Dr Desmond John WOODS, of Auckland. For services to paediatrics, especially intellectually handicapped and disabled children.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Leo Vernon BENSEMANN, of Christchurch. For services to art, literature and printing.

Miss Brenda Cecilia BRANKIN, of Christchurch. Lately Chief Nurse, Canterbury Hospital Board.

Niall Frederick BURGESS, J.P., of Auckland. For services to local government.

William George CAMMICK, of Auckland. For services to sport, especially boxing.

Neil John CLARKE, J.P., of Paeroa. For services to the road transport industry and the community.

Herbert Roy DUTTON, of Raumati South. For services to the New Zealand Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association.

Judge Trevor Robert GILLIES, of Auckland. For services to the community.

Antony HEARN, Q.C., of Christchurch. For services to the legal profession.

William Joseph KARETAI, J.P., of Little River, Banks Peninsula. For services to the community.

Miss Ria May McBRIDE, of Tauranga. For public services.

Bruce Conway McCORMACK, of Temuka. For services to basketball.

Professor Peter John McKELVEY, of Christchurch. Professor and Head of School of Forestry, University of Canterbury 1967– 84

William John MAIN, of Wanganui. For services to cycling.

James Murray PRINT, of Auckland. For services to education and the community.

Miss Gladys Mabel SYMES, J.P., of Havelock North. For services to the New Zealand Red Cross Society, netball and the community.

John Alexander YOUNG, J.P., of Wellington. For services to journalism and the community.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Quentin Edward ANGUS, of Wellington. For services to the disabled.

Roger Gault BARROWCLOUGH, of Dunedin. For services to mountain safety.

Gordon CHRISTIE, J.P., of Napier. For public and community service.

Russell COUTTS, of Auckland. For services to yachting.

Eric Nelson CRAIG, of Auckland. For services to music.

Ian Gordon FERGUSON, of Auckland. For services to canoeing.

John Edward FITZGERALD, of Auckland. For services to local body and community affairs.

John Philip HARDING, of Kaponga. For services to the community.

Harold Brydon HARVEY, of Stoke, Nelson. For services to tennis.

Kevin Francis HERLIHY, of Hamilton (presently in U.S.A.). For services to softball.

Norman Leslie HIDER, of Christchurch. For services to Highland Pipe Bands Association of New Zealand.

Patrick KELLIHER, J.P., of Palmerston North. For services to local body and community affairs.

Douglas Sidney Stratford KERR, of Wellington. Lately Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister.

Shona Katrine, Mrs MacTAVISH, of Dunedin. For services to the arts.

Dorothy Huhana, Mrs MIHINUI, J.P., of Whakarewarewa. For services to the tourist industry and the community.

Robert Edward PERKS, of Christchurch. For services to music.

Neville George PICKERING, J.P., of Petone. For services to local government.

Dr William Mummery PLATTS, of Christchurch. For services to medicine.

Laurence Bernard ROBERTS, of Levin. For services to the community.

Sidney Douglas SHERWOOD, of Lower Hutt. For services to the New Zealand War Amputees Association.

Miljenko Vladimir SRHOJ, of Waiharara, Northland. For services to local body and community affairs.

Bert SUTCLIFFE, of Auckland. For services to cricket.

Mark James TODD, of Cambridge. For services to equestrian sport.

Ruth Mellor, Mrs WYLIE, of Lower Hutt. For services to the National Council of Women of New Zealand.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

Rewi ALLEY, M.M., of Beijing, Peoples Republic of China.

Joyce Joan, Mrs HERD, of Dunedin.

James MacDonald HOWDEN, of Lower Hutt.

Louisa Emily, Lady MacFARLANE, of Christchurch.

Miss Myrtle May PAULSEN, of Michoacon, Mexico.

Betty Head, Mrs TOGALEA, J.P., of Auckland.

O.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

Norman Wilfred CURRIE, of Wellington. Lately Public Trustee, Public Trust Office.

John (Jack) DELLACA, of Westport.

Thomas Christopher GRIGG, of Hororata, Canterbury. Chairman, North Canterbury Hospital Board.

John HOBSON, M.B.E., of Kumeu, Auckland. Lately Superintendent, Auckland Maximum Security Prison, Department of Justice.

Lieutenant Colonel Arthur Robert Percy HUGHES, J.P., of Swanson, Auckland.

Clyde Molesworth JEFFERY, B.E.M., J.P., of Napier.

Taxi Aonui KAPUA-TE AHURU, of Taupo.

Murray Raymond MANDER, of Tauranga. Lately Valuer-General, Valuation Department.

Alexander James Lloyd Martin, of Wellington.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

Q.S.M.

Alys, Mrs ALEXANDER, of Napier.

Ida Ailsa Cressey, Mrs BOAG, of Hastings.