Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

# Appointments

The following Flight Lieutenants to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from the date shown:

I. O. McLeod, 11 June 1984. D. G. Jones, 7 May 1984.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 10 January 1984 and effect from 18 April 1984:

John Alexander Clezy. (D91060). David James Martino. (N90747). Nigel Kenneth Milne. (J90743). Brent David Norton. (F91062). Peter John Pont. (K90744). Paul David Sills. (M90930).

#### Promotions

Wing Commander R. F. Parker to be acting Group Captain with effect from 10 May 1984, and Group Captain with seniority from 5 April 1984 and effect from 22 May 1984.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

J. Elliott, 8 May 1984.

D. C. Houghton, B.E.(HONS), 24 May 1984.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 4 May 1984:

D. P. Barham. C. B. Symmans. W. J. Quickfall.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader B. R. Francis is extended to 16 February 1994.

# Transfer to Reserve

Squadron Leader Graeme Keith Evans, B.S.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 1 May 1988, with effect from 2 May 1984.

### ENGINEER BRANCH

# Appointments

Flight Lieutenant I. E. Ronalds to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 21 May 1984.

Warrant Officer Gordon Joseph Ross (Y81649), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 9 January 1984 and effect from 18 April 1984.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointments

# Secretarial Division

Officer Cadet Caro! Anne Hardie (N90425), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 11 January 1983 and effect from 18 April 1984.

#### Supply Division

Officer Cadet Paul John Neave (J90858), is appointed to a commission in the rank of temporary Pilot Officer, with effect from 9 January 1984.

# Special Duties Division

Officer Cadet Peter James Neilson (V90823), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 9 January 1982 and effect from 18 April 1984.

Flight Sergeant Neville Francis Patrick (F84231), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 9 January 1982 and effect from 18 April 1984.

Officer Cadet Bryce Reginald Meredith (F760983), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 9 January 1983 and effect from 18 April 1984.

#### **Promotions**

#### Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. J. Salter to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 26 April 1984.

Supply Division

Pilot Officer G. R. Walford to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 23 April 1984.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. M. Frowen, B.A. to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 19 May 1984.

Flight Lieutenant N. F. Lynch to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 26 April 1984.

## Extension of Commission

# Supply Division

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the date shown:

Squadron Leader D. J. Woods, 8 June 1992. Flying Officer G. S. Hobbs, 22 March 1995.

#### Transfer to Reserve

#### Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Deborah Le Cren, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 9 April 1988, with effect from 10 April 1984.

## **EDUCATION BRANCH**

#### Appointments

The following are appointed to commissions on a fixed term engagement of 5 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 30 April 1984:

Stephen Meyer, B.Sc., (C91151), 30 April 1982. Brigid Anne Goyen, DIP.TCHG., (E91291), 30 April 1983.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant L. F. Butts, N.Z.C.E., is extended to 3 May 1993.

#### MEDICAL BRANCH

#### Appointment

Robert Niven Campbell Walton, M.B., CH.B. (W90824), is appointed to a commission on a Special Medical Engagement, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 6 December 1982 and effect from 2 April 1984.

# CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

### Extension of Commission

The commission of Chaplain Class III D. W. Hall, B.A., is extended to 13 April 1988.

#### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

# Appointment

# Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant David Alan Griffith is transferred from the General Reserve, on a fixed term engagement of 5 years, in his present rank with seniority from 14 May 1982 and effect from 14 November 1983.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

#### Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader G. C. Day are extended to 19 May 1989.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Extensions of Commission

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the date shown:

Squadron Leader R. M. Conly, 3 February 1986. Flight Lieutenant A. D. Lyttle, 30 June 1987.

Flight Lieutenant D. A. Griffith is transferred to the Territorial Air Force, with effect from 14 November 1983.

#### Transfers to Retired List

Group Captain Brian Alexander Neal Greer is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 9 February 1984.
Group Captain Allan Tennant Dickie, N.Z.C.D., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 25 April 1984.

# Retirements

With regard to the retirement date published in the Gazette, 1 March 1984, No. 29, page 561, substitute the following:

Flight Lieutenant Dudley Garth Harrison, 2 April 1984. Flight Lieutenant Philip John Richards, 21 April 1984. Flying Officer Roderick William Drummond Smith, 3 April 1984.