

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

OF

THURSDAY, 10 JANUARY 1985

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON: WEDNESDAY, 16 JANUARY 1985

New Year Honours 1985

His Excellency The Govenor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of the New Year 1985, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL LIST

KNIGHTS BACHELOR

Dr William Henry COOPER, C.B.E., of Auckland. For services to education and the community.

The Honourable Lester Francis MOLLER, of Auckland. Judge of the High Court.

Desmond John SULLIVAN, of Lower Hutt. Chief District Court Judge.

THE MOST DISTINGUISHED ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Miss Emily Elizabeth CARPENTER, of Dunedin. For services to the Consumer Council and home science.

Kevin Benjamin O'BRIEN, of Wellington. For services to Victoria University of Wellington and the Commerce Commission.

Professor Emeritus Geoffrey Joseph SCHMITT, of Auckland. For services to industry and education.

Alfred Charles SHAILES, of Wellington. Controller and Auditor-General, Audit Department, 1975-83.

THE MOST EXCELLENT ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE D.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Catherine Anne, Mrs TIZARD, of Auckland. For public and community service.

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

(Frederick) Miles WARREN, C.B.E., of Christchurch. For services to architecture.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Brian George Conway ELWOOD, J.P., of Palmerston North. For services to local government and the City of Palmerston North.

- Charles Philip LITTLEJOHN, of Wellington. Clerk of the House of Representatives.
- Professor Alton Donald MACALISTER, E.D., of Dunedin. For services to oral surgery and the community.
- The Right Reverend William Allan PYATT, of Christchurch. Bishop of Christchurch 1966-83.
- Bruce Houlton SLANE, of Auckland. President of the New Zealand Law Society.
- Professor Christian Karlson STEAD, of Auckland. For services to literature.