John Bruce CHRYSTALL, of Onga Onga, Hawke's Bay. For services to the wool industry.

Roland Henry CLARK, of Diamond Harbour. For services to agriculture.

George Hopeful GOWER, of Tokirima. For services to local body and community affairs.

- Geoffrey Philip HOWARTH, M.B.E., of Tauranga. For services to cricket.
- Thomas Michael Raeburn MASKEW, of Christchurch. For services to agriculture.
- Alfred George MORGAN-COAKLE, of Auckland. For services to legal aid.

Dr Francis John NEWHOOK, of Auckland. Professor Emeritus of Plant Pathology, Department of Botany, University of Auckland.

James Joseph O'CONNOR, J.P., of Hastings. For services to local government, sport and the community.

William Horace PHILLIPS, J.P., of Hawera. For services to farming and the community.

Dr Humphrey Barton RAINEY, of Upper Hutt. For services to medicine and the community.

Dr Mutyala SATYANAND, of Auckland. For services to the community.

John Hutchison SAUNDERS, of Lower Hutt. For services to orthopaedics.

Charles Herbert SPEIGHT, of Wellington. General Manager, Shipping Corporation of New Zealand.

Dr Charles SWANSTON, of Auckland. For services to ophthalmology.

Major Ross TYLDEN, J.P., of Mataraua. For services to farming. Clifford Ernest WISELY, J.P., of Moninsville. For services to education and local government.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

James Charles BELLWOOD, of Auckland. For services to athletics.

Jack Compton BLAKELEY, J.P., of Raumati South. For services to the surf lifesaving movement.

Wilfred Edward BOWN, of Blenheim. For services to local body and community affairs.

Maida Elizabeth Claire, Mrs BRYANT, J.P., of Hokitika. For services to the community.

James Maurice Maitland CAFFIN, of Christchurch. For services to the New Zealand Antarctic Society and journalism.

Lionel Graham CHRISTIANSEN, of Cambridge. For services to the dairy industry.

Miss Joan Ethel DERBIDGE, of Christchurch. For services to physiotherapy and welfare organisations.

Captain Emmet Peter Marcus DOWD, of Auckland. For services to aviation.

Stanley Alexander GURNELL, of Whangarei. For services to preschool education and the community.

James Herbert HENDERSON, of Auckland. For services to literature and broadcasting.

Dr Donald William MCKENZIE, of Havelock North. Pomologist and Senior Scientist, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Orchard, Havelock North.

Anne Kohi, Mrs MARTIN, of Papakura. For services to social welfare.

Elsie Elizabeth, Mrs NEIL, of Auckland. For services to the community.

Miss Phyllis May PERSEN, of Palmerston North. Lately, Chief Nursing Officer, Palmerston North Hospital Board.

Caroline Audrey, Mrs PROWSE, of Waiuku. For services to the community.

Miriam Florence, Mrs REDWOOD (Miriam McGregor), of Waipawa. For services to literature.

Joan Nancy, Mrs ROSCOE, of Auckland. For services to the Girls Brigade.

Andrew Gwillym SUMMERS, of Lower Hutt. Deputy Secretary of Energy, Corporate Services, Ministry of Energy.

William Alexander SUTHERLAND, J.P., of Gisborne. For services to the Cook Hospital Board.

Roger Robertson SUTTON, of Invercargill. For services to conservation.

Hugh Barre Mewburn WALKER, J.P., of Auckland. For services to the Auckland Waterside Workers' Union.

Louis Lester WINTLE, of Mangawhai, Northland. For services to the preservation of local history.

Samuel Philip WRIGHTSON, of Auckland. Senior Specialist, Neurosurgery, Auckland Hospital.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER

Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

Joyce Horton, Mrs ANDREWS, of Mangakino.

Henry Tahawai BIRD, of Murupara.

Hector Jack CLARK, B.E.M., of Auckland.

The Reverend Canon Wi Te Tau HUATA, M.C., of Hastings.

0.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

Leonard John BRADDOCK, of Thames.

The Honourable Michael Aynsley CONNELLY, M.P., of Christchurch.

Albert Bakewell FEAR, of Lower Hutt. Director-General of Housing, Housing Corporation of New Zealand, and General Manager, Rural Banking and Finance Corporation.

Leonard Manson HARVEY, of Opunake.

Ralph Henry MATTHEWS, J.P., of Waipukurau.

Miss Joyce MOTLEY, of Hamilton. Principal Nurse, Waikato Hospital.

Alfred PREECE, J.P., of Chatham Islands.

Robert Geoffrey RAMSHAW, of Frankton, Otago.

Magnus Kenneth de Chazal SPENCE, J.P., of Te Karaka, Gisborne. Henry Philip WHITLOCK, of Gisborne.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

Q.S.M.

Harold Raymond ASHWORTH, of New Plymouth.

Pattie Helen, Mrs COLLINS, of Murupara.

Bertram CORNTHWAITE, of Auckland.

Nancy Eleanor, Mrs CRESSWELL, of Blenheim.

Winifred Charlotte, Mrs CUMING, of Taupo.

Alice Maud, Mrs des FORGES, of Taupiri.

David Spencer FUNNELL, of Palmerston North.

Trevor Charles GOTTERMEYER, of Christchurch.

Cecily, Mrs GREGORY, of Levin.

Elsie Helen, Mrs HILL, of Mataura.

Adeline Pearl, Mrs HOBBS, of Lower Hutt.

Evelyn Doris, Mrs HODDER, of Thames.

Charles Thomas Ross KNEW, of Whangarei.

Charles Earle William LEVIN, of Sanson.

Douglas Ian MCKERRAS, of Palmerston North.

Poai (Jim) MANAHI, of Woodend, North Canterbury.

Miss Mary Elizabeth (Moira) O'BRIEN, of Auckland.

Keriana Bessie, Mrs OLSON, of Wainuiomata.

Gladys May, Mrs PHILIPS, of Paihia, Bay of Islands.

John Cotterell PURDUE, of Invercargill.

Margaret Cecelia, Mrs READ, of Wellington.

Miss Edith Frances SMITH, of Wanganui.

Cicely Louise, Mrs SNOXELL, of Longburn.

Frederick Ernest WILLIAMSON, of Invercargill.

Mirinda Annie, Mrs ZWIMPFER, of Timaru.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR PUBLIC SERVICES Q.S.M.

Dr Donald Young ALLEN, of Waipawa.

Mary, Mrs ANSTRUTHER, J.P., of Turangi.

Brian Douglas BELL, of Wellington. Assistant Director, Protected Fauna, Wildlife Service, Department of Internal Affairs.

Violet Patricia, Mrs DARRAUGH, of Te Awamutu.

Miss Ailsa Maureen FLETCHER, of Rotorua.

Miss Edna Abigail FREE, of Hawera.