And I hereby confer on the said Keith James Martin while he holds office all the powers and authorities that may be exercised in New Zealand by a Justice of the Peace, and also the powers and authorities that may be so exercised by a Coroner:

The said Keith James Martin to exercise his functions at such places within the Dependency as may be directed by the officer for the time being appointed as an officer of the Government of the Dependency in whom is vested the general executive and administrative authority in preserving Her Majesty's rights and sovereignty and the laws and regulations in force in the Dependency.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, as the Governor of the Ross Dependency, this 26th day of January 1987.

> F. D. O'FLYNN, Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs.

\*Gazette, 1923, Vol. II, p. 2211 †Gazette, 1923, Vol. III, p. 2815

Appointment of Member and Chairman of Auckland No. 1 Land Valuation Tribunal

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint, pursuant to section 19 of the Land Valuation Proceedings Act 1948, as substituted by section 2 of the Land Valuation Proceedings Amendment Act 1977

David Fergus George Sheppard, District Court Judge of Auckland

to be a member and Chairman of the Auckland Land Valuation Tribunal on and from 1 February 1987.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of January 1987.

GEOFFREY PALMER, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/18/2/3)

Officers Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

Pursuant to section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957, as amended by the Oaths and Declarations Amendment Act 1972, I have authorised the officers in the service of the local authority named in the Schedule below to take and receive statutory declarations under the said Act.

## **SCHEDULE**

AUCKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Town Clerk.

Associate Town Clerk.

Director of Finance.

City Secretary.

Director of Works.

Director of Planning and Community Development.

Superintendent of Traffic.

Property Officer.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of January 1987.

GEOFFREY PALMER, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/28/3/2)

Notice of the Appointment of Members of the Taranaki Catchment Commission

PURSUANT to section 13 (5) of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority hereby gives notice that the following have been appointed to be members of the Taranaki Catchment Commission

Jack Gilbert Hawkes of Hawera (successor to T. W. R. Abbott) Rex Francis Armstrong of Waitara

James Harry Hall of New Plymouth (successor of Messrs Wilson and Robertson)

David Lindsay Johnston of Hawera (successor to W. C. N. Tippett)

Edgar Tahu Collins (successor to L. W. Hannan)

Harvey Vincent Wellington of Inglewood (successor to D. R. Crone)

and that the appointment shall take effect on the date of publication of this notice in the New Zealand Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1987.

B. D. PARKES, Deputy Chairman, National Water and Soil Conservation Authority.

(P.W. 75/16)

12/1

Notice of the Appointment of Members of the Waitaki Catchment Commission

PURSUANT to section 13 (5) of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority hereby gives notice that the following have been appointed as members of the Waitaki Catchment Commission

Malcolm L. Walls of Twizel (successor to A. T. Murray)

Arthur Roger Wilson of Waimate (successor to J. H. McCaw) and that the appointments shall take effect on the date of publication of this notice in the New Zealand Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1987.

B. D. PARKS, Deputy Chairman National Water and Soil Conservation Authority.

(P.W. 75/25)

10/1

Notice of the Appointment to Northland Catchment Commission

PURSUANT to section 13 (5) of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority hereby gives notice that the following have been appointed as members of the Northland Catchment Commission

Derek Collier of Whangarei

Wallace Edgar Redwood of Whangarei (successor to Kenneth Walter King and William Edward White)

David Fagan of Mangawhai (successor to Henry Frederick Wright)

Michael Roderick Gross (successor to William Feth Ambler) and that the appointments shall take effect on the date of publication of this notice in the New Zealand Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1987.

B. D. PARKS, Deputy Chairman, National Water and Soil Conservation Authority.

(P.W. 75/8)

10/1

Appointment of Honorary Community Officers Under The Maori Community Development Act 1962

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) of the Maori Community Development Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the Schedule hereto to serve as honorary community officers for a term not exceeding 3 years in the area shown in the second column of the Schedule.

## **SCHEDULE**

Name

6

Trisha Reader Tutai Joe Richard Marsters

Ashburton Timaru

Dated this 22nd day of January 1986.

K. T. WETERE, Minister of Maori Affairs.

2/1

Appointment of Member to the National Hydatids Council (No. 3981; Ag. 1/53/2/21)

NOTICE is hereby given by direction of the Minister of Agriculture that pursuant to section 19 (2) (g) and 21 of the Dog Control and