- (2) Notwithstanding the revocation of the clauses, schedule, and order specified in clause 7 of this order, those clauses and that schedule and order shall apply in respect of any election before the 1986 triennial general election as if this order had not been made.
- 3. Constituent districts declared—(1) The Sockburn district community shall be a separate constituent district of the district of the Board.

(2) The Hornby district community shall be a separate constit-

- (3) The Yaldhurst, Islington, West Melton, Templeton, Prebbleton, Broadfield/Ladbrooks, and Tai Tapu Ridings of Paparua County, and that part of the Halswell Rural Riding of that county shall together be a separate constituent district of the district of the Board.
- 4. Combined districts—Where the names of 2 or more constituent districts within the district of the Central Canterbury Electric Power Board are shown bracketed together in the first column of the First Schedule to this order, those constituent districts are hereby combined into a combined district for the purpose of the election of representatives on the Board of that district.
- 5. Principal local authorities—Where 2 or more constituent districts are combined into a combined district under clause 4 of this order, the council of that one of them after whose name in the first column of the First Schedule to this order the expression "(P)" placed is hereby selected and appointed to be the principal local authority of that combined district within the meaning of and for the purposes of the Act.
- 6. Representation of constituent districts and combined district-There shall be elected to the Board as the representatives of every constituent district or combined district specified in the first col-umn of the First Schedule to this order the number of persons specified in the second column of that Schedule opposite the reference to that constituent district or combined district.
- 7. Revocations—The clauses, schedule, and order specified in the Second Schedule to this order are hereby revoked.

SCHEDULES FIRST SCHEDULE

REPRESENTATION ON BOARD

| Constituent Districts and Combined Districts | Number of Representatives |
|---|---------------------------|
| Akaroa County (P) Wairewa County | |
| Mount Herbert County | |
| Those parts of the Heathcote County and | 1 |
| Lyttelton Borough that are within the district of the Board | |
| Ellesmere County | 2 |
| Sockburn Ward of Paparua County | . 1 |
| Hornby Ward of Paparua County | 2 |
| The Yaldhurst, Islington, West Melton, Tem- | |
| pleton, Prebbleton, Broadfield/Ladbrooks, | |
| and Tai Tapu Ridings of Paparua County | |
| and that part of the Halswell Rural Riding | |
| of that county that is within the district of | |
| the Board | 2 |
| Malvern County | 2 |
| | |

SECOND SCHEDULE

| REVOCATIONS | |
|---|-------------------|
| Order | Gazette Reference |
| Clauses 4 to 8 of, and the Second Schedule to, the Central Canterbury Electric Power | |
| District Order 1965 The Central Canterbury Electric Power Dis- | 1965, p. 440 |
| trict Order 1965, Amendment No. 3 | 1971, p. 1681 |
| P. G. MILLEN, | |
| Clerk of the Executive Council. | |

Taranaki County-Waitara Borough Union Order 1986

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 28th day of July 1986 Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Taranaki County-Waitara Borough Union Order 1986.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of October 1986, provided that insofar as it is necessary to provide for the election of members of the district council at the local authority elections to be held on 11 October 1986, the provisions of this order shall come into force on the date of the making of the order.
- 2. Constitution—(1) The County of Taranaki and the Borough of Waitara shall be united into one district to be known as the North Taranaki District (hereinafter referred to as "the united district").
- (2) The Taranaki County Council and the Waitara Borough Council (hereinafter referred to as "the uniting authorities") shall be dissolved.
 - (3) All ridings of the former Taranaki County shall be abolished.
- (4) There shall be a council for the united district to be known as the "North Taranaki District Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the district council").
- (5) The Oakura Community and Community Council shall enure as if they had been constituted by the district council.
- 3. Wards—There shall be constituted six wards for the united district as described in the Schedule to this scheme to be known as follows:

Waitara Ward Brixton Ward Hillsborough Ward Mangorei Ward Oakura Ward Okato Ward.

- 4. Membership of District Council—(1) Until the date of the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held on 11 October 1986:
 - (i) The Mayor of the former Borough of Waitara shall be the Chairman of the united district;
 - (ii) The Chairman of the former Taranaki County shall be the Deputy Chairman of the united district;
 - (iii) The district council shall comprise those members of the uniting authorities holding office immediately prior to the dissolution.
- (2) From the date of the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held on 11 October 1986, the district council shall comprise 10 members elected as follows:

Five members to be elected by the electors of the Waitara Ward. One member to be elected by the electors of the Brixton Ward. One member to be elected by the electors of the Hillsborough Ward.

One member to be elected by the electors of the Mangorei Ward. One member to be elected by the electors of the Oakura Ward. One member to be elected by the electors of the Okato Ward.

- (3) Until the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held in 1989 the district council shall have a Chairman and thereafter may have a Mayor or a Chairman as determined by special order made under section 91 of the Local Government Act 1974.
- 5. First Meeting of Council—The first meeting of the district council shall be convened by the person holding the office of County Clerk of the Taranaki County Council immediately before this order
- **6. Returning Officer**—For the purposes of arranging the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held on 11 October 1986 the principal administrative officer and the returning officer for the united district shall be the principal administrative officer and the returning officer of the former Taranaki County.
- 7. Membership of Taranaki United Council—(1) The district council shall appoint two members of the Taranaki United Council.
- (2) Those members of the Taranaki United Council appointed separately by the Councils of the uniting authorities shall continue in office until such time as their successors are appointed by the district council following the triennial general elections of members of local authorities to be held on 11 October 1986.
- 8. Finance—(1) Notwithstanding anything in this order, the united district shall for the purposes of finance be divided into two divisions as follows:
 - (i) The Waitara Urban Division, which shall comprise the Waitara Ward; and
 - (ii) The Rural division, which shall comprise the remainder of the district.