The seniority of Lieutenant J. A. Moir is antedated to 28 April 1979

Ensign J. M. Sheppard to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1985.

The appointment of Ensign Desley Claire Hancock is terminated at her own request, with effect from 10 December 1984.

EMERGENCY LIST OF OFFICERS OF THE NAVAL RESERVES

The following officers are placed on the Retired List with effect from the date shown:

Commander Graham James Bosson, 23 October 1984.

Commander Warren William Devin, 21 November 1984.

Commander Laurence Paul Mason, 21 December 1984.

Lieutenant Commander Ian Martin Halliday, B.SC., 26 October 1984.

Surgeon Lieutenant Arthur Lloyd Greensmith, B.D.S., 28 November 1984.

The period of re-employment of Lieutenant N. D. Leith is extended to 23 November 1984.

The period of service of Sub Lieutenant Jane Elizabeth O'Shea on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves is terminated, with effect from 20 December 1984.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1985.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.

35

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellations, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces.

SEA CADET CORPS

Appointments

Graham John Searle is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign on probation, with effect from 26 October 1984, seniority 26 October 1984.

Susan Sorich is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Ensign, on probation, with effect from 3 December 1984, seniority 3 December 1984.

Lieutenant Michael Peter Doole is appointed Temporary Lieutenant Commander, with effect 29 October 1984.

Promotions

The following officers are promoted to the rank and with seniority from the dates shown:

Lieutenant A. J. S. Novelle, Lieutenant Commander, 9 September 1984.

Temporary Lieutenant W. G. Bustard, Lieutenant, 10 January 1985.

Sub Lieutenant S. A. Punter, Lieutenant, 28 November 1984. Ensign A. G. MacFarlane, Sub Lieutenant, 29 November 1984.

Extensions

The following officers have been granted an extension to their cadet commissions until dates shown:

Lieutenant T. P. Carr, 17 December 1987.

Lieutenant J. E. Dunn, 25 August 1987.

Lieutenant R. H. Richardson, 31 December 1985.

Lieutenant P. S. G. Robinson, 3 July 1986.

Sub Lieutenant L. A. Ditford, 20 November 1985.

Retirements

Lieutenant J. S. Henderson retires his Cadet Force commission, with effect from 16 December 1984.

Lieutenant J. F. Collins retires his Cadet Force commission, with effect from 31 December 1984.

Sub Lieutenant G. R. Lea is compulsorily retired, with effect from 5 November 1984.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown:

Lieutenant Raymond Alfred Taylor, 31 December 1984.

Sub Lieutenant Paraumate Ngawhika, 17 September 1984.

Sub Lieutenant Graham Harold Peat, 5 December 1984.

Sub Lieutenant Shirley Louise May, 15 December 1984.

Transfer To/From Supernumerary List

Sub Lieutenant P. L. Richardson is transferred to the Supernumerary List, with effect from 31 October 1984.

Sub Lieutenant G. R. Ford is transferred to the Supernumerary List, with effect from 23 November 1984.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Appointments

Second Lieutenant Tongaarangi Maxwell Karena is appointed Temporary Lieutenant, with effect from 9 September 1984.

Promotions

Lieutenant R. M. Carter is promoted to Captain, with effect from 1 October 1984.

Resignations

The following officers have resigned their Cadet Force commissions and are discharged with effect from the dates shown:

Major Ernest Sinclair Diack, 7 December 1984.

Captain Russell John Edwards, 7 December 1984.

Lieutenant Leo John Hopkinson, 7 December 1984.

Lieutenant Rodney Paul James Stuart, 7 December 1984.

Second Lieutenant David Patrick Gruschow, 7 December 1984.

Second Lieutenant Lilat Prasad, 7 December 1984.

Second Lieutenant Gerard Thomas Mahony, 7 December 1984. Second Lieutenant John Trevlyn McKenzie, 7 December 1984.

Retirements

Major J. E. Bray retires his Cadet Force commission, with effect from 7 December 1984.

Major R. Vann retires his Cadet Force commission, with effect from 7 December 1984.

The following officers have been compulsorily retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Captain R. Meikle, 7 December 1984.

Lieutenant K. O. Ritchie, 7 December 1984.

Lieutenant B. S. Pickard, 7 December 1984.

Relinquishment

Major Ernest Sinclair Diack relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander, John McGlashan College School Cadet Unit, with effect from 7 December 1984.

Major John Eric Bray relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander, Bayfield High School Cadet Unit, with effect from 7 December 1984.

Extensions

Major R. B. Ching has been granted an extension to his Cadet Force commission until 1 December 1987.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

Peter William Tickner is appointed to a Cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 13 November 1984, seniority 13 April 1983.

John Leslie McDonald is appointed to a Cadet commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with effect from 14 November 1984, seniority 14 November 1980.

Flight Lieutenant Colin Erwin Douglas Sigglekow is appointed Temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 4 December 1984.

Flying Officer Paul Barry Clark is appointed Acting Unit Commander, No. 18 (Avon) ATC Squadron, with effect 1 October 1984.

Flying Officer Douglas Charles Walter Turner is appointed Unit Commander, No. 11 (Hastings) ATC Squadron, with effect 1 December 1984.

Flying Officer Kevin William Blair is appointed Unit Commander, No. 48 (Stratford) ATC Squadron, with effect 21 November 1984.

Flying Officer John Leslie McDonald is appointed Unit Commander, No. 32 (Feilding) ATC Squadron, with effect 30 December 1984.

Pilot Officer James Theodore Olvanhill is appointed Unit Commander, No. 50 (Alexandra) ATC Squadron, with effect 16 December 1984.