## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander Robin Francis Hulford is transferred to the Emergency List of the RNZN until 1 April 1986, with effect from 2 April 1984.

Lieutenant Commander (*acting* Commander) Thomas Charles Money Raven, M.B.E., is placed on the Retired List in the rank of Commander, with effect from 7 May 1984.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) J. M. Halliday, B.SC. M.P.P., L.T.C.L., to be Commander with seniority and effect from 2 April 1984.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) P. J. E. Baldwin to be Commander with seniority from 27 June 1983 and effect from 2 April 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander G. J. Power is extended to 6 December 1988.

Lieutenant Commander A. D. Clayton-Greene to be temp. Commander with effect from 1 May 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander W. R. Linn, B.E.M., is extended to 26 August 1990.

Lieutenant P. A. Mullen, DIP.TCHG., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 April 1984.

Lieutenant Merrion Ranwell Clark, B.A., is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 20 May 1988, with effect from is placed on the 21 May 1984.

Lieutenant K. N. Corles to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 19 April 1984.

Lieutenant S. Humphries to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 16 April 1984.

Lieutenant S. J. Taylor to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 1 March 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant B. E. Carroll is extended to 2 January 1993.

Lieutenant J. C. Kennedy, B.SC.(HONS.), to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 28 February 1984.

The appointment of Lieutenant M. J. Chapman B.A., LL.B., is extended to 26 January 1991.

Lieutenant Peter John Young is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 30 March 1986, with effect from 31 March 1984.

Lieutenant L. A. Cocks is appointed Assistant Provost Marshal to the Royal New Zealand Navy with effect from 30 March 1984.

Sub Lieutenant S. M. Barham to be Lieutenant with seniority from 16 September 1983 and effect from 9 February 1984.

Sub Lieutenant O. L. Braddock to be Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1982 and effect from 21 February 1984.

Sub Lieutenant John Rupert James Gatti, B.SC., is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 5 April 1988, with effect from 6 April 1984.

Sub Lieutenant D. G. Hoskins to be temp. Lieutenant with effect from 25 April 1984.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) G. I. Lowe, N.Z.C.E.(MECH.), relinquishes the temporary rank of Lieutenant with effect from 7 May 1984.

The engagements of the following Sub Lieutenants are extended to the date shown:

J. C. Hayman, B.SC., 10 January 1992. A. C. Winstanley, B.SC.(TECH.), 13 January 1992.

Surgeon Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) C. N. Strack, M.B., CH.B., to be Surgeon Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 13 December 1982 and effect from 6 May 1984.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) Gordon Murry Sutherland, B.E.(MECH.), lapses with effect from 31 March 1984.

Owen Richard Hobbs is re-appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Sub Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 6 March 1984 and effect from 26 March 1984.

Ensign H. G. Sharp to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1984 and effect from 10 February 1984.

The appointment of Midshipman Philip James Muldoon is terminated with effect from 10 March 1984.

The seniority of Midshipman R. J. Scowcroft is antedated to 1 January 1983.

The appointment of Midshipman Lean Howard Greenwood is terminated with effect from 5 May 1984.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant D. L. Thompson, V.R.D., N.Z.C.S., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 March 1984.

Sub Lieutenant L. G. K. Schmitt to be Lieutenant with seniority from 12 September 1983 and effect from 10 April 1984.

The following Ensigns to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1984:

R. H. Bryant, DIP.ED. R. Iotua.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander Rodney Elliott Brown is placed on the Retired List with effect from 6 May 1984.

The period of service of the following officers on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from the date shown:

Lieutenant Commander Gary Norton Kendall, 3 October 1983. Lieutenant Michael Desmond Woods, B.A., DIP.TCHG., 4 June 1983. Lieutenant Peter James Vernon Chivers, B.SC., 10 February 1984. Sub Lieutenant Julie Johnson, 25 August 1983.

Sub Lieutenant O. R. Hobbs is re-appointed to the Active List of the RNZN with effect from 26 March 1984.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of May 1984.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

26/2

Appointing a Member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority (Amendment)

## DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, I, Sir David Stuart Beattie, the Governor-General of New Zealand, on the advice of the Minister of Works and Development after consultation by the Minister with the Municipal Association of New Zealand Incorporated hereby appoint

Ross Avin Close of Alexandra, insurance representative

to be a member of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority from the 29th day of March 1984 for a term of 3 years.

This appointment is also made pursuant to section 25 (j) of the Acts Interpretation Act 1924, and is in substitution for the appointment of Mr Close made in the warrant dated the 29th day of March 1984, printed in *New Zealand Gazette* of 5 April 1984, No. 56, at page 1068, in which he is erroneously referred to as 'Ross Chris Close'

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 18th day of May 1984.

A. P. D. FRIEDLANDER, Minister of Works and Development.

(P.W. 74/1/2/1)

10

## Appointments to the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council, the Northern Central and Southern Regional Arts Councils and the Council for Maori and Pacific Arts

PURSUANT to section 3 (2) (c), 27 (2) (a), and 27 (2) (b) of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand Act as amended by the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand Amendment 1978, the Minister for the Arts has made the following appointments:

- Jenny Pattrick to be a member of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand for a term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Eric Flegg to be the chairman of the Northern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Susan Turner to be a member of the Northern Regional Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Heath Lees to be a member of the Northern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1985.
- Richard Moorehead to be a member of the Central Regional Arts Council for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Peter Entwisle to be a member of the Southern Regional Arts Council for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Jonathan Tucker to be a member of the Southern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1987.
- Clifford Whiting to be a member of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1987
- Matafetu Smith to be a member of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a term of office expiring 31 March 1987.