

THE NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON: THURSDAY, 26 JUNE 1986

CORRIGENDUM

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

In the notice with the above heading published in the *New Zealand Gazette*, 12 June 1986, No. 89, page 2475 *for* the title 'Royal N.Z. Army Ordinance Corps' *read* as 'Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps'.

The New Plymouth City—Taranaki County Boundary Alteration Order 1986

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Weliington this 24th day of March 1986 Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor General, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

SCHEDULE

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the New Plymouth City—Taranaki County Boundary Alteration Order 1986.
 - (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of April 1986.
- 2. Interpretation—In this order, unless the context otherwise requires,—
 - "City Council" means the New Plymouth City Council; "County Council" means the Taranaki County Council;
 - "Said areas" means the areas described in the First Schedule to this order;
 - "The next triennial general election of members of local authorities" means the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held on the 11th day of October 1986.
- 3. Boundaries of Taranaki County and New Plymouth City altered—The boundaries of the district of Taranaki County and the district of New Plymouth City shall be altered by excluding from the district of Taranaki County and including in the district of New Plymouth City those areas of land, described in the First Schedule to this order.

- **4.** Constitution of Wards—From the date of the next triennial general election of members of local authorities the district of the City of New Plymouth shall, for a period of 3 years, be divided into two wards as follows:
 - (i) The New Plymouth Ward, comprising the area of the City of New Plymouth as defined in New Zealand Gazette, 1960, page 71, and the areas described in Parts I, II, III, IV, V, VI and VII of the First Schedule to this order.
 - (ii) The Bell Block Ward, comprising the area described in Part VIII of the First Schedule to this order.
- 5. Membership of the New Plymouth City Council—(1) Until the date of the next triennial general election of members of local authorities the New Plymouth City Council shall comprise the Mayor and Councillors holding office immediately prior to the date on which this order takes effect and the two persons holding office at that date as members of the Taranaki County Council representing the Bell Block Riding.
- (2) From the date of the next triennial general election of members of local authorities, the City Council shall comprise a Mayor and 16 Councillors elected as follows:

New Plymouth Ward—14 Councillors Bell Block Ward—2 Councillors

- (3) In addition to the requirements of section 56 of the Local Government Act 1974, the City Council shall, when reviewing the basis of its election for the triennial general election of members of the council to be held in 1989, consult with the electors of the Bell Block Ward to ascertain their opinion as to the future basis of representation of the ward and such basis of representation shall be determined by the council in accordance with that opinion.
- 6. Membership of the Taranaki County Council—(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 97 (1) (a) of the Local Government Act 1974, until the date of the next triennial general election of members of local authorities, all persons holding office as members of the County Council shall continue to hold office as members of that Council.
- (2) From the date of the next triennial general election of members of local authorities, the district of Taranaki County shall be divided into 5 ridings as described in the Second Schedule to this order.