3. (1) The Manawatu Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Wellington Regional Employers' Association Incorporated (Manawatu-Wairarapa Branch), one to represent the interests of the construction industry in the Manawatu region and one to represent the interests of the engineering industry in the Manawatu Region;
- (b) One member appointed by the Palmerston North Chamber of Commerce to represent the interests of commerce in the Manawatu Region;
- (c) One member jointly appointed by the Palmerston North Hospital Board, the Wairarapa Hospital Board, the Wanganui Hospital Board and the Dannevirke Hospital Board, the Royal New Zealand Plunket Society (Palmerston North Branch Incorporated), the New Zealand Medical Association (Manawatu Division) and the Medical Officer of Health, Palmerston North Health District;
- (d) One member appointed by the Manawatu District Trades Council;
- (e) One member appointed by the Combined State Unions, Manawatu Regional Committee;
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Nurses' Association Incorporated (Manawatu Branch);
- (g) One member jointly appointed by the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Incorporated (Manawatu Branch), the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (Incorporated) (Manawatu Branch), the New Zealand Institute of Architects (Western Branch), the New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (Manawatu Branch) and the New Zealand Institute of Agricultural Science (Incorporated) Manawatu Section.
- (h) One member appointed by the Palmerston North City Corporation;
- (i) One member appointed by the Council of Massey University;
- (j) One member being a principal of one of the schools listed in the Schedule to this notice to be elected by the principals of those schools;
- (k) One member who shall be the principal of the Manawatu Polytechnic, who shall be a permanent appointment to the Council;
- (1) One member who shall be elected by the full-time staff employed by the Manawatu Polytechnic Council and who shall be a full-time tutor employed by the Council;
- (m) (i) One member who shall be a student of the Manawatu Polytechnic and who shall be appointed by the Manawatu Polytechnic Students' Association for a term of office of one year;
- (ii) The member appointed pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office from the 1st day of February until the 31st day of January in the subsequent year, and if on that date the appointment of a successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment is notified;
- (n) Not more than 3 members to be co-opted by the Council itself if and when it thinks fit.

(2) Any salaried member of the Manawatu Polytechnic staff is ineligible for appointment to Council unless they are a member of Council or elected to Council as provided for in paragraphs (k) or (l) of subclause (l) of this clause.

4. The Regional Superintendent of Education, Wellington, or his deputy shall be an associate member of the Manawatu Polytechnic Council and shall be entitled to be present at any meeting of the Council or of any committee of the Council and to speak at the meeting but he shall not be entitled to vote at any such meeting.

5. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and to the provisions of clause 3 (l) (k) and m (i) of this notice every member of the Manawatu Polytechnic Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years but may, from time to time, be reappointed or re-elected. (2) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in subclause (l) of this clause, the term of office of the following members shall be determined as follows:

- (a) The 4 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (1) (a), (b), and (c) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of May 1985;
- (b) The 4 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (1) (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of May 1986;
- (c) The 2 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (1) (h) and (i) and the 2 members elected pursuant to clause 3 (1) (j) and (l) of this notice shall hold office until the 31st day of May 1987.

Thereafter, except in the case of a casual vacancy or as otherwise provided in this notice, every member shall hold office until the 31st day of May in the third year after that member's election or appointment, and if on the 31st day of May the election or appointment of the successor has not been notified to the Council that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that election or appointment is so notified.

(3) If any member dies, or resigns his office by writing under his hand addressed to the Council or the Chairman or the Secretary thereof, or is absent without leave from the meetings of the Council for 3 consecutive months, or while holding office becomes for any reason ineligible to remain a member, the casual vacancy so created shall be filled, as soon as practicable thereafter, by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected and the member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom he replaces.

(4) The powers of the Council shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof.

6. The Palmerston North Technical Institute Notice 1976* and the Manawatu Polytechnic Notice 1982† are hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Palmerston North Boys' High School. Palmerston North Girls' High School. Freyberg High School. Queen Elizabeth College. Awatapu College. Feilding Agricultural High School. Rangitikei College. Manawatu College. Dannevirke High School. Otaki College. Horowhenua College. Waiopehu College. Hato Paora College. Hato Paora College. Wellington Diocesan School for Girls (Nga Tawa). St Peters College, Palmerston North. Turakina Maori Girls College.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of May 1983.

M. L. WELLINGTON, Minister of Education.

*New Zealand Gazette, No. 78, 15 July 1976, p. 1648 †New Zealand Gazette, No. 1, 20 January 1983, p. 25.

Central Institute of Technology Notice 1980, Amendment No. 2

PURSUANT to section 69 of the Education Act 1964, the Minister of Education hereby gives the following notice.

NOTICE

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Central Institute of Technology Notice 1980, Amendment No. 2, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Central Institute of Technology Notice 1980* (hereinafter referred to as the principal notice).

(b) This notice shall come into force on its date of publication in the *Gazette*.

2. Clause 4, subclause (3) of the principal notice is hereby amended by deleting the word "January" and substituting "August".

3. Clause 3, subclause (f) of the principal notice is hereby amended by altering "New Zealand Institute of Engineers" to *read* "The Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (Inc.)".

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of May 1983.

M. L. WELLINGTON, Minister of Education.

*New Zealand Gazette, 22 January 1981, No. 4, page 96.

16/1

16

Notice of Intention to Vary Hours of Sale of Liquor at Licensed Premises—Wellington Licensing Committee

PURSUANT to section 221A and 221B of the Sale of Liquor Act 1962, as amended by section 22 (14) of the Sale of Liquor Amendment Act 1976, I, Stanley James Callahan, Secretary for Justice, hereby give notice that the Wellington Licensing Committee on 27 April 1983 made an order authorising variations of the usual hours of trading for the licensed premises known as the Hutt Park Hotel.

To the intent that on days other than those on which licensed premises are required to be closed for the sale of liquor to the general public the hours for the opening and closing of the said premises shall be as follows:

(a) On any Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday— Opening at 11 o'clock in the morning and closing at 10 o'clock in the evening.