authority boundaries all of the included areas not already in Porirua City will be included.

Suggest excluding the Hutt County/Porirua areas and bring the boundary to be coincident with the Lower Hutt City boundary. Includes the areas known as Omega and Newlands north from Newlands. The south-western boundary would then follow the northern motorway and include Newlands, Horokiwi and Lower Hutt. In Porirua the southern boundary would be moved north to include more of Tawa into Ohariu.

Objection No. 1775 K. Huntington of Whitby

Similar to objection No. 181.

Objection No. 1776 K and J Bannatyne of Whitby

Consider themselves to be part of Kapiti coast and the boundary bears no relation geographically, socially or economically with Western Hutt. Want to retain present boundary and if numbers have to be reduced from Kapiti electorate then Papakowhai join Porirua.

Objection No. 1785 Parumoana Community College

Suggest that Waitangirua area from Kenepuru Stream be included in the Kapiti electorate.

Objection No. 1786 T.K. Royal of Silverstream

Similar to objection No. 1785.

Objection No. 1795 Petition concerning

Eastern Hutt/Western Hutt/Pencarrow 10 signatories

Requesting changes to proposed boundaries of

-Eastern Hutt

-Western Hutt

-Pencarrow

The objectives of the changes requested in Lower Hutt are to:

- (a) retain the new electorate populations set by the Commission;
- (b) preserve existing communities of interest where possible; and
- (c) retain existing boundaries or retain areas in existing electorates where possible.
- The three changes suggested to the proposed boundaries should approximately balance one another in their effect on electorate populations. However if necessary, the Commission could change a few streets from the boundaries suggested while following the broad intention of the suggestions.

1 Western Hutt-Pencarrow Boundary

Suggest that this boundary follow the Hutt River northwards until opposite Hutt Valley High School on its east bank; run along the south-east side of this school to Woburn Road; Wellington-Wairarapa Railway line; then north-east along this line to Epuni Railway Station.

2 Western Hutt-Eastern Hutt Boundary

Suggest that this initially follow the existing boundary from Epuni Railway Station northwards along Mitchell Street; then westwards along High Street to and along Melling Road, to and along the Hutt River north to the existing boundary.

3 Eastern Hutt—Pencarrow Boundary

Suggest retaining the existing boundary, namely, generally eastwards from the Epuni Railway Station along Hampton Court, Durham Crescent and Tilbury Street to and along the Eastern Hills.

EASTERN HUTT

Objection No. 1767 Lower Hutt City Council

Object to the location of the Eastern Hutt/Pencarrow boundary near the corner of Waddington Drive and Hammerton Street, Naenae.

OHARIU

Objection No. 21 M.R. Kilpatrick of Ngaio

- Comments that it would have made some sense to join Karori with Wellington Central boundary.
- Objection No. 75 North Johnsonville Progressive Association
- Objects to the proposed boundary between Ohariu and Wellington Central electorates as it is against the interests of the community of the area. The northern suburbs of Wellington: Ngaio, Khandallah, Johnsonville and Newlands form a compact group with common interests that should be represented by one MP.

Objection No. 183 The Johnsonville Progressive Association

Similar to objection No. 219 and 75 plus it accentuates a problem by adding part of Tawa to an already diverse and elongated strip from Karori to Newlands which makes up the electorate and does not assist in the rationalisation of local body areas and districts.

Objection No. 235 H. Warren-Jones of Johnsonville

Objects to the proposed boundary changes under the heading of community of interest.

Objection No. 1780 Petition Tawa Borough Residents

40 signatories

- We wish to record an objection to the proposed boundary between the Ohariu and Porirua Electorates.
- We, the undersigned, are Tawa Borough residents. We wish to convey to you that a survey conducted in 1985 confirmed overwhelmingly that Tawa residents are opposed to an amalgamation of the Tawa and Porirua communities. Further, we recognise that the population criterion does not allow the entire Tawa Borough to move to the Ohariu Electorate. However, we are concerned that the provisional electoral boundary divides the recognised Tawa suburb of Redwood. In order to preserve this community of interest, we believe that the new electoral boundary should be on a west-east line north of Redwood.
- We strongly recommend that the new boundary be on the line of Larsen Crescent, The Drive and Tawa Terrace.

WELLINGTON CENTRAL

Objection No. 144 L.M. Brown

Objects to the splitting of Mt Victoria into three electorates. Suggests that Mt Victoria is all in one electorate preferably Wellington Central.

Objection No. 529 Mt Victoria Residents Association Inc

- Petition of 891 signatories at the unnatural splitting of their suburb which divides the community of interest that exists in Mount Victoria and also that which exists between Mount Victoria and the Central City area.
- Suggest unifying the Mount Victoria area bounded by Kent Terrace, Paterson Street, the Town Belt, and Moeller Street, so that it is in only one electorate and incorporating this area into Wellington Central.
- Objection No. 532 I Buxton of Mt Victoria

Similar to objection No. 1.

Objection No. 1778 Federation of Wellington Progressive Association

Similar to objection No. 529 and also changes which have placed part of Johnsonville into Wellington central.

Objection No. 1779 Petition residents of Wellington Central 566 signatories

- We the residents of Wellington City, currently residing within the Wellington Central and Ohariu Electorates, object to the proposed boundaries between our two electorates. With Ohariu stretching around Wellington Central and now proceeding to the southern part of Tawa, no due consideration has been given to community of interest, to facilitaties of communication, and to topographical features, as is required under Section 16 of the Electoral Act.
- We recommend that the boundary between our two electorates run up the Ngaio Gorge, Kenya Street, Ottawa Road, and Awarua Street. This splits the two electorates into a Northern (Onslow) and a Southern (Karori), each with a population of a little over 33,000. Both have a close community of interests, good communication lines and clearly defined and understood geographic boundaries. Such boundaries are not dissimilar to electoral boundaries in the 1960's.

Objection No. 1794 A. Hill of Wellington

Similar to objection No. 144.

WAIRARAPA

Objection No. 527 NZ Labour Party

The boundary between Wairarapa and Pahiatua electorates should return to that drawn by the 1977 commission which would reinstate the historic contiguity of the Opaki riding boundary with the electoral boundary. Where possible Parliamentary boundaries should follow those of local government.

WEST COAST

- Objection No. 245 D. and O.C. James and 384 signatories of Murchison
- Object at being moved from the Tasman electorate to the West Coast electorate. Murchison and the Maruia area and all the surrounding valleys have always identified with the Nelson region and are part of the Waimea County Council and Nelson United Council. There are also natural boundaries to the South