Similar to objection No. 1.

Objection No. 1791 NZ National Party Ashburton Electorate

Similar to objection No. 1.

Objection No. 2004 Jenny Shipley National Party candidate for Ashburton

Similar to objection No. 1.

## WAITAKI

Objection No. 15 M.McCone of Oamaru

Objects to being transferred from the Waitaki electorate into the Otago electorate on the grounds of community of interest and geographic factors and logic.

Objection No. 18 Temuka Borough Council

Objects to the borough being included in the Waitaki electorate on the grounds that only population has been considered and not community of interest communication facilities existing boundaries and topographical features.

Objection No. 125 Waimate County Council

- Object to the inclusion of Temuka in the Waitaki electorate as its community of interest lies closer to Timaru then the rest of the Waitaki proposal.
- Recommend that Timaru electorate be reduced to meet more closely the boundaries of Timaru city, and that a corridor be included out to Temuka and include it in the Timaru electorate. Also considers that Waitaki is an inappropriate name and should be renamed South Canterbury.

Objection No. 126 E.M. Granville of Geraldine

Objects to the conflict of community interest if those in the county remain in the proposed South Canterbury electorate while objector is in Waitaki electorate.

Objection No. 170 M. Mackerras of Dunedin

Suggests that the name be changed to South Canterbury.

Objection No. 182 M. and S. Davis of Oamaru

Object to the proposed boundaries of Otago and Waitaki as it divides a community of interest namely Oamaru. What happens in Waitaki county directly affects Oamaru and vice versa and should be represented by one MP.

Objection No. 214 Geraldine Borough Council

- Objects on the grounds that the commission in the interests of establishing a uniform population for each of the proposed electorates has given no consideration to the matters contained in Section 16(1)(f) of the Electoral Act. That in naming the proposed electorates it has not taken into account the traditional names of districts in our area and consequently the names given to electorates in our immediate area bear no resemblance to the actual areas they serve.
- The commission should incorporate the area covered by Geraldines local community of interest into the one electorate. The name of the proposed Waitaki electorate should be changed to Aorangi or South Canterbury. The proposed South Canterbury electorate should be named Ashburton.

Objection No. 215 Waimate Borough Council

- The proposed Waitaki electorate should be renamed South Canterbury.
- Objection No. 247 NZ Democratic Party Waitaki Electorate Branch
- Object on the grounds that the community of interest has been ignored. Wrong to remove Weston and the other communities of the Waitaki country from Oamaru for representation.

Objection No. 248 Waitaki County Council

Similar to objection No. 247

Suggest that the proposed boundary be altered to exclude a small portion of the Kakanui Riding south of Oamaru from the

- Waitaki electorate and to include the community council area of Weston in the Waitaki electorate.
- Objection No. 504 E.M.P. and A.R. Anderson

The area of Weston should not be included in Otago.

Objection No. 528 L.S. Kane of Oamaru

Similar to objection No. 182.

- Objection No. 1796 Petition from Oamaru
- 14 signatories objecting to the proposed changes to the Waitaki and Otago electorates.
- Objection No. 1986 Strathallen County Council
- Object to the proposed electoral boundaries for the Waitaki, Timaru and South Canterbury electorates. There is no community of interest between Oamaru, and the northern end of the electorate.
- The Temuka/Winchester/Geraldine areas have interests based in Timaru.
- Waitaki should be renamed South Canterbury. South Canterbury should continue with the name Ashburton or be called Mid Canterbury.
- Objection No. 2005 Oamaru Borough Council and Waitaki County Council and Petition of Residents
- Boundary between the Otago and Waitaki electorates be altered so as to include in the Waitaki Electorate the Western Community Council District.
- The councils believe that the boundary can be redrawn very simply as follows:
- 'From the point where the boundary of the Waiareka and Kakanui Ridings meet the Oamaru Borough boundary at the south end of Oamaru establish that riding boundary as the electoral boundary until it meets Airedale Road (or also known as White Rocks Road) thence north to meet the boundary of Weston Community Council following it round to where it meets up with Homestead Road thence along Homestead Road to meet up with the Papakaio Riding Boundary'.

## OTAGO

Objection No. 170 M. Mackerras of Dunedin

Suggests the electorate name be changed to North Otago.

- Objection No. 234 W.A. Gordon, N.G. Watson and D. Mackenzie of Garston
- Residents of the Garston/Kingston districts object to the portion of the proposed boundaries which transfers most of the residents from the Wallace to the Otago electorate.
- On the grounds of dividing a small community and that the community of interest is towards Southland and the Wallace electorate. A poll was conducted of all those registered as parliamentary electors as at 1 August 1986 numbered 104 electors. Eighty-eight were in favour of remaining in Wallace. Six were in favour of the new boundaries. Eight were of no fixed opinion.
- Objection No. 508 L and J.C. Mathieson of Oamaru want Waiameka Riding in the Waitaki electorate.
- Objection No. 1758 H.D. and J.M. Growers of Omakau
- Object to proposed changes in Otago Central.
- Objection No. 1788 E.C. Willetts of Oamaru

Object to the removal of Weston from the Waitaki electorate.

CLUTHA

(Objections to be read in conjunction with Otago)

- Objection No. 118 C. Mouat and 2059 petitioners
- A petition to allow the residents of Alexandra Borough, Clyde Township, Galloway, Springvale, Fruitlands, Earnscleugh districts to remain in the Otago Electorate with which they have a community of interest and a strong geographical base.
- Objection No. 121 R.R. Macfie, Chairman Manuherikia Irrigation Scheme
- Objections on behalf of 225 irrigators which removes a scheme area from the electorate where there is intense interest in irrigation to an electorate where there is no interest in irrigation.
- Objection No. 145 Alexandra Jaycee Inc

Similar to Objection No. 118 and 121.

Objection No. 167 Alexandra Country Women's Institute

Object to changing of electorate from Otago as they are the heart of