East and South west which divide the region from the West Coast.

Objection No. 525 NZ Labour Party

The community of interest criterion is better served by including Murchison in the Tasman electorate. Supported by a petition of 355 residents.

# NORTH CANTERBURY

Objection No. 512 NZ National Party Rangiora Electorate

Object to the name of the electorate, inclusion of part of Oxford County in Selwyn electorate and inclusion of part of Kaikoura county in Marlborough electorate.

Objection No. 515 NZ Labour Party

Submits that the Risely Subdivision, an integral part of Kaiapoi township, be kept in North Canterbury. Oxford should be transferred in to Selwyn to compensate.

Objection No. 1777 Rangiora District Council

Objects to the name change for Rangiora.

#### **SELWYN**

Objection No. 239 NZ National Party Selwyn Electorate and Ruth Richardson, MP for Selwyn

The proposed Selwyn boundaries fail to reflect the statutory requirements of existing boundaries of electoral districts, community of interest, facilities of communications, and topographical features.

The preferred remedy should be that the commission take a policy decision to cope with the loss of population to the South of Selwyn, by the elimination of an electorate to the South of Selwyn or failing this the commission should make a decision to go to the limit of the tolerances, both high and low, in order to restore a semblance of community of interest to the Selwyn boundaries.

Objection No. 518 Eyre County Council

Object to the siting of the northern boundary of the Selwyn electorate where it joins the North Canterbury electorate. The proposed boundary takes in the whole of Eyre County which is unrealistic. Suggest the northern boundary be the Waimakariri River.

Objection No. 519 Oxford County Council

Object to the south east riding of Oxford County on the grounds of existing grounds not being adhered to, community of interest which is with Oxford and Rangiora, communications and topographical features.

Objection No. 521 Double Hill School of Methven

Similar to objection No. 1.

Objection No. 1790 Petition Electors of Region 30 signatories

Object to becoming part of Selwyn instead of North Canterbury.

Objection No. 2000 Ellesmere County Council

Objections to the boundaries proposed would be met—by their abandonment, particularly as regards to the South Canterbury/Selwyn proposals, and the present boundaries including all of Ellesmere County in the Selwyn electorate being retained. If the proposal is proceeded with a more appropriate name being given to the proposed South Canterbury electorate.

Objection No. 2001 Federated Farmers of NZ Ellesmere Branch

Similar to objection No. 2000.

### ST ALBANS

Objection No. 463 David Caygill, MP for St Albans

Suggests Parklands and Avondale areas proposed to be exchanged

with Avon Electoral be left as they were. The urban areas of Cranford Street, Philpotts Road, Hills Road and Clearbook Street remain in St Albans.

## **YALDHURST**

Objection No. 184 G.J. Robinson of Rangiora

Objects to southern boundary drawn for the Yaldhurst and Fendalton electorates. As there is no community of interest between the areas north and south of Riccarton—Yaldhurst road especially between the Avonhead area and the Hornby-Hei Hei-Islington area. In summary the southern boundary for the Yaldhurst and Fendalton electorates be Yaldhurst-Riccarton road

Objection No. 2003 Petition Russley Residents

72 signatories. Object to the removal of Russley from the Yaldhurst district. Suggest instead that the southwest corner bounded by Pound Road, Roberts Road, Gilberthopes Road, Parker Street, Seymour Street, and Shands Road be excluded in favour of Selwyn.

## **FENDALTON**

Objection No. 1765 P.J. Lindsay Returning Officer, Fendalton

That the boundary in the North West of the electorate be aligned to follow the centre line of Brodside Terrace from Hooker Avenue to Greers Road. The boundary in the South West of the electorate be realigned to follow the centre line of Annex Road from the Junction of Hallswell Road and Lincoln Road to Blenheim Road.

#### LYTTELTON

Objection No. 233 Register of Electors, Lyttelton

Position of the 'Sign of the Kiwi" straddles local body and proposed electoral boundary. Suggested alteration attached by way of map to objection.

Objection No. 238 Mount Herbert County Council

Object to Governors Bay township surrounds being included in Lyttelton and not Selwyn. The community of interest in this area is with Charteris Bay and Diamond Harbour which are in Selwyn electorate. The area of Rapaki has their community of interest with the Lyttelton Borough.

Suggests that the boundary between Selwyn and Lyttelton should be realigned more to the east and closer to Rapaki at a point between the properties of Mrs S E Rhoes and D N Turner on Governors Bay Road.

Objection No. 251 Lyttelton Borough Council

Similar objection No. 238.

Objection No. 498 Ann Hercus, MP for Lyttelton

The Diamond harbour area as defined by the Lyttelton Borough Council should be included in the new electorate boundaries. That the area to the left of Worsley Road and Hoon Hay Road be excluded from the new boundaries. Similar objection to No. 238.

Objection No. 514 C.E. Stanley of Diamond Harbour

Similar objection No. 498.

Objection No. 1996 The Diamond Harbour Community Association

There is a strong community of interest with all of the residents in the harbour basin area. Under the proposed changes, the harbour