Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain (acting Major) A. G. Connell to be temp. Major with effect from 30 June 1986.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant R. P. Cassidy to be acting Captain until 3 November 1986, with effect from 13 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Captain R. N. Paton to be temp. Major with effect from 24 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant Colonel M. F. Dodson, M.C., to be acting Colonel with effect from 28 October 1986 and temp. Colonel with effect from 11 November 1986.

Major J. R. Webb is re-engaged until 27 July 1992.

Supernumerary List

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. S. Hurle to be Captain with seniority from 18 April 1986 and effect from 4 November 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF TRANSPORT

Captain and Quartermaster A. K. Rogers is re-engaged until 26 January 1994.

2nd Lieutenant J. L. Luttrell to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 8 September 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Lieutenant Colonel Terence David McBeth is transferred from the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with seniority from 20 April 1983, effect from 3 November 1986 and is engaged until retiring age for rank.

The seniority of Major N. A. Hitchings is antedated to 1 August 1984.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Lieutenant and Quartermaster P. J. Stitt to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 1 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain Class IV R. D. Short is re-engaged until 13 October 1991.

ROYAL N.Z. MILITARY POLICE

Captain A. J. K. George is re-engaged until 5 August 1997.

Lieutenant E. J. Pos to be Captain with seniority and effect from 6 June 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Captain L. E. Webster, B.A., is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 25 October 1986.

Lieutenant G. J. Diack, M.A. (HONS.), to be temp. Captain with effect from 31 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Lieutenant D. C. Kimber to be Captain with seniority and effect from 12 September 1986.

Anthony John Dayton Lewis is appointed to a commission on a fixed engagement of 3 years in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 10 October 1984 and effect from 10 October 1986.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

3rd Field Squadron, RNZE

Gilman Laing, E.M., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 30 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast, RNZIR

Major R. G. Milne to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 1 April 1986.

David Eric Garlick is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 September 1985. 5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Allen Stuart Mazengarb is transferred to the Army Reserve, Regimental List of Officers, 5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 30 September 1986.

Lieutenant J. H. Miller to be Captain with seniority from 31 August 1986 and effect from 30 September 1986.

6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

Captain R. B. Mack to be temp. Major with effect from 15 September 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF TRANSPORT

1st Transport Squadron, RNZCT

2nd Lieutenant T. F. Leighs to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Lieutenant E. R. Everest, M.B., CH.B., to be temp. Captain with effect from 29 November 1985.

2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Major A. J. Thurston, M.B., CH.B., M.SC., to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 1 August 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Captain Susan Joan Jackson is transferred from the Retired List in her present rank, with seniority and effect from 1 September 1986

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters Company Land Force Command

Captain Laverne Elva Webster, B.A., Royal N.Z. Army Education Corps, is transferred from the Regular Force in her present rank, with seniority from 13 December 1983 and effect from 25 October 1986.

Headquarters Force Maintenance Group

Major J. E. Thompson, E.D., Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, is transferred to the Special Service List of the Territorial Force in his present rank, with seniority and effect from 5 May 1986.

ARMY RESERVE

General List of Officers

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Lieutenant Colonel T. D. McBeth is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 3 November 1986.

Retired List

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Captain S. J. Jackson is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 1 September 1986.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of November 1986.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.

200

Honorary Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments to His Excellency's Honorary Staff for the period 18 November 1986 to 31 October 1987.

HONORARY AIDES

1. Auckland

Commander John Selwyn Charles Clark, RNZN. Lieutenant Colonel Philip Owen Maguire, RNZIR. Wing Commander Lindsay Murray Laing, RNZAF.

2. Wellington

Commander Bruce Noffke, RNZN. Lieutenant Colonel Cameron Edmund McIver, RNZCT. Wing Commander Kelvin Leon Crofskey, RNZAF.

3. Christchurch

Lieutenant Commander David Townend Watson, RNZN (in continuation).

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel Ross Graham Milne, RNZIR (TF).

Wing Commander Richard John Metcalfe, RNZAF.