Lieutenant Michael Courtney Fraser, LLB.(HONS.), is placed on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves until 11 September 1989, with effect from 12 September 1985.

The appointment of Lieutenant (on prob.) S. K. Wootton to the RNZN is confirmed.

Sub Lieutenant R. G. Blundell to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 17 January 1984.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) L. D. L. Carter to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 15 July 1985.

The following Sub Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

S. K. Hill, 15 August 1985.

R. J. Kerr, 1 August 1985.

A. J. O. Martin, 1 August 1985.

J. E. Ross, B.COM., 1 August 1985.

A. G. A. Watts, 15 September 1985.

The appointments of the following Midshipmen are terminated with effect from the date shown:

Jan Tulp, 9 August 1985.

John William Kennett, 26 July 1985.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant Commander R. J. Weeks, B.CHIR., M.B.(CAMB.), is extended to 22 February 1988.

Lieutenant Commander R. MacD. Henshaw: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 8 August 1985, No. 145, page 3324, for "1 June 1985" substitute "1 June 1984".

Sub Lieutenant V. J. Payne: with reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 8 August 1985, No. 145, page 3324, for "4 May 1985" substitute "4 May 1984".

Ensign P. B. Arnold to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1985.

INACTIVE LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Commander Timothy John Elliston Dyer, V.R.D., D.P.A., DIP.B.I.A., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 9 September 1984.

The period of service of Lieutenant Commander P. W. Bowen, B.E.(MECH.), on the Inactive List of the RNZNVR is extended to 30 March 1989.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of August 1985.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.

Appointments to the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council, the Northern, Central and Southern Regional Arts Council and the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts

PURSUANT to section 3 (2) (c), 3 (2) (f), 27 (2) (a), and 27 (2) (b) of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand Act as amended by the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand Amendment Act 1978 and 1980, the Minister for the Arts has made the following appointments:

Arnold Wilson of Auckland to be a member of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Jan Bolwell of Dunedin to be a member of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Peter Nisbet to be a member of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand on the nomination of the Broadcasting Corporation of New Zealand made with the approval of the Minister of Broadcasting for a term of office expiring 31 March 1986.

Heath Lees to be a member of the Northern Regional Arts Council for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Peter Sharples to be a member of the Northern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Glen Wiggs to be the chairman of the Central Regional Arts Council for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

John Scott to be a member of the Central Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Keri Kaa to be a member of the Central Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

David Nightingale to be the chairman of the Southern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Graeme Martin to be a member of the Southern Regional Arts Council for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Kuru Waaka Q.S.O. to be the chairman of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Waana Davis to be a member of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a further term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Mi'i Pamatatau to be a member of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a term of office expiring 31 March

Faafua Laban to be a member of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of September 1985.

PETER TAPSELL, Minister for the Arts.

(I.A. Cul 10/6/2, I.A. Cul 10/6/2/1 and I.A. Cul 10/6/2/2)

Members of the New Zealand Film Commission Appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 of the New Zealand Film Commission Act 1978 and section 2 of the New Zealand Film Commission Amendment Act 1980, the following persons are appointed to the New Zealand Film Commission with immediate effect:

Chairman:

David Rendel Kingston Gascoigne of Wellington, term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Members.

Samuel Wallace Pillsbury of Auckland, term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Larry George Parr of Auckland, term of office expiring 31 March 1987.

Alternate Members:

David Henry Fowler of Wellington, term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Gaylene Mary Preston of Wellington, term of office expiring 31 March 1988.

Merata Mita of Auckland, term of office expiring 31 March

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of September 1985.

PETER TAPSELL, Minister for the Arts.

(I.A. Cul 2/16/4)

District Prison Boards—Appointment of Chairmen

PURSUANT to section 132 (2) (a) of the Criminal Justice Act 1985, the Minister of Justice has been pleased to appoint each of the District Court Judges named in the left hand column to be a member and chairman of the District Prisons Board or District Prisons Boards specified in the right hand column opposite his name for a term of 3 years on and from 1 October 1985.

Nigel Ross Taylor John Russell Callander . . John Elderson Millar Edward William Unwin... Trevor Gilbert Maxwell . .

Anand Satyanand Ewen Brownlie Robertson

Barry James McKenzie Kerr Patrick Jerome Toomey . . John David Rabone Fergus Gordon Paterson

Victor Ronald Jamieson

North Shore District Prisons Board. Auckland District Prisons Board. Waikeria District Prisons Board. New Plymouth District Prisons Board. Turangi District Prisons Board. Taumarunui District Prisons Board. Napier District Prisons Board. Manawatu District Prisons Board. Wanganui District Prisons Board.

Wi Tako District Prisons Board. Arohata District Prisons Board. Wellington District Prisons Board. Christchurch District Prisons Board. Christchurch Womens District Prisons Board.

Rolleston District Prisons Board. Anthony Joseph Sheehan Dunedin District Prisons Board. Invercargill District Prisons Board.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of September 1985.

S. J. CALLAHAN, Secretary for Justice.

Establishment of District Prisons Boards

PURSUANT to section 132 (1) of the Criminal Justice Act 1985, the Minister of Justice has been pleased to establish the District Prisons

10