority and effect from 16 April 1983.

Commander (acting Captain) I. M. McGibbon, O.B.E., relinquishes the acting rank of Captain with effect from 28 March 1983.