- The Honourable Mervyn Langlois Wellington, of the Office of Minister of Education;
- The Honourable Manuera Benjamin Riwai Couch, of the Offices of Minister of Maori Affairs and Minister of Police;
- The Honourable Anthony George Malcolm, of the Offices of Minister of Health and Minister of Immigration;
- Doctor the Honourable Ian John Shearer, of the Offices of Minister for the Environment, Minister of Science and Technology and Minister of Broadcasting;
- The Honourable Robert Leslie Gapper Talbot, of the Offices of Minister of Tourism and Postmaster-General;
- The Honourable Jonathan Herbert Elworthy, of the Offices of Minister of Lands and Minister of Forests;
- The Honourable John Howard Falloon, of the Office of Minister of Statistics;
- The Honourable Anthony Peter David Friedlander, of the Offices of Minister of Works and Development and Minister of Housing.

By Command:

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of July 1984. JAMES BROWN, Official Secretary.

Members of the Executive Council Appointed

- His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint: The Honourable David Russell Lange:
  - The Honourable Geoffrey Winston Russell Palmer;
  - The Honourable Michael Kenneth Moore;
  - The Honourable Roger Owen Douglas;
  - The Honourable Richard William Prebble:
  - The Honourable Koro Tainui Wetere;
  - The Honourable David Francis Caygill;
  - The Honourable Cedric Russell Marshall;
  - The Honourable Francis Duncan O'Flynn, Q.C.;
  - Doctor the Honourable Michael Edward Rainton Bassett;
  - The Honourable Margaret Ann Hercus;
  - The Honourable Robert James Tizard;
  - The Honourable Colin James Moyle;
  - The Honourable Stanley Joseph Rodger;
  - The Honourable Jonathan Lucas Hunt;
  - The Honourable Fraser MacDonald Colman;
  - The Honourable Thomas Kerry Burke;
  - The Honourable Margaret Kerslake Shields;
  - The Honourable Peter Tapsell, M.B.E.;
  - The Honourable Philip Bruce Goff;

to be members of the Executive Council of New Zealand; and the above-named have taken the Oath of Office accordingly.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of July 1984.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

## Ministers Appointed

- HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint: The Honourable David Russell Lange, to be Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs;
  - The Honourable Geoffrey Winston Russell Palmer, to be Deputy Prime Minister, Attorney-General, and Minister of Justice;
  - The Honourable Michael Kenneth Moore, to be Minister of Overseas Trade and Marketing, Minister of Tourism, and Minister of Recreation and Sport;
  - The Honourable Roger Owen Douglas, to be Minister of Finance;
  - The Honourable Richard William Prebble, to be Minister of Transport, Minister of Civil Aviation and Meteorological Services, Minister of Railways, and Minister of Pacific Island Affairs;
  - The Honourable Koro Tainui Wetere, to be Minister of Maori Affairs, Minister of Lands, and Minister of Forests;
  - The Honourable David Francis Caygill, to be Minister of Trade and Industry, and Minister of National Development;
  - The Honourable Cedric Russell Marshall, to be Minister of Education, and Minister for the Environment;
  - The Honourable Francis Duncan O'Flynn, Q.C., to be Minister of State and Minister of Defence;
  - Doctor the Honourable Michael Edward Rainton Bassett, to be Minister of Health and Minister of Local Government;
  - The Honourable Margaret Ann Hercus, to be Minister of Social Welfare, Minister of Police, and Minister of Science and Technology;
  - The Honourable Colin James Moyle, to be Minister of Agriculture, and Minister of Fisheries;
  - The Honourable Stanley Joseph Rodger, to be Minister of Labour, and Minister of State Services;
  - The Honourable Jonathan Lucas Hunt; to be Minister of Broadcasting, and Postmaster-General;
  - The Honourable Fraser MacDonald Colman, to be Minister of Works and Development;
  - The Honourable Thomas Kerry Burke, to be Minister of Regional Development, Minister of Employment, and Minister of Immigration;
  - The Honourable Margaret Kerslake Shields, to be Minister of Customs, and Minister of Consumer Affairs;
  - The Honourable Peter Tapsell, M.B.E., to be Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister of Civil Defence, and Minister for the Arts:

The Honourable Philip Bruce Goff, to be Minister of Housing.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of July 1984. By Command:

JAMES BROWN, Official Secretary.