(b) On any levied items which are produced in New Zealand and sold by the producer on or after that day.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of October 1984.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Science and Technology.

Waiariki Community College Notice 1984

PURSUANT to section 69 of the Education Act 1964, the Minister of Education gives the following notice:

NOTICE

- 1. (1) This notice may be cited as the Waiariki Community College Notice 1984.
- (2) This notice shall come into force on the 15th day of November 1984.
- 2. There shall be a board of governors to be known as the Waiariki Community College Council which shall control the Waiariki Community College.
- 3. The Waiariki Community College shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) One member appointed by the Rotorua District Council;
 - (b) One member appointed jointly by the Kawerau Borough Council, the Murupara Borough Council, the Opotiki District Council and the Whakatane District Council;
 - (c) One member appointed jointly by the Matamata County Council and the Tokoroa Borough Council;
 - (d) One member appointed jointly by the Taupo Borough Council and the Taupo County Council;
 - (e) One member, who shall be resident in the region serviced by the college, appointed by the National Council of Women in New Zealand Inc.;
 - (f) One member appointed by the Waiariki District Maori Council;
 - (g) One member, who shall be resident in the region serviced by the college, appointed by the Maori Women's Welfare League;
 - (h) One member elected by the governing bodies of the secondary schools listed in the First Schedule to this notice on the basis that each governing body has one vote for each school it governs;
 - (i) One member appointed by the council of the University of Waikato;
 - (j) One member appointed by the Rotorua Taupo Province Inc. of the Federated Farmers of New Zealand.
 - (k) One member appointed by the Rotorua Chamber of Commerce Inc.;
 - (l) One member appointed jointly by the associations listed in the Second Schedule to this notice;
 - (m) One member appointed jointly by the associations listed in the Third Schedule to this notice;
 - (n) One member appointed by the Bay of Plenty Trades Council;
 - (o) One member appointed jointly by the associations listed in the Fourth Schedule to this notice;
 - (p) One member who shall be the Principal of the Waiariki Community College;
 - (q) One member who shall represent the staff of the Waiariki Community College and who shall be elected by the fulltime tutors and the full-time ancillary staff employed by the Council and who shall be a full-time staff member employed by the Council;
 - (r) (i) One member who shall be a student of the Waiariki Community College and who shall be appointed by the Waiariki Community College Students' Association for a term of office of 1 year;
 - (ii) The member appointed pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office from the first day of February in the year of his appointment until the 31st day of January in the subsequent year, and if on that date the appointment of a successor has not been notified to the Council that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which the appointment is notified;
 - (s) Not more than 3 members to be co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it thinks fit.
- 4. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and to the provisions of clause 3 (r) of this notice every member of the Waiariki Community College Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years but may, from time to time be reappointed or re-elected.

- (2) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in subclause (1) of this clause every co-opted member of the Council shall be appointed for such term, not exceeding 3 years, as the Council thinks fit.
- (3) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in subclause (1) of this clause, the term of office of the following members shall be determined as follows:
 - (a) The 5 members appointed pursuant to clause 3 (a), (d), (g), (j) and (m) of this notice shall hold office until the 15th day of November 1985:
 - (b) The 5 members appointed or elected pursuant to clause 3 (b),
 (e), (h), (k) and (n) of this notice shall hold office until the
 15th day of November 1986;
 - (c) The 6 members appointed or elected pursuant to clause 3 (c), (f), (i), (l), (o) and (q) of this notice shall hold office until the 15th day of November 1987;
 - (d) The member appointed pursuant to clause 3 (p) of this notice shall hold office contemporaneously with holding the office of Principal of Waiariki Community College, and shall not be subject to any term of office under this notice.

Thereafter, except in the case of a casual vacancy or as otherwise provided in this notice, every member shall hold office until the 15th day of November in the third year after that member's election or appointment, and if on the 15th day of November the appointment or election of the successor has not been notified to the Council, that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment or election is so notified.

- (4) If any member-
- (a) Dies; or
- (b) Resigns office by giving written notice addressed to the Council or to the Chairman or the Secretary thereof; or
- (c) Is absent without leave from the meetings of the Council for 3 consecutive months; or
- (d) While holding office becomes ineligible to remain a member by reason of disability, insolvency, neglect of duty or misconduct;

the casual vacancy so created shall be filled as soon as practicable thereafter by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected. The member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom that person replaces.

- (5) The powers of the Council shall not be affected by any vacancy in the membership thereof.
- 5. The Rotorua Community College Notice 1977* as varied in 1979 by notice in the *Gazette*†, and amended in 1983 by a further notice in the *Gazette*‡ is hereby revoked.

FIRST SCHEDULE

THE secondary schools referred to in clause 3 (h) of this notice shall be the following:

Edgecumbe College.
Edmund Rice College.
Forest View High School.
Kawerau College.
Opotiki College.
Mangakino High School.
McKillop College.
Rangatahi College.
Reporoa College.
Rotorua Boys High School.
Rotorua Girls High School.
Rotorua Girls High School.
Tauhara College.
Tauponui-a-tia College.
Tokoroa High School.
Trident High School.
Trident High School.
Whakatane High School.
Western Heights High School.

SECOND SCHEDULE

THE associations referred to in clause 3(1) of this notice shall be the following:

Auckland Division, New Zealand Institute of Management. Waikato Bay of Plenty Branch of the New Zealand Society of Accountants.

Hamilton District Law Society.

Bay of Plenty, Rotorua, Taupo, Tauranga and Whakatane divisions of the Medical Association of New Zealand.

Bay of Plenty, Rotorua, Taupo, Tauranga and Tokoroa branches of the New Zealand Nurses Association.