PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces.

SEA CADET CORPS

Appointments

Martin Herbert Payne is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign on probation with effect from 23 September 1985, seniority 23 September 1985.

Lieutenant Guy Douglas Ditfort is appointed Acting Unit Commander of TS Cornwell with effect 28 August 1985.

Promotions

The following officers are promoted to the rank and with seniority from the dates shown:

Temporary Lieutenant Commander M. P. Doole, Lieutenant Commander, 29 October 1985.

Lieutenant P. W. Dacombe-Bird, Lieutenant Commander, 27 September 1985.

Temporary Lieutenant J. E. Dunn, Lieutenant, 7 August 1985.

Sub Lieutenant A. C. J. Blockley, Lieutenant, 8 October 1985. Sub Lieutenant J. W. Te Moananui, Lieutenant, 10 October 1985.

Ensign D. M. C. Crocker, Sub Lieutenant, 27 October 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Lieutenant K. L. Ingram, 23 September 1986.

Sub Lieutenant S. A. Punter, 27 November 1987.

Retirements

Sub Lieutenant Patricia Louise Richardson is compulsorily retired with effect from 31 October 1985.

Resignations

The following officer has resigned his Cadet Force Commission and is discharged with effect from the date shown:

Ensign Andrew James Bates, 21 August 1985.

Relinquishments

Lieutenant Neil Wallace Smith relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander TS Cornwell with effect from 28 August 1985.

Transfer To/From Supernumerary List

Sub Lieutenant Y. C. R. Mexted is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 30 July 1985.

Ensign A. J. Senior is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 27 September 1985.

Transfers

Lieutenant K. L. Ingram, from TS Gambia to TS Achilles, 17 September 1985.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Retirements

The following officers have been compulsorily retired with effect from the dates shown:

Major Frederick John Hunt Parker, 30 August 1985.

Second Lieutenant John Tina Brooks, 30 January 1985.

Second Lieutenant Norma Eileen McOnie, 30 August 1985.

Second Lieutenant Ruby Dawn Gillespie, 30 August 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Major D. C. Billings, 30 November 1986.

Lieutenant P. F. Arnold, 10 January 1986.

Lieutenant M. E. Dobson, 24 October 1988.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

Ruth Mary Clarke is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 12 August 1985, seniority 12 August 1985.

Fredrick Sydney Rowan is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 12 August 1985, seniority 12 August 1985.

Charles Alfred Prodger is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 19 August 1985, seniority 19 July 1985.

Robert Wayne Henderson is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 27 August 1985, seniority 27 August 1985.

Joanne Margaret List is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 27 August 1985, seniority 27 August 1985.

Donald Malcolm Smith is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 28 August 1985, seniority 28 August 1985.

Flying Officer Kevin Georges Spicer is appointed Unit Commander, No. 41 (Kapi-Mana) ATC Squadron, with effect from 16 September 1985.

Promotions

The following officers are promoted to the rank and seniority from the dates shown:

Flying Officer P. J. Davidsen, Flight Lieutenant, 4 September 1985. Flying Officer S. E. Mansell, Flight Lieutenant, 14 September 1985. Flying Officer S. F. Thodey, Flight Lieutenant, 10 October 1985.

Flying Officer P. B. Clark, Flight Lieutenant, 12 October 1985.

Pilot Officer K. L. Rainey, Flying Officer, 27 October 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their Cadet Commissions until dates shown:

Squadron Leader W. G. Paterson, 1 November 1988.

Squadron Leader R. W. Brown, 1 November 1988.

Squadron Leader N. J. Fitzsimmons, 1 November 1988.

Flight Lieutenant N. E. Stone, 27 September 1988.

Flight Lieutenant T. C. Walsh, 1 November 1988.

Flying Officer G. A. Williams, 5 November 1988.

Pilot Officer D. C. Baker, 17 November 1988.

Retirements

Pilot Officer Donald Ramsay Boyd is compulsorily retired with effect from 1 January 1985.

Pilot Officer Jacqueline Dawn Thomson is compulsorily retired with effect from 1 September 1985.

Relinquishment

Flight Lieutenant C. H. Bennetts relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander No. 41 (Kapi-Mana) ATC Squadron with effect from 16 September 1985.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant C. H. Bennetts is transferred from No. 41 (Kapi-Mana) ATC Squadron to Co-ordinator Air Training Corps (Wellington) with effect from 16 September 1985.

Flying Officer W. A. Boreham is transferred from No. 18 (Avon) ATC Squadron to No. 38 (Waimari) ATC Squadron with effect 17 September 1985.

Pilot Officer D. J. Lawrence is transferred from No. 7 (Hamilton) ATC Squadron to No. 32 (Feilding) ATC Squadron with effect 1 August 1985.

Pilot Officer D. J. Mathews is transferred from No. 44 (Paeroa) ATC Squadron to No. 29 (Rotorua) ATC Squadron with effect 28 August 1985.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of October 1985.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.