THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain J. B. Richdale is re-engaged until 11 May 1984.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster D. M. Hutton to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 March 1984.

#### N.Z. ARMY PAY CORPS

Lieutenant K. R. S. Bastion to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 February 1984, and is re-engaged until 13 December 1992.

# N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Colonel Commandant

The appointment of Colonel R. C. Savage, Q.C., as Colonel Commandant, N.Z. Army Legal Service, is extended for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1984.

#### TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

2nd Lieutenant S. D. Newman is transferred to the Special Service List of the Territorial Force until 14 September 1984, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 14 March 1984.

Martin Llewellyn Sheffield is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984.

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant J. C. McClean to be temp. Captain with effect from 12 November 1983.

Craig Maitland Meldrum is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984.

22nd (D) Battery, RNZA

Craig Francis Hewett is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Waikato/Wellington East Coast Squadron, RNZAC

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984:

Hamish Bruce Craig.

Steven Peter Anthony Stanford.

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) M. G. Amyes to be Captain with seniority from 14 November 1982 and effect from 20 February 1984.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

1st Field Squadron, RNZE

David Lyle Morris is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984. 2nd Field Squadron, RNZE

Terrence James Goldsbury is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

4th (Main HQ) Signals Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Mark Lincoln Pickering is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984.

5th (Rear HQ) Signals Squadron, RNZ Sigs

Lieutenant A. M. Young to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 February 1984.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR

Honorary Colonel

The appointment of Lieutenant Colonel D. H. Blyth as Honorary Colonel, 2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR, is extended for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1984.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Honorary Colonel

The appointment of Colonel T. F. L. Ward, O.B.E., E.D., as Honorary Colonel, 3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR, is extended for a period of 16 months, with effect from 1 December 1983.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984:

Jeffrey Harry Kai Fong. Rory Sloane McGregor. Murray John Andrew McLeod. Maki Maihi-Taniora. Warrick Lindsay Steel.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

#### Honorary Colonel

The appointment of Colonel W. A. French, M.B.E., E.D., as Honorary Colonel, 4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR, is extended for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1984.

Stephen James Thompson is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 2 February 1984.

5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

Honorary Colonel

The appointment of Major J. T. Shaw, E.D., as Honorary Colonel, 5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki) RNZIR, is extended for a period of 2 years, with effect from 1 April 1984.

6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 February 1984:

David John Elliott.

Michael Jan Fuscic.

Christopher Stuart Hamlin.

Adrian Douglas Storey, B.SC.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR

Honorary Colonel

The appointment of Lieutenant Colonel J. C. Andrew O.B.E., E.D., as Honorary Colonel, 7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR, is extended for a further period of 1 year, with effect from 1 April 1984.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 15 November 1983:

S. J. Gibson.

P. M. Wilson.

#### ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain Class II Robert Frederick Clement (Methodist), relinquishes the appointment of Honorary Chaplain Class II, Senior Chaplain (Methodist) of Chaplains' Dominion Advisory Council with effect from 18 March 1982 and reverts to the Retired List.

### ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Lieutenant Colonel Jan Marjorie Grant, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in her present rank with effect from 31 December 1983.

#### EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters Company Land Forces

Lieutenant Colonel P. L. Stokes, E.D., M.B., CH.B., DIP.OBST., Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, to be Colonel with seniority and effect from 1 December 1983.

Headquarters 2nd Task Force Region

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) John Allan Dixon, Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, is transferred from the Regular Force in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 3 September 1983.

## RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

Lieutenant Francis Mark Jones is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 March 1984.

Headquarters 3rd Task Force Region

Captain Ian Errol Hyde, E.D., The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in his present rank with effect from 6 December 1983.

General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the date shown:

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant and Quartermaster Leon Raymon Orange, 5 April 1984.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport

Major Paul O'Regan, 8 April 1984.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Captain and Quartermaster Carl David Stoneman, 21 March 1984. Dated at Wellington this 8th day of May 1984.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.