Wing Commander C. W. Adamson, A.F.C., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 15 December 1986, and Group Captain with seniority from 19 December 1985 and effect from 19 December 1986.

Squadron Leader R. W. Ferguson to be Wing Commander with seniority from 6 December 1986 and effect from 13 December 1986.

Flight Lieutenant R. A. Jannesen to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 17 October 1986.

Flying Officer P. L. Mount to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 12 January 1987.

Pilot Officer B. W. Brownlee to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 January 1987.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Air Vice Marshal P. Neville, O.B.E., A.F.C., are extended until 15 October 1988.

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader M. R. H. Jenkins are extended until 8 July 1995.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Promotions

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 10 December 1986:

D. B. Henderson, N.Z.C.E.

R. B. Sowden, N.Z.C.E.

S. J. Wright, N.Z.C.E.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant T. M. J. Greening are extended until 26 March 1995.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Pilot Officer J. C. Larmer: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 26 March 1986, No. 44, page 1292, for the seniority date "5 August 1986" substitute "5 August 1984".

Promotions

Secretarial Division Squadron Leader N. A. Fryer to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 15 December 1986, and Wing Commander with seniority from 7 December 1986 and effect from 20 December 1986.

Special Duties Division Flying Officer D. C. Ensor to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 December 1986.

Pilot Officer J. C. Larmer to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 5 August 1986.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Wing Commander M. B. Knowles are extended until 30 December 1988.

Transfer in Branch

Supply Division
Pilot Officer S. M. Guise, B. Com., is transferred to the Secretarial Division in her present rank and seniority with effect from 15 December 1986.

Transfer to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader David John Salter is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 21 November 1988, with effect from 22 November 1986.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Gavin George Spence, M.A., Dip Tchg, is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 November 1990, with effect from 8 November 1986.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) A. G. Dawson, M.B., B. Chir., M.A., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 12 October 1986

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Squadron Leader D. W. McLeod, M.B.E., on the Special Service List of the Territorial Air Force is extended until 20 November 1988.

Retirement

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Donald Frederick Sykes, A.F.C., D.F.M., is retired with effect from 19 November 1986.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Appointment

Squadron Leader Peter Thomas Cleary (Rtd) is appointed to the Active Reserve on a fixed engagement of six months in his present rank, with seniority and effect from 24 November 1986.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the date shown:

Squadron Leader Alistair Richard Mills, 17 September 1986.

Flight Lieutenant Peter Frederick Jackson, M. Sc., 2 October 1986.

Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Donald Francis, B. Sc., 1 October 1986.

Flight Lieutenant Grant Scoones, 9 October 1986.

Flight Lieutenant Judith Diana Shone, 16 October 1986.

Pilot Officer James Mitchell Reo, 12 November 1986.

Dated at Wellington this 17th day of December 1986.

F. D. O'FLYNN, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army.

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

COLONELS' LIST

Colonel M. J. Dudman, L.V.O., O.B.E., to be Brigadier with seniority and effect from 20 November 1986, and is transferred to the Brigadiers' List.

Colonel Tamakore Donald MacFarlane is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 1 December 1986.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Major R. J. Turner to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 17 November 1986, and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 24 November 1986.

Major H. A. Weatherhead to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 24 October 1986.

Lieutenant C. J. Pearce to be temp. Captain with effect from 24 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Supernumerary List
Major and Quartermaster Thomas Arnold Quested is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 November 1986.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant (acting Captain) R. P. Cassidy to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 October 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant Colonel J. S. Harman to be acting Colonel with effect from 1 December 1986.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster G. J. Pearson to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 29 September 1986.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster W. S. Kyle to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 5 November 1986.

Lieutenant (acting Captain) A. J. Pope to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 December 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Major N. L. Gardiner to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 24 November 1986, and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 28 November 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Major P. T. Puohotaua to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 17 November 1986.

Major and Quartermaster B. L. Crafts is re-engaged until 18 July

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Lieutenant and Quartermaster F. A. Brown to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 3 September 1986.

I.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Captain (temp. Major) U. R. Ewert, LL. M., to be Major with seniority and effect from 15 November 1986, and is re-engaged until 11 January 2000.

ROYAL N.Z. MILITARY POLICE

Major Douglas Anthony Waygood is posted to the Retired List with effect from 18 November 1986.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Captain J. R. McLeod, M.A., B.A. (Hons) to be temp. Major with effect from 14 November 1986.