Emeritus Professor James Towers CAMPBELL, of Nelson. For services to education.

Roderic George COMPTON, of Kaiapoi. For services to the Nurse Maude Nursing Association and the community.

Arthur Maitland HUGHES, J.P., of Auckland. For services to racing administration.

Professor Reinhart Hugo Michael LANGER, of Christchurch. For services to agricultural education.

Emeritus Professor John Rushforth McCREARY, of Wellington. For services to social welfare.

Dr Donald Michael Fraser McDONALD, J.P., of Auckland. For services to medicine.

Miss Malvina Lorraine MAJOR (Mrs Fleming), of Opunake. For services to opera.

Dr Graham Anderson MILNE, of Martinborough. For services to asthmatics.

Lorna, Mrs OVEREND, of Christchurch. For services to athletics and the community.

Margaret Annie (Nancy), Mrs RADFORD, of Wellington. For services to Barnardo's and the community.

Patariki te REI, of Rotorua. For services to Maori culture, language and the community.

George Alfred SMITH, J.P., of Helensville. For services to local body and community affairs.

Dr Shirley Lyford TONKIN, of Auckland. For services to medicine and welfare.

Geoffrey Thomson UPTON, D.s.o., of Taupo. For services to journalism and the newspaper industry.

Hal Hugh WAGSTAFF, of Wellington. For services to yachting. Davina (Eileen Eliza), Mrs WHITEHOUSE, of Pukerua Bay. For services to the performing arts.

Miss Elaine Jean WHITEMAN, of Wellington. For services to nursing.

Miss Jean Boughton WISHART, of Auckland. For services to journalism.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Lionel ALBERT, J.P., of Auckland. For services to the community.

Alfred Gaynor BEADLE, of Wellington. For public services especially to the New Zealand Wheat Board.

Brian Kenneth BERG, of Auckland. For services to local body and community affairs.

Richard Trevor BRITTENDEN, of Christchurch. For services to sporting journalism.

Thomas Leonard BROWN, of Papatoetoe. For services to education.

Frederick Henry CHARLES, of Upper Hutt. For services to the gas industry and the community.

Reginald Edmund COMBES, of Auckland. For services to pharmacy.

Eric JERKOVICH, of Papakura. For services to education.

Professor Emeritus George Alexander KNOX, of Christchurch. Lately, Professor of Zoology, University of Canterbury.

Andrew Forrester McLAY, J.P., of Waimate. For services to local body and community affairs.

Ian William McMEEKING, J.P., of Dunedin. For services to the community.

Edward Charles MANSFIELD, J.P., of Auckland. For services to the community.

Andrew Osmond MELVILLE, of Wellington. For services to athletics.

Jules Donna McKenzie Panui O Marama MITCHELL, of Rotorua. For services to the community.

Ronald Leslie MOORE, of Christchurch. For services to speedway sport.

Walter Thomas NEAL, J.P., of Blackball, Westland. For services to local body and community affairs.

George Lancelot OSBORNE, J.P., of Wellington. For services to the Royal Federation of New Zealand Justices' Association.

William Joseph Gregory ROACH, M.C., J.P., of Palmerston North. For services to the community.

Arthur Stanley SCAIFE, of Wanaka. For services to local government.

David Roy SIMMONS, of Auckland. For services to ethnology and the Maori people.

Thomas Murray Forbes TAYLOR, of Kurow, North Otago. For services to local body and community affairs.

Roy James TOWERS, of Lower Hutt. For services to the St John Ambulance Brigade.

John Francis WHEELER, of Nelson. For services to the community and the arts.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

Miss Anne Anituatua DELAMERE, of Wellington.

Charles Tumate Tonga MAHUTA, of Huntly.

Betty Gertrude, Mrs PEARSON, of Christchurch.

Frederick George RYAN, of Rotorua.

The Reverend Father Stuart James SELLAR, of Dunedin.

Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

Lancelot Victor BLAIKIE, of Otataka, Invercargill.

John Francis CODY, J.P., of Masterton.

- Peter Douglas HASSELBERG, of Wellington. Lately, Government Printer.
- Patrick Graham MILLEN, of Wellington. Secretary of the Cabinet, Clerk of the Executive Council and Secretary and Registrar of The Queen's Service Order.
- Robert George NORMAN, of Titahi Bay. Lately, Commissioner of Works, Ministry of Works and Development.

Elwyn Charles RICHARDS, J.P., of Mount Maunganui.

Allan Wheeler SEDDON, of Dunedin.

John Edwin Denys STRINGLEMAN, of Christchurch.

Sydney Gordon Alexander WARD, of Auckland. Superintendent, Auckland Maximum Security Prison, Department of Justice.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE Q.S.M.

Dorothy Mary, Mrs AMOORE, of Auckland.

Ellis Walter BOTT, of Levin.

Margaret Kura, Mrs BROWN, of Wellington.

Hilda, Mrs COCKER, of Winton.

Miss Letitia Emily COLEMAN, of Christchurch.

Miss Jeanne EDGAR, of Christchurch.

Muriel Ethelwyn, Mrs FISHER, of Auckland.

Sam HUNT (Samuel Percival Maitland Hunt), of Paremata.

Grace Isabel, Mrs JOHNSON, of Dunedin.

Ropata Ki KEEPA, of Taumarunui.

Dougall Alexander LOVE, of Southbridge, Canterbury.

William Leslie McIVOR, of Nelson.

Nancy Margaret, Mrs McKENZIE, of Timaru.

Jack Raymond MATTHEWS, of Featherston.

Cecil Charles Leamoth OLDHAM, of Waikouaiti, Otago.

Olive Roberta, Mrs OLDS, of Christchurch.

Doris, Mrs PALMER, J.P., of Rotorua.

Doris Maude, Mrs PENNY, J.P., of Wellington. Joy Margaret, Mrs PETERS, of Upper Hutt.

Margaret Beth, Mrs ROBERTSON, of Wellington.

Mervyn Charles SMITH, of Auckland.

Agnes, Mrs TUISAMOA, of Auckland.

John TUREI, of Auckland.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR PUBLIC SERVICES Q.S.M.

John Keighley BANKS, J.P., of Auckland. Leslie Pitman CLARK, J.P., of Auckland. Bernard DEKKER, of Turangi. Miss Natalie DUMBLETON, of Auckland. Edith June, Mrs GARDINER, of Waiau, Canterbury.