Arnold Thomas CLEMENTS, of Matamata. For services to returned servicemen and the community.

Charles Frederick COLLINS, of Christchurch. For services to cricket.

Morton William COUTTS, of Auckland. For services to the brewing industry.

Reginald Clifford DUNLOP, J.P., of Pukekohe. For services to farming and the community.

John Douglas GERARD, of Whangarei. For services to the legal profession and the arts.

Dr Erin Michael George GRIFFIN, of Wellington. For services as a general practitioner and to the community.

The Reverend Dr Adam Maitland Lang MacFARLAN, M.C., of Auckland. For services to education and the community.

Ronald George McGREGOR, J.P., of Auckland. For services to rugby league and the community.

Guy NGAN, of Lower Hutt. For services to the arts.

Frances Kathleen Louisa, Mrs ORTON, J.P., of Christchurch. For services to the community.

David Ian PEZARO, J.P., of Auckland. For services to the community.

Denis Bernard SAUNDERS, J.P., of Whangarei. For services to the community.

Peter Joseph SMITH, of Eltham. For services to the Taranaki Hospital Board and the community.

Robert Keith SOMERVILLE, of Kamo, Northland. For services to agriculture.

Ralph Gilbert WINWOOD, of Gore. For services to local government.

#### M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Hilda Bessie, Mrs ALLEN, of Gisborne. For services to nursing and the community.

Frank Albert BRITTAIN, of Palmerston North. For services to aviation.

Brian Henry BULL, of Gisborne. For services to education and the community.

Thomas Reynolds CLARKSON, of Wellington. For services to amateur radio.

Henry Reginald CLAY, of Auckland. For services to handicapped children.

Russell Thomas DAVIS, of Otorohanga. For services to farming and the community.

Thomas Langley HALL, of Wellington. Lately, Assistant Director (Production), Dairy Division, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Mona Hinemoa, Mrs HOOD, of Queenstown. For services to the community.

David Allen LOW, J.P., of Hawera. For services to the community. Cecily Margaret, Mrs MACCOLL, of Christchurch. For services to the Save the Children Fund.

William Noel MACKIE, of Auckland. For services to horse racing. Peter Wilson MAPLESDEN, of Nelson. Conservator of Forests, New Zealand Forest Service, Nelson, 1960–82.

Miss Jean Halliday MOORE, of Dunedin. For services to life saving and the community.

Eugene Denis MORGAN, of Tauranga. For services to the Maori people and the community.

Alvyn Arthur PENNINGTON, of Raumati Beach. For services to cycle racing.

Ronald Thomas SMALL, of Lake Tekapo. For services to search and rescue operations.

Louis Desmond SMITH, of Turangi. For services to the community.

John Joseph STEWART, of Bulls. Principal, Flock House Farm Training Institute, since 1969.

George Maling TOWNSHEND, J.P., of Napier. For services to the community.

Miss Elma Frances TURNER, of Nelson. For services to the community.

Lionel Allan Cromwell WARNER, of Auckland. For services to astronomy.

Colin Michael WHITE, J.P., of Whakatane. For services to the community.

Bryan George WILLIAMS, of Auckland. For services to rugby. Ivan George WILSON, of Napier. For services to surf lifesaving and social welfare.

# THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER

# O.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

Bernard BOOKMAN, of Auckland,

Philippa Marjorie, Mrs CORKILL, of Wellington.

Poul Rudolph GNATT, of Oslo, Norway.

Manuele Palehau LEONE, of Nukunonu, Tokelau.

Group Captain Thomas Alexander McLeod MORGAN, A.F.C., R.N.Z.A.F. (Retd), of Wellington.

Hare REIHANA, of Kawakawa.

Bruce YOUNG, of Wellington.

#### O.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

William Stewart AITKEN, J.P., of Geraldine.

Dr Neil Albert ALGAR, of Matamata. Mayor of Matamata.

Brian Harrison BURTON, of Hamilton.

Henry William Joseph FOX, of Christchurch. Chairman, Radiotherapy and Oncology Services, North Canterbury Hospital Board, since 1977.

Helen Lavinia, Mrs GARRETT, of Christchurch.

Miss Joan Grace Eveline KERR, of Wellington. Lately, Chairman, Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council.

Charles Laurence RAU, of Gisborne.

Archie Dick WILSON, of Waitara. Mayor of Waitara.

# THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

### Q.S.M.

Isabella Martha, Mrs ADAMS, of Dargaville.

Christabella May, Mrs ALLEY, of Gisborne.

James Purcell ATKINSON, of Hokitika.

Barbara Jean, Mrs BLACKIE, of Christchurch.

Rex William BONIFACE, of Invercargill.

Isabella Jane, Mrs BRYANT, of Hamilton.

Miss Alice Jean BUCHANAN, of Waipukurau.

George Gardiner COCHRAN, of Winton, Southland.

Gilbert Francis CORNWALL, of Auckland.

Percy Henry CROUGH, of Hokitika.

Winnie Marion, Mrs DRAPER, of Martinborough.

Henry Richard EVANS, of Wellington.

James GARDINER, of Matamata.

Maud, Mrs HALL, of Hastings.

Doreen Lucy, Mrs HUMPHRIES, of Edendale, Southland.

Helen Alice, Mrs McKENZIE, of Upper Hutt.

Thomas Patrick MARTIN, of Wairoa.

Hilda Emily, Mrs OSBORNE, of Wanganui.

Reginald David POOL, of Auckland.

Edna Martha, Mrs PRESCOTT, of Auckland.

Lettice Mary, Mrs SCHMIDT, of Wanganui.

Emily Rangitiaria, Mrs SCHUSTER, of Whakarewarewa.

Ngaire Enid, Mrs STEWART (Ngaire Lovie), of Auckland.

Vera Eileen, Mrs STOKES, of Auckland.

Ian Renton TAILBY, of Kaitaia.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR PUBLIC SERVICES

# Q.S.M.

Douglas CAMPBELL, J.P., of Thames. Chief Executive, Thames Hospital Board 1972-82.

Katherine Anne, Mrs CRAIG, of Roxburgh.

Miss Kathleen Isa CRAIG, of Wellington.

Peggie, Mrs DALMER, of Christchurch.

William Henry ELLINGHAM, of Hawera.

Leslie Walter GEORGE, of Lower Hutt. Lately, Manager, Production Planning and Programming, Government Printing Office.

Beryl Lilian Dolman, Mrs HARRIS, of Rotorua.

Alison Margaret, Mrs HOLST, of Wellington.

Frank Stuart HURLEY, of Auckland. Lately, Deputy Superintendent (Mount Eden Prison), New Zealand Prison Service.

Edward Ronald, MENZIES, J.P., of Trentham.

Millicent Amelia, Mrs MOULDEN, J.P., of Te Teko, Bay of Plenty. Kenneth Gordon SKUDDER, J.P., of Hikurangi, Northland.