Lieutenant Commander J. E. R. Granville to be acting Commander with effect from 23 June 1984, and Commander with seniority and effect from 29 June 1984.

Lieutenant Commander Malcolm Geoffrey Jackman, B.SC., B.COM., is placed on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves until 31 July 1988, with effect from 1 August 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander D. T. Scown is extended to 15 March 1991.

Lieutenant N. G. Catley to be acting Lieutenant Commander with effect from 1 July 1984.

Sub Lieutenant W. M. Cummins, B.A., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 July 1984.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant K. M. Glynn, B.SC., is extended to 10 January 1992.

Sub Lieutenant G. I. Lowe, N.Z.C.E.(MECH.), to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 16 July 1984.

Sub Lieutenant T. R. Turner, B.SC., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 August 1984.

The appointment of Midshipman Andrew Colin Flavell is terminated with effect from 14 July 1984.

Commander John Cecil Charles Warren, R.D., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 27 July 1984.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant C. S. Blackie, v.R.D., LL.B., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority from 20 November 1983 and effect from 26 June

The appointment of Lieutenant R. M. Henshaw is extended to 14 July 1986.

Sub Lieutenant J. C. McEwan, M.A.(HONS.), to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 June 1984.

EMERGENCY LIST OF OFFICERS OF THE NAVAL RESERVES

Captain Neville Ross Win is placed on the Retired List with effect from 22 April 1984.

The period of service of Lieutenant Commander Anthony Roy Penellum on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves is terminated with effect from 26 January 1984.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of September 1984.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant I. O. McLeod: the notice published in the Gazette, 28 June 1984, No. 112, page 2355, is cancelled.

Flying Officer N. D. Kenny, B.SC., to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 16 July 1984.

Promotions

Flying Officer A. Thrower to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 8 May 1984.

Flying Officer D. B. Saggs, B.E.(HONS.), to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 15 July 1984.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 28 August 1984:

G. L. Lindsay. P. T. Morrissey. C. P. Hawkins.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 24 August 1984:

A. R. McGuire.

J. A. Osborne.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader S. J. Cotton are extended to 26 October 1991.

Transfers to Reserve

Wing Commander Robert John Denniston is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 9 July 1986, with effect from 10 July 1984.

Flying Officer Michael Francis Riley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 1 July 1988, with effect from 10 July

ENGINEER BRANCH

Promotions

Squadron Leader P. B. Thorpe to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 6 August 1984.

Pilot Officer G. A. Young to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 26 July 1984.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Peter Stephen Mata'afa-Hansen, B.SC., is retired with effect from 7 July 1984.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant N. Ward, N.Z.C.D., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 11 June 1984.

Promotions

Special Duties Division

The following temp. Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 1 August 1984:

S. D. Morris. K. D. Taylor.

Transfers to Retired List

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Leon Robert McCulloch Wilson is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 15 July 1984.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Noel Patrick Moore is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 2 July 1984.

Squadron Leader Daniel Wakefield McLeod, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 1 July 1984.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer N. R. Morgan, DIP.PHYS.ED., DIP.TCHG., is extended to 25 July 2002.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Garth John Voyce is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 13 July 1984.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Squadron Leader I. W. Black is extended to 28 August 1989.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader D. C. Boroughs are extended to 18 August 1989.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

The following Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve until 17 June 1988, with effect from 18 June 1984:

R. P. Vickery.

D. A. Kenstavishus.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the date shown: Squadron Leader Colin Gary Ryan, 18 August 1984.

Flight Lieutenant James Nevan Craig Wright, B.COM., 3 August 1983.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of August 1984.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.