Lieutenant Commander C. L. Stewart to be temp. Commander with effect from 16 January 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander A. G. Tunnicliffe, A.F.C. is extended to 7 January 1989.

A.F.C. is extended to 7 January 1989.

Lieutenant Commander Nicholas Graham Flegg, B.SC.(HONS). is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 16 December 1987, with effect from 17 December 1983.

Lieutenant J. E. Dudley to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) J. O. Ladd to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 5 January 1984.

1984.

Lieutenant G. C. Collier, M.B.E., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 21 December 1983.

The appointment of Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) G. R. Millar, N.Z.C.E.(PROD.), is extended to 19 August 1995

The appointment of Lieutenant P. C. Atkinson is extended to 5 May 1994.

Lieutenant Guy Thorne Ballantyne, RNZNVR, is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 10 February 1982 and effect from 1 January 1984; terminating on 4 December 2002.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) P. G. Sullivan, B.E.(ELECT.), to be Lieutenant with seniority from 1 February 1983 and effect from

21 November 1983

Sub Lieutenant D. T. Adams, B.E.(ELECT.), to be temp. Lieutenant

with effect from 1 January 1984.

Sub Lieutenant Q. R. Adams to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984.

The following Sub Lieutenants to be temp. Lieutenant with effect from 1 January 1984:

P. R. Crosby, B.E.(MECH.)(HONS)

F. R. Closby, B.E.(MECH.)(HONS E. Hall, B.E.(ELECT.) M. A. A. Hawkins, B.E.(MECH.) S. D. Patterson, B.E.(ELECT.) R. W. Prescott.

The following Ensigns to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984:

N. D. Grieve

S. S. Barrett M. J. Smillie

J. A. Swift

The following Midshipmen (acting Ensigns) to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1983 and effect from 12 November 1983:

B. P. Clough

J. R. Jennings

Midshipman (acting Ensign) E. L. C. Neumayr to be Ensign with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from 2 December 1983, and Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensign with effect from 1 January 1984:

B. I. Fotheringham

D. A. Gibbs D. R. Pearce T. W. Ross M. J. Watt

J. B. P. M. Zegers

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

The following officers are placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 31 December 1983:
Captain Peter Stanley Kingston, V.R.D.
Commander Richard Laverty, V.R.D.*, PH.D., M.SC.

Commander G. D. Hill, R.D.*, to be Captain with seniority and effect from 31 December 1983.

The following Lieutenant Commanders to be Commander with seniority and effect from 31 December 1983:

D. B. Bool, V.R.D.*

B. P. Moore.

Lieutenant R. J. G. Vincent is transferred to the Inactive List of

the RNZNVR with effect from 1 January 1984.

Alan Ross McCormack, M.B., CH.B., is appointed to the RNZNVR in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from January 1982 and effect from 1 January 1984; terminating on 1 January 2004.
Ensign P. J. Reid to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect

from 1 January 1984.

The following to be Ensign (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984, and are appointed to the RNZNVR until the date shown:

A104581 Timothy John Elley, ASSA, 18 February 2000. W104624 Tony Peter Grubb, OSEA, 1 January 2002. Y100808 Philip Richard Jackson, OSSA, 3 May 2002. S102780 Susan Mary Ruth Millar, ASCR(W), 21 July 2001. C100742 Hudson Geoffrey Shaw, ABSEA, 4 May 2001. Y106512 Bronwyn Anne Thomas, ASCC(W), 6 May 2001.

RETIRED LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Commander George Ross Gibson, M.B.E., V.R.D.*, is re-appointed to the Active List of the RNZNVR in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 5 December 1983.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of January 1984.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

40

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Wing Commander K. J. Wells, D.F.C., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 12 December 1983.

Squadron Leader I. G. Brunton to be temp. Wing Commander

with effect from 1 February 1984.

Flight Lieutenant W. K. L. MacGregor to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 5 December 1983.

Officer Cadet P89138 Paul Gordon van der Oest, B.SC., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 15 July 1982 and effect from 1 December 1983.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 23 August 1983 and effect from 1 December 1983:

C87586 Martin Allen

R90635 Peter Graham Cheal

D90554 James Scott Finlayson

D90393 Christopher John Mehlhopt

E90394 Richard Armand Smits F90395 Peter Royden Turvey

G90626 Peter Myles Walters.

Promotions

Group Captain (acting Air Commodore) F. M. Kinvig, O.B.E., A.F.C., to be Air Commodore with seniority and effect from 1 January

Group Captain G. C. Hubbard, O.B.E., to be acting Air Commodore with effect from 19 December 1983, and Air Commodore with seniority from 1 April 1983 and effect from 4 January 1984.

Wing Commander W. R. Donaldson, M.B.E., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 18 January 1984, and Group Captain with seniority and effect from 25 January 1984.

Squadron Leader R. W. Singleton to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 4 January 1984.

Squadron Leader J. S. Barclay to be temp. Wing Commander with effect from 10 December 1983, and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 5 January 1984.

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) S. D. White to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 6 January 1984.

Flight Lieutenant M. R. H. Jenkins to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 15 December 1983.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) G. K. Evans, B.SC., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 24 December

Flight Lieutenant R. G. Henderson, B.SC.. to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 24 December 1983.

Flying Officer H. B. North, B.SC., M.A.(HONS), to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 12 January 1984.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 16 January 1984:

D. J. Beverley

M. D. Helliwell

D. I. McIsaac

G. A. Waring.

Transfer to Reserve

Flying Officer William Alexander Lamb is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 25 November 1987, with effect from 26 November 1983.