incurred by the Council in the performance or exercise of those functions, duties, or powers, be applied to the con-struction, repair or improvement of facilities in respect of that foreshore and not otherwise.

#### **SCHEDULE**

ALL that area of foreshore at Castlepoint commencing at the northern boundary of Section 361, Whareama District, and extending to the southern boundary of Section 366, Whareama District, all situated in Block X, Castlepoint Survey District, and as more particularly shown coloured yellow on plan MD. 11012, deposited in the office of the Secretary for Transport at Wellington.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(M.O.T. 54/14/35)

10

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

**REGULAR AIR FORCE** 

**GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH** 

#### **Appointments**

Group Captain F. M. Kinvig, O.B.E., A.F.C., to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 5 December 1983, and his commission and age for retirement are extended to 31 December 1984.

Squadron Leader Stephen England Gillingham, from the Special Service List of the Territorial Air Force, is re-appointed to the Regular Air Force in his present rank with seniority from 1 May 1973 and effect from 1 October 1983.

#### Promotion

Flying Officer J. P. Rankin, B.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 16 October 1983.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader S. M. Elliott, M.B.E., are extended to 30 May 1989.

## ransfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Kevin James Murray is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 28 October 1987, with effect from 29 October 1983.

#### **ENGINEER BRANCH**

#### Appointment

Graham Thomas Marriott, B.TECH., is appointed to a commission on a fixed-term engagement in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 14 October 1983.

#### Promotions

Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) A. M. Gill, N.Z.C.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 October 1983.

Flight Lieutenant I. M. Guthrie, N.Z.C.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 November 1983.

## Extension of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer I. J. Fraser is extended to 21 October 1990.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant P. J. Lacey are extended to 30 October 1992.

## Transfer to Reserve

Wing Commander Colin Walter Joseph Waite is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 March 1984, with effect from 9 November 1983.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

**Appointments** 

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer J. A. Taylor to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 10 September 1983.

#### Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader T. J. Stephenson is appointed a Provost Officer in the Royal New Zealand Air Force with effect from 1 December 1983.

Flying Officer P. C. Jackson to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 31 August 1983.

Extension of Commission

# Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. J. Clark is extended to 28 February 1989.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader G. Y. Gemmell, M.B.E., are extended to 23 November 1986.

# Transfer in Branch

## Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) A. C. Comrie is transferred to the Special Duties Division in his present rank and seniority with effect from 19 September 1983, and his commission and age for retirement are extended to 20 March 1989.

Transfer to Reserve

#### Special Duties Division

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Michael John Hanley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 26 October 1985, with effect from 27 October 1983.

#### Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Palmer is retired with effect from 29 October 1983.

## EDUCATION BRANCH

Promotion

Flying Officer J. E. Leslie, DIP. TCHG., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 30 November 1983.

### MEDICAL BRANCH

Appointment

John Garfield Tees, M.R.C.S.(ENG.), L.R.C.P.(LOND.), DIP.OBST., R.C.O.G., D.I.H., R.C.P.(LOND.), and R.C.S.(ENG.), D.P.H., M.C.C.M., is appointed to a commission on a Special Medical Engagement in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority from 30 August 1976 and effect from 30 August 1982.

### CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

Resignation of Commission

Chaplain Class IV James Brian Alexander Bell, B.A., (Presbyterian) resigns his commission with effect from 2 November 1983.

# TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

**GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH** 

# Transfer

Squadron Leader S. E. Gillingham is transferred to the Regular Air Force with effect from 1 October 1983.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant M. E. Taylor to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 8 November 1983, and his commission is extended to 21 September 1987.

# Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. A. Farquhar is extended to 13 August 1988.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of the following officers are extended to the date shown:

Squadron Leader G. R. Springer, 4 October 1988. Squadron Leader P. E. Hills, 16 June 1988.

Retirement

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Derrick Sidney Bowles is retired with effect from 1 November 1983.

# **RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS**

Extensions of Commission

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the date shown:

Squadron Leader G. A. Oldfield, 7 September 1986. Flight Lieutenant I. G. Clements, 12 October 1987.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander William Joseph Cranfield, A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 10 May 1983.