Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellations, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces.

SEA CADET CORPS

Appointments

Grant Alan Osmond is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign on probation with effect from 2 May 1985, seniority 2 May 1985.

Hori Maureamai Briggs is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign with effect from 31 July 1985, seniority 31 July 1985.

Judith Philippa Smith is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign on probation with effect from 31 July 1985, seniority 31 July 1985.

Promotions

The following officers are promoted to the rank and with seniority from the dates shown:

Ensign H. A. Huria, Sub Lieutenant, 12 August 1985.

Ensign R. P. Flemming, Sub Lieutenant, 23 August 1985.

Ensign L. A. Wood, Sub Lieutenant, 1 September 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Lieutenant I. S. Grey, 20 December 1985.

Lieutenant K. L. Heward, 23 March 1988.

Lieutenant W. G. Bustard, 28 August 1988.

Sub Lieutenant Y. C. R. Mexted, 26 March 1988.

Sub Lieutenant P. W. Rowell, 20 July 1988.

Sub Lieutenant G. B. R. Morgan, 20 August 1988.

Sub Lieutenant S. W. Jackman, 20 August 1988.

Sub Lieutenant T. R. Jones, 26 September 1986.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force Commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown:

Sub Lieutenant Ernest Gray, 23 May 1985.

Sub Lieutenant David Nigel McCurdy, 7 May 1985.

Sub Lieutenant Linda Ann Ditfort, 6 May 1985.

Transfer To/From Supernumerary List

Sub Lieutenant G. A. Knewstubb is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 13 June 1985.

Sub Lieutenant G. R. Ford is transferred from the Supernumerary List to TS Gambia with effect from 24 July 1985.

Ensign D. Bland is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 11 July 1985.

Awards of Cadet Forces Medals and Clasp

Lieutenant Kenneth Leonard Heward is awarded the Cadet Force Medal with effect from 27 February 1985.

Reactivation

John Walter Te Moananui is reactivated to a cadet commission in the rank of Sub Lieutenant with effect from 10 June 1985, seniority 10 October 1981.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Appointments

Herbert William Irwin is appointed to a cadet Commission in the rank of Major with effect from 23 July 1985, seniority 23 July 1974.

Alastair Copley Christine is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Captain with effect from 23 July 1985, seniority 28 March 1980.

Raymond John Davey is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 22 July 1985, seniority 22 December 1983.

Alan Michael Quinn is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 23 July 1985, seniority 23 August 1984.

Tiaki Paora Tuhwai is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 2 August 1985, seniority 1 July 1985.

Helen Judith Thomas is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Second Lieutenant with effect from 2 August 1985, seniority 2 August 1985.

Retirements

Lieutenant A. R. Crayton is compulsorily retired with effect from 12 June 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Temporary Major R. E. Brine, 21 September 1988.

Captain M. A. Tucker, 5 March 1986.

Lieutenant R. L. S. Smith, 20 August 1987.

Second Lieutenant N. R. Anderson, 11 July 1988.

Second Lieutenant W. G. Kibby, 20 July 1988.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

Robert James Wallace is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 16 May 1985, seniority 16 May 1985.

Graeme Howard Wattam is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 22 July 1985, seniority 22 November 1984.

Ruth Gwen Thompson is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 22 July 1985, seniority 22 July 1985.

David Louis Moore is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 25 July 1985, seniority 25 July 1985.

Roake David McKinley is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 31 July 1985, seniority 31 July 1985.

Esther Mary Fretwell is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 12 August 1985, seniority 12 August 1985.

William George Salt is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 25 July 1985, seniority 25 July 1984.

Flying Officer Cecil John Jennings is appointed Unit Commander No. 31 (Morrinsville) ATC Squadron with effect 21 May 1985.

Flying Officer Brian Kelly is appointed Unit Commander No. 36 (Greymouth) ATC Squadron with effect 24 July 1985.

Flight Lieutenant John Ivan Harris is appointed Unit Commander No. 26 (Oamaru) ATC Squadron with effect 12 June 1985.

Flight Lieutenant Wayne Robert Lapthorne is appointed Temporary Squadron Leader No. 12 (Invercargill) ATC Squadron with effect 4 July 1985.

Flying Officer Douglas Charles Walter Turner is appointed Temporary Flight Lieutenant No. 11 (Hastings) ATC Squadron with effect 1 August 1985.

Promotion

The following officers are promoted to the rank and with seniority from the dates shown:

Flight Lieuteuant C. H. Quirk, Squadron Leader, 8 September 1985.

Flying Officer S. R. Lynch, Flight Lieutenant, 12 June 1985.

Flying Officer J. M. Roberts, Flight Lieutenant, 8 August 1985.

Pilot Officer R. A. Mason, Flying Officer, 18 April 1985.

Pilot Officer P. W. France, Flying Officer, 14 June 1985.

Pilot Officer P. B. Lewis, Flying Officer, 16 June 1985.

Pilot Officer R. King, Flying Officer, 11 July 1985.

Pilot Officer S. J. Hobbs, Flying Officer, 2 August 1985.

Pilot Officer G. A. Joseph, Flying Offcer, 12 August 1985.

Pilot Officer R. A. Meyst, Flying Officer, 10 September 1985.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Flying Officer G. C. W. Dent, 5 July 1988.

Flying Officer B. H. Hunt, 5 July 1988.

Flying Officer J. M. Roberts, 8 August 1988.