- **3. Validation of meeting**—The action of the Council in assessing, at a meeting held by the Council on the 27th day of July 1983, the contributions payable by the constituent authorities of the Council under section 123 of the Act for the financial year commencing on the 1st day of March 1983, is hereby validated, notwithstanding that the meeting was held after the time required by section 126 (2) of the Act.
- 4. Validation of payment of assessments—The action of the Council in treating the amounts of the 3 instalments of the assessments for the financial year commencing on the 1st day of March 1983 as having been paid in time, notwithstanding that those amounts were paid by each constituent authority after the time required by section 129 (1) of the Act, is hereby validated.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellations, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinguishments, cancellations, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces.

SEA CADET CORPS

Appointments

Allan Joseph Senior is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign on probation with effect from 28 March 1984, seniority 28 March 1984.

Lieutenant Matthew John Morton is appointed Temporary Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 10 April 1984.

The following officers are promoted to the rank and with seniority from the dates shown:

Ensign G. A. Knewstubb, Sub Lieutenant, 20 January 1984. Ensign G. R. Ford, Sub Lieutenant, 14 April 1984. Ensign D. P. Ansty, Sub Lieutenant, 20 January 1984.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their Cadet Commissions until dates shown:

Lieutenant Commander B. M. Sheeran, 1 April 1987.
Lieutenant Commander R. A. Young, 1 April 1987.
Lieutenant Commander R. P. McDonald, 1 April 1987.
Lieutenant Commander D. C. Ruxton, 20 December 1986.
Lieutenant J. S. Henderson, 16 December 1984.
Lieutenant P. W. Dacombe-Bird, 1 April 1987.
Lieutenant R. R. Kitney, 1 April 1987.
Lieutenant M. J. Morton, 10 April 1987.
Acting Lieutenant T. W. Hollis, 8 April 1987.
Sub Lieutenant P. Ngawhika, 22 December 1986.
Sub Lieutenant D. E. Bergersen, 1 August 1986.

Lieutenant Commander E. L. May retires his Cadet Force Commission with effect from 15 May 1984.

Sub Lieutenant T. R. Jones is compulsorily retired with effect from 4 December 1983.

Sub Lieutenant N. Munro is compulsorily retired with effect from 17 April 1984.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force Commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown: Sub Lieutenant Margaret Anne Braid, 27 March 1984.

Cancellation of Commission

The Cadet Force Commission of Lieutenant John David Ferguson is cancelled with effect from 1 February 1984.

Transfer

Sub Lieutenant S. A. Punter is transferred from TS Diomede to TS Leander with effect from 1 May 1984.

Awards of Cadet Forces Medals and Clasps

Lieutenant Bruce Blair Binnie is awarded the Clasp to the Cadet Force Medal with effect from 29 February 1984.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Appointments

Kelvin Craig Marshall is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 3 April 1984, seniority from 1 August 1984.

Grant Roy Koedyk is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1983, seniority from 1 August 1983.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force Commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown:

Second Lieutenant Christine Anne Baumfield, 14 March 1984. Lieutenant Rodney William Davie, 29 February 1984. Lieutenant Edward John Bernard MacNamara, 26 January 1984.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Grant Francis McTavish is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 8 March 1984, seniority from 8 March 1984.

Maralyn Jeannette Holten is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 27 February 1984, seniority from 27 November 1983.

Ian Scott Sharman is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 6 March 1984, seniority from 6 March 1984.

Philip John Brownlie is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 6 March 1984, seniority from 6 March 1984.

Kenneth Roy Pittams is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 1 March 1984, seniority from 1 December 1983.

David Paul King is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 28 March 1984, seniority from 28 March 1984.

Barry Glen McKirdy is appointed to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 20 March 1984, seniority from 20 March 1984.

Pilot Officer Janet Alicia Janata is appointed Unit Commander, No. 50 (Alexander) ATC Squadron, with effect from 31 January

Flying Officer Stephen Edward Mansell is appointed Unit Commander, No. 37 (Thames) ATC Squadron, with effect from 3 May 1984.

Reactivation

James Robert Seymour Smith is reactivated to a Cadet Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 1 February 1984, seniority 26 February 1982.

Promotions

Flying Officer C. Dale is promoted to Flight Lieutenant with effect from 25 March 1984.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their Cadet Commissions until dates shown:

Squadron Leader D. T. Hunt, 26 April 1987.

Squadron Leader N. E. Warsaw, 29 April 1987.

Flight Lieutenant J. T. Harris, 6 April 1987.
Flight Lieutenant K. J. Subritzky, 3 February 1987.
Flight Lieutenant G. B. Rushton, 30 November 1986.
Flight Lieutenant C. T. Choros, 20 April 1987.
Flight Lieutenant E. M. Findlay, 29 April 1985. Flight Lieutenant W. R. Lapthorne, 14 April 1987. Flight Lieutenant C. B. Jones, 16 April 1987. Flight Lieutenant K. J. Lynch, 11 May 1987. Flight Lieutenant M. Chambers, 1 June 1985. Flight Lieutenant N. Laurenson, 1 January 1985.

Flying Officer G. B. Milner, 21 May 1987.

Flying Officer J. I. M. Aitcheson, 2 May 1987.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force Commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant William Dale Murphy, 12 December 1983. Flying Officer Philip Ralph Hayward, 20 April 1984. Pilot Officer William Philip Gaze, 6 March 1984.

Pilot Officer Raymond Brown, 6 March 1984.

Retirements

Flight Lieutenant Robert Allan Land is compulsorily retired with effect from 2 April 1984.

Flying Officer Theo Peter Maria Budel is compulsorily retired with effect from 1 March 1984.

Relinauishments

Squadron Leader Alwyn Erasmus Boyd relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander No. 37 (Thames) ATC Squadron with effect from 3 May 1984.