Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Group Captain B. R. R. Knight are extended until 12 September 1990.

#### Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Neil Gordon Munro, B.E.(HONS), N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 25 June 1989, with effect from 26 June 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Ronald John Doggett, N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 13 July 1989, with effect from 14 July 1987.

## Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Brian Glenburn Morrison Palmer, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 2 July 1987.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Promotions

#### Secretarial Division

Flying Officer J. L. Dowthwaite to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 August 1987.

#### Supply Division

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from the date shown:

- J. R. Moffatt, 5 August 1987.
- S. A. Wards, 6 August 1987.
- R. A. Nimmo, 6 August 1987.

### Special Duties Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) K. A. J. Cunningham to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 26 July 1987.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 5 August 1987:

- M. J. Pinfold.
- W. J. Quennell.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

#### Supply Division

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant T. F. Mulligan, B.E.M., are extended until 19 May 1991.

## Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader W. C. Thomson, B.A., are extended until 31 March 1990.

## Transfer in Branch

## Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant V. M. Marett is transferred to the Secretarial Division in her present rank and seniority, with effect from 24 August 1987

### Transfer to Reserve

## Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Allan Raymond Muntz is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 30 June 1989, with effect from 1 July 1987.

## CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

## Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Chaplain Class IV S. Carney, L.TH., are extended until 11 October 1996.

### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Appointment

## Special Duties Division

John Tallis Mason: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 23 July 1987, No. 118, page 3431, for the rank "Flying Officer" substitute "Flight Lieutenant".

### Promotion

## Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant J. T. Mason to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 16 March 1987.

#### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

## Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Ian Grant Brausch is transferred to the Retired List 'B' with effect from 4 June 1987.

#### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the date shown: Wing Commander Donald Charles Stewart, M.B., CH.B., 27 June 987

Squadron Leader Roland John Wilson, M.B., CH.B., 23 July 1987.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Graeme Francis Holland, 13 July 1987 (in the rank of Squadron Leader).

Flight Lieutenant David Sydney Smith, 2 July 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Ian George Douglas Beeching, 4 June 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Patrick Geoffrey Leggett, 31 July 1987.

Flying Officer Allen Arthur Svendsen, 8 July 1987.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of August 1987.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

# REGULAR FORCE

#### ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Lieutenant Colonel Brian James Lifford Hewitt, B.A., DIP.MIL. STUD., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 4 July 1987.

Lieutenant Colonel Nicholas Clive Thornton, M.V.O., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 2 July 1987.

Major James Grant Rolfe, M.A., DIP. ARTS(MIL.), is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 9 July 1987.

Major and Quartermaster E. G. Willbond, B.E.M., is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 28 February 1987 and his engagement is extended until 27 February 1990.

The following Captains to be temp. Major with effect from the date shown:

- J. A. Henderson, 15 June 1987.
- J. B. Vryenhoek, 28 May 1987.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Lieutenant J. W. Sewell to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 June 1987.

Lieutenant Andrew John McKay is transferred to the Army Reserve. General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 21 June 1987.

## THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster M. A. Oliver to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 7 June 1987.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster D. W. Mardle to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 11 May 1987.

### ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant Colonel Ronald Lindsay Scott. DIP.ARTS(MIL.), is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 27 June 1987.

Major S. J. R. Hollander to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 12 June 1987 and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 19 June 1987.

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster S. V. Smith to be Major and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 27 June 1987.

Captain (temp. Major) P. R. Parsons is re-engaged until 28 October 1993.

Captain (temp. Major) A. P. Renton-Green to be Major with seniority and effect from 1 July 1987, temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 2 July 1987 and is re-engaged until 1 July 1990.

Captain and Quartermaster G. J. Carmichael is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 4 June 1987.