objection would be met by the inclusion of Acacia Bay and Wairakei in the Waikaremoana Electorate.

Objection No. 1998 Acacia Bay Ratepayers' Progressive Assn (Inc)

Object to being removed from the Waikaremoana Electoral District as they have no affinity or connection with the Tongariro electoral area. The boundary has caused a division of the Taupo township.

Objection No. 1999 NZ National Party Taupo Branch Similar to objection No. 1998.

## **TARAWERA**

Objection No. 212 N.W. Morrell of Galatea

Requests the commission to revise the proposal boundary and leave the Murupara, Galatea, Waiohau, Matahina district in the East Cape electorate because of the need for stability and the community of interests criterion.

Objection No. 213 Galatea Branch of Federated Farmers of NZ Similar to objection No. 212.

### WAIKAREMOANA

Objection No. 227 H.S. Logan of Hastings

Objects to an area of prime farming land on the southern sides of the Ngaruroro River being joined to the then electorate which is huge and very different in character from the Hawkes Bay country. It will be difficult to have a close association with the Member of Parliament.

Objection No. 1769 Petition by Maraekakaho Home & School Association, 15 signatories.

Wish to remain in Hawkes Bay electorate

Objection No. 1792 Petition from Raukawa Hall Committee 6 signatories from Ruakawa who have no community of association with Waikaremoana and wish to be included in the Hawkes Bay electorate.

Objection No. 1793 Petition from Raukawa School Association and Raukawa Cricket Club

20 signatories, similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1797 Petition from Maraekakaho Sports Club

12 signatories. Object to Maraekakaho area being in Waikaremoana and wish to remain in Hawkes Bay to which they readily identify.

Objection No. 1798 Petition Maraekakakaho Womens Institute

13 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1799 Petition Poukawa Social Committee

24 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1800 Petition Maraekakaho Red Cross

39 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1987 Petition Maraekakaho

Branch Federated Farmers, 133 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1988 Petition Maraekakaho Play Group 15 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1989 Petition Ngatarawa Water Race Committee 4 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1990 Petition Rankawa School Committee

2 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1991 Petition Maraekakaho Hall Board

12 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1992 Petition Maraekakaho School Committee Similar to objection No. 1792. 5 signatories.

Objection No. 1993 Petition Mangatahi School Committee

6 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1994 Petition Maraekakaho Young Farmers Club 6 signatories. Similar to objection No. 1792.

Objection No. 1995 Petition Maraekakaho Sports Club 18 signatories. Similar to 1792.

## GISBORNE

Objection No. 143 Waikohu County Council

Object to the division of the county between the Gisborne and East

Cape electorates. Requests that the whole of the Waikohu County be placed into one rural electorate on the eastern side.

#### HAWKES BAY

Objection No. 1768 Petition by Residents of Tamatea West

44 signatories object to the continued division of Tamatea between the Napier and Hawkes Bay electorates and want to be in the Napier electorate.

### **HASTINGS**

(Objections to be read in conjunction with Hawkes Bay)

Objection No. 172 Havelock North Borough

That the Hastings electorate boundary should be altered to include the entire Havelock North Borough as it is a totally urban area which identifies with the Hastings urban electorate and not the Hawkes Bay electorate.

Objection No. 495 Hawkes Bay County Council

The inclusion of three large ridings, namely Okawa, Maraekakakaho and Poukawa into the Waikaremoana electorate is illogical. Breaks community of interest, topographical limitations and electorate communications difficulties. Similarly in Hawkes Bay and Pahiatua electorates.

Similar to objection No. 172.

These areas of Hastings, i.e., Havelock North Main Road and the general area of St Georges and St Andrews Road should be transferred to Hawkes Bay. Flaxmere should be in Hastings Electorate and Havelock North in Hawkes Bay Electorate.

Objection No. 496 Hastings City Council

Similar to objection No. 495.

## PAHIATUA

Objection No. 1781 Registrar of Electors, Dannevirke Small portions of Hawkes Bay County are in Pahiatua.

The descriptions of the portions concerned are:

- 1 Area of land between Tutituki River—Papanui Stream; Meshblock 01 523 300 222 (no electors)
- 2 Area of land (56.4 hectares) west of Hawea Stream; Meshblock 01 523 000 236 (no electors)
- 3 Middle Road; ESD Te Aute Trust Road for 300 m South; Meshblock 01 523 000 201 (no electors)
- 4 Te Aute Trust Road; SSD Middle Road for 300 m West; Meshblock 01 523 000 201 (no electors)
- 5 Waipoapoa Road; 2K E Kahuranaki Road for 3.5K E; Meshblock 01 523 600 243 (3 electors)

Transfer of the above 5 items would result in no part of the Hawkes Bay County remaining in the Pahiatua electorate.

# KING COUNTRY

Objection No. 207 Eltham District Council

Previously the district was neatly divided between two electorates with which we have a community of interest. We wish to retain the existing boundaries.

The former borough and county have united to consolidate the district and promote its future. The proposal fragments the area with our major urban centre and part of our rural area being included in an electorate with which the residents have no community of interest.

The council requests the commission to alter the boundary of King Country to coincide with the northern boundary of the Eltham District Council area which would leave the whole of the Eltham urban ward and the whole of the East rural ward within the Waitotara electorate. An adjustment between King Country/Taranaki boundaries in the north and the Taranaki/Waitotara boundaries in the south would overcome the 5% quota problem with the adjustments suggested. The balance in the Waitotara electorate can be retained by transferring that portion of the Waimate West County proposed to be included in the Waitotare electorate into the Taranaki electorate.

Objection No. 2002 Stratford County Council

Objects to the proposed boundaries on the grounds of community of interest, topographical features and facilities of communication, regard to existing boundaries, split up of Stratford County, retention of provincial and regional affiliation and appropriateness of name. Suggests splitting area up into three electorates, New Plymouth—the bulk of New Plymouth city; Taranaki—include the balance of New Plymouth city; North Taranaki District—Clifton Coutny, Egmont County and Inglewood District.

Egmont-Stratford and Patea Boroughs, Manaia and Weverley